Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Phillips Preparatory Middle School

Public | 6-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2011

im a seventh grader at Phillips and i am in love with this school!! i went to PPS for sixth grade and i plan on staying for eighth grade. i cant put in to words how amazing this school is and how much it means to me. phillips is a blue ribbon school and is rated 1st of all the public middle schools in the state of Alabama. This school provides any student with an education that no other school can. PPS also has football,volleyball, basketball, and track teams and of course cheerleading. There is fine arts such as band, chorus, and drama. Students are able to go to after school "help sessions" for any subject they have trouble with. PPS truely is the best in Alabama.


Posted February 23, 2011

Love this school! I had a son that graduated from PPS in 2007. I now have a son that is in the 6th grade at PPS. I can not say enough wonderful things about this school....the teachers are highly qualified and are vested in my child's learning. The administrative staff wants our children to excel. Lots of people complain about the amount of homework. My children have never had more than an hour of homework per evening. The students can only have a max of 2 tests per day. This school was named the top middle school in the state in 2004. 100% of their students passed the Alabama Science Test. 97% of their students passed the ARMT. Phillips prepares students well academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I attended PPS for sixth, seventh, and eighth grade. I made straight A's, was a student ambassador all three years, a cheerleader, part of the yearbook staff, part of Fellowship of Christian Athletes, in the history club, a math tutor, and a part of the Enrichment Lab. I took part in the eighth grade community service project. I was in the talent show, and I took French all three years, where I had the opportunity to take the National Test and placed!! I can not explain what a huge part this school played in my success not only academicaly, but in the community and the dance studio. There is no better school in the world to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2010

phillips prepartory school is 1 of the best schools 4 kids who are very smart and are willing to execpt a challenge. the work at phillips is extremnly to hard and I went from making As to making Es i was very sad and i barley passed
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2009

I think this school is not a good school at all. they not only need to change the office staff but show some of the teachers how to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This school is great because they teach a wide variety of subjects and really make the children want to learn. My daughter loved her Chinese class and is speaking it like a pro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

I am currently a 9th grader at Davidson High School. I went to Phillips for all 3 years. It is the best middle school and it prepared me so much for high school. Even though I'm a warrior now, I still feel like a pirate!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2009

I am currently an eighth grader here at phillips. Phillips taught me more things than I could imagine. Being a straight A student i have found that it takes dicipline to acheive here, but its well worthwhile. Thank You for reading my review. -
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

I am a seventh grade student at Phillips and I could not be happier with the school. The teachers are fantastic and so are the students but the principal is the best! She make us feel so safe at the school and I love it. In one of the reviews a person said that you stay up really late doing homework but that is not true at all. I get home at 3:30 every day and my homework is finish by 5:00. So that is only an hour and a half. That is the usual time to finish your homework where ever you go! So in conclusion Phillips Preparatory School is the place to send your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

Great school, teachers seem excited and concerned with the childrens' success. My son loves it, I couldn't have made a better choice for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

It is The best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

Its awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2007

I think that this school school is great for learning but it doesn't give the students the individuality they need. They see almost everything as a distraction. I feel this school is kind of boring and that children should have fun learning, not just reading the books. We do have some hard work and big projects. The teachers are not as good as you would think, you would be surprised. This is my last year at this school and I see these things from a child's point of view. It's good that you parents see these stats and like the school but you have to know how your child feels.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2006

It is a Great school. Is it hard? Yes! Don't go if you can't hack it. It is academic but there are sports offerings. It is competitive so that was a drag since my son would have been the star at his regular middle school. My only complaint is there was a lot of picking on my son in 6th grade. The staff is pro-active and will help. Some of the kids at first are rough. Just wait-they will quit or get kicked out. Since it is a lottery placement rather than based on intelligence, that is to be expected. I would rather that it was based on intelligence to get in, like Murphy High's IB program. Strict uniform policy. French teacher,Mrs. Kennedy , is a great teacher amoung many others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

I am a soon to be seventh grader at PPS and I think Phillips is a awesome school especially for kids who want to learn. It is a great school for several reasons. One reason is the principal. Personally, I think Mrs.Hartzog and Mrs. Sweeny I have great leadership skills because if there is a problem they fix it. Another reason Phillips is a great school is because of the dedicated staff. The teachers at PPS make sure you are ready for anything by reviewing each day and try to answer everyone's questions to make sure they're prepared for the tests/quizzes. Phillips is a gret school and I am glad that I go to the BEST school in Alabama!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2006

This school is wonderful in academics if your child is ready for that above average work 4pm-11pm at night every night. Tutoring is a joke its from a different teacher- so they have a different method. Conculsion my child is happy at a nearby private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

This is a fantastic school,the principal is even directing traffic in the morning! the teachers are very dedicated to the children .homework is very important and is checked daily.weekly progress reports are sent home.I am so pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

My son went to Phillips for all three years and was on the honor roll every year. The princpal and teachers are great! I believe this public school to be equivalent or surpass most private ones in quality. He is now in the IB Program at Murphy and made straight A's this quarter. The test results that come out each year prove this school to be the best consistently. Also, the parent involvement is unbelievable. When you have a PTA meeting, it is standing room only in the gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

i think this is the best school in alabama. this school has the highest grades and the best writing grades in the state. the students are well behaved and respectful. they do work they should not be doing untill next year are are passing them with flying colors. the teachers are the best i have ever seen, and i was a teacher, th are very inteligent and undersanding and they know when to give the kids a push . if i were you this is the school i would pick.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

My son is on his last year at Phillips, the only wish we have, is that we are able to find a High School with the Principal leadership and teaching staff that Phillips Preparatory has! Thank you for three good years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty95%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female4%
Male100%
Black99%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White2%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Poverty99%
Not poverty3%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible99%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty99%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students5%
Female3%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islander0%
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White1%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special educationn/a
General population5%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant5%
Poverty100%
Not poverty2%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male4%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White3%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 58%
Black 45% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Brenda M Hartzog
Fax number
  • (251) 221-2285

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3255 Old Shell Rd
Mobile, AL 36607
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 221-2286

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wilmer Hall
Mobile, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT