Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Mobile, AL
Students enrolled: 469

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westlawn Elementary School 1

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
We moved to the midtown area and were astounded at how bad Westlawn school was. I was told that I can not come up to the school and eat lunch with my sons. They thought it might make the other kids feel bad. Whats worse is that my son was beat up several times. The school said that they didnt know what happened. I have pictures of the bruises. Needless to say - we had to send the kids to a private school. Its really the only option if you live in midtown. I love the area. But do yourself a favor if you can afford it there are plenty of private school options in midtown. I wonder why that is!

Westlawn Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
Great School!!! and Ms. Law is excellent teacher... My kid love this school...the school leadership and use academic program...


Westlawn Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Westlawn Elementary School 2

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
My child has been going to school here since 2nd grade. I feel as though he/she was not prepared for fourth grade and everything he/she is struggling with this year shld hv been learned last year. The test scores in reading are very poor and math as well.

Westlawn Elementary School 4

Posted December 29, 2008
- a parent
Westlawn is a very great school my kids love it as well as I do. The teachers are great.Mrs.Cooper is wonderful,my daughter loves her as well as Mrs.Mather and the rest of the staff.


Westlawn Elementary School 4

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
As a mother who has had a child at Westlawn elementary from K-5 thru Fifth grade I would have to agree that Westlawn is a great school. I can also say that each school year has become progressively better as they have sought to find more innovative ways to make sure that no child is left behind resources such as afterschool tutoring, math night, and winning word of the week. There are also many extra curricular activities such as Ballet, Violin Piano, boys and girl scouts to name a few. Though I do feel the principal could work to be more touchable, I do not in any way find her to be incompetent. I have also been happy and confident that each of my child's teachers were committed to her academic success. I find the environment conducive to a positive learning environment.

Westlawn Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2006
- a parent
Westlawn is a wonderful school where students can express themselves in a positive manner. The faculty & staff takes interest in all students' academic success and encourages positive behavior through various means, such as PTA Citizen of the Month, Student Council, Tigerettes (Academic Spirit Squad), TIES (Boys Mentoring Program) and Tiger Lilies (Girls Mentoring Program) Currently, I have two children still attending Westlawn and two other children who graduated from Westlawn. I always felt Westlawn was the best choice for my children's educational foundation. Principal, L. Finley expresses her warm & loving spirit to all her students by encouraging them to read something every night; this include weekends, holidays and spring & summer breaks. There are so many I could name but the list would be entirely too long, therefore, I will say this: 'Keep up the good job Westlawn Tigers and roar once again to AYP success!'

Westlawn Elementary School 2

Posted April 01, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Westlawn Elementary School 3

Posted September 23, 2005
- a parent
my son's teacher mrs.cheyette is an excellent teacher who has taken extra interest and helped out my son with his learning she is exceptional and is a wonderful kindergarten teacher. the only problem there is the student pick no coordination what so ever and student safety! and the majority of the teachers are very very rude they forget because of our children they have work. and if they really cared they would take better precautions.

Westlawn Elementary School 1

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
The quality of the education my child has been getting here is scary compared to the schools around it. The principal I find neither helpful or competent in her work. She is some of the source to the schools problems. The children here are both unruly and disrespectful to all authority personal. I find no reason to tell people about this school except not to come.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westlawn Elementary School
3071 Ralston Rd, Mobile, AL  36606
(251) 221-1705
Last modified Westlawn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westlawn Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top