Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cl Scarborough Middle School

Public | 6-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

This school shoves about 36 students in classrooms that are not very big to begin with. Many of the students are more concerned with who they want to fight than what they want to learn. Many Students scream and holler, throw sharp objects, bully, and have no respect for authority. With classes of 36, having 5 or so "bad apples" ruins the learning opportunities for the others. Most teachers experience the same issues with the same classes. Teachers try to call the parents of disruptive kids and many of their phone numbers are disconnected or they don't answer the phone therefore the teachers can't receive much help. The most disruptive students don't even listen to the administration in most cases because the punishments aren't harsh enough. I would not recommend this school to a parent who has a well-behaved child who wants to learn. They will be miserable and will not achieve what they could elsewhere.


Posted February 8, 2012

The problem with this school is OVERCROWDING. For no one to want to let their kids attend this school, there sure is an over abundance of children! This is NOT a case of bad teachers. You need to look higher up. You don't blame the server for what the cook screws up. Also, parents need to take responsibility for the behavior their child showcases in school!


Posted March 14, 2008

Iam a parent of a student at Scarbrough Middle School. I think that the problem at Scarbrough goes way beyound the school grounds. I sometimes feel as though we as a community are not doing are part to help educate our children.The children grades are slipping not because of many of the students are not trying hard enough is because we have to look at the bigger problem all the teachers dont feel as if they owe the children the same education that they have or feel as though i got mine its up to them to get theirs. I feel like no one cares about our children as a whole and its not their fault .But we as parents need to also stand behind and educate our children also because the bigget part of educating our children starts at home with love and support for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2006

I am a 7thgrader going to the eigthgrade and ive been at scarborough [sms] for 3 years ive had no problems with lotsof my teachers and ive passed every grade .Iv worked in the library and im good in eveything i do over there!!!the principal has his moments but he tries and the assitant princials try to !!!those are the good parts but the bad parts are the fights ,the news over there every week,and our grades are dropping fast even though we are smart kids we dont really learn alot but we do try our best and some of the teachers just come for check...But it is a good school over alll..I would and wouldnt send my child over here !!!so thats my word!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2006

I am an eighth grade student at Scarborough Middle School. I am an honor roll student and I am also in the National Junior Honor Society, Scholars Bowl, and I also played Volleyball, however i would not recommend Scarborough Middle School to any one because the students are some of the racist, and messy people I know. I do think that the principal and the two assistant principles try to decipline the children but are not very sucessful in doing so. I can't wait for the next two quarters to be over, so I can finally get out of there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2005

this is one of the beat sbhools i have ever put my 14 yr old in she has been doing so well i moved her out of semmes because of the children there and the teachers are simply cold harted at , so i moved her to scarborough her grades have come up she has more freinds than ever she always comes home happy and you are probabley thinking that it's because she is black well she's white and never have a seen her more happy a honor student jhs student technology classes and mr.tillman is a wonderfull principal aswell the teachers i havea very happy 8th grader at scarborough middle and i am so proud of chooseing this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

This has got to be one of the worst schools in Mobile county. I wish I would have never moved into this district and I am willing to move again only after 2 years because this school is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

The academic programs are okay. The availability of extracurricular activities are limited to band and reading. I don't recommend this school for any child. There is no open door policy to see the principal or asst. Principal. The teachers are there just to collect a pay check. I have two children currently at this school. They are not happy campers. If i could transfer them to another school i would! just drop in and you'll see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

this school is to quick to label your child.i recomind that if your child is put in a ld class make sure he or she is actually doing work in it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have put 2 out of all of my childrent through this school and presently have another child enrolled. My experience with Scarborough is that after my children left grammar school to go on to Scarborough there grades dropped drastically. Then once they enter high school their grades improved so drastically that they became 'A' honor roll children. I cannot pin point exactly why there is such a difference. However, their demeanor toward school was totally different from the schools attended besides Scarborough. This year we have a new principal. Perhaps an improvement may happen. Textbooks were an issue in the past and the lack of homework given are reasons why these students are not challenged enough to pass up to their full personal potential. This is a new school year with new staff. I am looking forward to seeing if there are improvements. However based on my past experience with the schools faculty there has been apathy in my opinion with the faculty that I have dealt directly with on a one to one basis. If not apathy then a definite patronizing attitude in conferences. Overall, I would not choose to send my children to this school. I would prefer to send my children to Baldwin County Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female47%
Male51%
Black48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education15%
General population54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant49%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education20%
General population71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female24%
Male31%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education7%
General population29%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant27%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female81%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education57%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female69%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education20%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%
Poverty60%
Not poverty83%

Reading

All Students55%
Female65%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education13%
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant55%
Poverty53%
Not poverty75%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students66%
Female63%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education20%
General population71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 34%
White 5% 58%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jason Dethor Laffitte
Fax number
  • (251) 221-2321

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Phillips Ln
Mobile, AL 36618
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 221-2323

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT