Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Mobile, AL
Students enrolled: 469
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westlawn Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
This school does not have respect for the parents how can they help develop respect in these children

Westlawn Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
Not at all... These people come to earn a check that is it and half of then do not have the patient to deal with these children let alone the more challenged children


Westlawn Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
Too busy talking among themselves in the morning rather than in the school teaching the students.

Westlawn Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
The only persistence I have seen is the way the staff persists in rude, angry behavior...so if that is the way you would like your child to learn, then yes, by all means send them there.

Westlawn Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
No. Respect is a "two way street" and children are not taught it in an atmosphere of hate. They must be shown that respect should be given by all parties concerned.


Westlawn Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
No....it teaches children that some people can be treated differently than others. Children need to be taught respect for all races of people and that people have a right to ask questions in a calm, respectful manner and not receive a response in anger.

Westlawn Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
You cannot teach students fairness when you behave in an angry belligerent manner to them in front of other parents and students. No fairness, integrity or honesty....just angry, hateful, rude behavior.

Westlawn Elementary School 1

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
Rude staff. They are hateful to new parents going there, even to the point of screaming at them in front of a kindergarten child! Will never go back! (I went there as a child and it was never that bad in the 60s...was a great school then with a great staff).


Westlawn Elementary School 1

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
We moved to the midtown area and were astounded at how bad Westlawn school was. I was told that I can not come up to the school and eat lunch with my sons. They thought it might make the other kids feel bad. Whats worse is that my son was beat up several times. The school said that they didnt know what happened. I have pictures of the bruises. Needless to say - we had to send the kids to a private school. Its really the only option if you live in midtown. I love the area. But do yourself a favor if you can afford it there are plenty of private school options in midtown. I wonder why that is!

Westlawn Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
Great School!!! and Ms. Law is excellent teacher... My kid love this school...the school leadership and use academic program...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westlawn Elementary School
3071 Ralston Rd, Mobile, AL  36606
(251) 221-1705
Last modified Westlawn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westlawn Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top