Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burns Middle School

Public | 6-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2013

This school provided the worst experience we have ever had at a school. After an experience with bullying, and being told it was my daughter's fault for letting it bother her, I had had enough. Honestly, I felt bullied by administration for having the nerve to bother them. Phone calls went ignored and resolution to issues were nothing more than lip service. I only wish I had moved her to a private school sooner. She has returned to her happy disposition and no longer cries everyday about her school situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My daughter has been going going there for almost 3 years. My daughter loves the school. I have become friends with her friends so I could be a nosey mom and I have found out there is not much bullying and yeah there are a few fights here and there but hey what school doesn't have fights at least there are no threats and no weapons! I am mainly looking for a safe place for my daughter to go to and clean because safe schools are very hard to find. They help the disabled children learn it takes a very devoted school to do that so I have to say this school is a big plus for me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

Burns has the most rockin' librarian in the state maybe even the united states! she has every book in stock she even knows what books you like kinda like a mind reader i love the burns library it totally reaches my standards! :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2010

I am a student at Cranford Burns Middle School, and every teacher is excellent at what they do!!I Garuntee that any parent looking for a good school will love ours!!!! We hae the best library in the county and possibly state!!We have a great librarian who can find u a book on any subject fit for grades 6-8!!!! If your a parent surching for a good educational enviorment look no farther than Cranford Burns Middle!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2010

Mrs. Cox is an awesome teacher!! I am in her homeroom and in her class. She is awesome!! Mrs. Rustand is an awesome track and P.E. teacher too. Mrs. Lowman is awesome too. So if you say they are mean, you are sooo wrong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2010

Mrs. Cox is an awesome teacher!! I am in her homeroom and in her class. She is awesome!! Mrs. Rustand is an awesome track and P.E. teacher too. Mrs. Lowman is awesome too. So if you say they are mean, you are sooo wrong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2010

Burns Middle School is the best school ever and has got the best library in the county and possibly the state. Burns has also got the best librarian ever! Librarian Wallace is the best librarian in the history of librarians!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2010

It's a great school! My daughter just loves the teachers there! She said her favorite was how nice and helpful the teachers are and the books were very fascinating! Sumer says she just loves everything about Burns Middle!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

it's a good,fun,fair,and well disaplend school for any children grades 6-8 it offres good electives,friendly teachers,and an overall succsess rate
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

Its a Horrible School. The teachers can not teach. my child went here for 3 years and she went from an A student to an E student in just two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. We had considered several private schools in the area, but after comparing the opportunities available at Burns and noting its strong focus on math and science, we decided to give it a try. We have not been disappointed! The teachers are caring and creative and the principal keeps the school well organized. He has done an excellent job of building a fabulous team in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

my daughter goes and it is awesome school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

My son is attending his first year at Burns. He is really enjoying the teachers and playing in the band. He will be making A, B Honor Roll this quarter. I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

This is also my first year in burns, and I really like all of my teachers, especially in Science and Band. The things I don't like at the school are: The subjects are behind, or I'm just really advanced. I'm doing work on things I learned in 2nd grade, such as commas, capitalization,multiplication, etc. Most extra-curricular activities are only available to 7th and 8th graders. I really don't think thats fair, seeing as how we are old enough to go to the same school, but not old enough to play sports, join the art club, etc. Unfair punishment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2005

This is my first year at Burns and it's been okay so far. I have made new friends and I really like the teachers. We have an excellent volleyball team and a lot of the students are involved in Band. They have a ton of clubs to join including yearbook staff, student council, drama club, poetry club, art club, etc. This school is highly reccommended.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female74%
Male63%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Special education26%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Poverty63%
Not poverty82%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male82%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education47%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty85%
Not poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male68%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White78%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Special education22%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Poverty62%
Not poverty79%

Reading

All Students89%
Female92%
Male86%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible78%
Special education41%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty87%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female84%
Male77%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education36%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Poverty76%
Not poverty88%

Reading

All Students80%
Female85%
Male76%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education36%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Poverty76%
Not poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students79%
Female79%
Male80%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Special education24%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Poverty75%
Not poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 34%
White 44% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr John Dean Adams
Fax number
  • (251) 221-2021

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6175 Girby Rd
Mobile, AL 36693
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 221-2025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT