Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meadowlake Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

I would not recommend this school. Very low end education and the new principal has no clue what goes on in the school due to the fact she never comes out of her office. They do however have some great teachers but you have to know which ones they are and hope your child gets a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I had to take my son out of meadowlake because he needed much more help with special education / my son did get some help but it was not enough help and the children with special needs need to be in a classroom with teachers that can teach special needs children, I was told over and over the school does not have any funding for any extra special education needs, and it is hurting the children in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

My nieces and nephew love this school Kudos, to your fine works with them all throughout their years. They have flourished well. Sabrina
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

my son loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

I believe in this day and time the world is not as safe as when I was a child. There are certain precautions that I believe Meadowlake Elementary does take to ensure that each child is safe and I am pleased with everthing that Mrs. Smith has done and will remain to do for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

I feel the new principal, Susan Smith has a long way to go to replace Dr. Waller.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

My son is in kindergarten and he loves it. They have rules for the safety of the children and enforce them to protect our children. I am proud that my son goes to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I would like to correct the last entry I saw. Dr. Waller is no longer principal here. Susan Smith is our stand in principal for now. Anyway, I have a child here in Pre-K and This school is GREAT! The previous entry is correct. They really encourage you to be part of your childs education. This is the best thing they can do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

Great school! Everyone is friendly and the teachers really care about their students. The school is well maintained and in excellent condition. I'm proud of Meadowlake and I tell all who'll listen just that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

This is a great school! Terrific Principal and excellent Teachers. Parents are encouraged to be a part of their childs education. Hats of to all of the Teachers and Dr. Waller for a job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education58%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students94%
Female100%
Male90%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education75%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty96%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students96%
Female95%
Male96%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 58%
Black 14% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Susan L Smith
Fax number
  • (251) 221-1528

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8251 Three Notch Rd
Mobile, AL 36619
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 221-1529

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT