Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Ignatius Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 531 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mobile

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $129,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

My kids went here in preschool I had one in 3K and one in 4k and the 3 year old had a great class and a great teacher shouts out to Mrs Vicki! !! But my 4 year old had a horrible teacher she would come home everyday telling me how mean and horrible this lady was! So one day I dropped my kid off late and stood outside the class and I could hear charlotte yelling at my kid! Yeah thats right she doesn't deserve to have Mrs in front her name I immediately told the principal and nothing was done to her so I transferred my kids to another school I dont see how a teacher like that is allowed to teach little kids she just comes across as too tall and scary to me and preschool teachers are supposed to be warm fuzzy not scary and mean! She had a nice aide who was nothing like her who she did not appreciate! Its hard to find good teacher's for small kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

St. Ignatius is such a wonderful warm place for children to grow up and grow with God. The teachers and staff are always willing to help and they welcome parent involvement in everything. They also stress students needing to grow to be independent people. My children have grown up at St. Ignatius. I would not trade this experience for them for any other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My children have been at St. Ignatius since K3 and now are in 4th and 1st grades. I can't speak highly enough about the school. The principal, Mr. Blackburn is unbelievable and is always available. The teachers are great and the Catholic community feeling you have is just wonderful. My kids love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We moved here from out of state and have two daughters who attend St. Ignatius. Do not pay attention to the "teacher" who wrote a review in 8/13. There are no teachers at the school who would write so poorly. The principal, Mr. Blackburn, is wonderful! The teachers really care about your children and are willing to go above and beyond what is required of them. Just yesterday, I was able to attend a Math Help session after school with my daughter and her class. Not every teacher would be willing to give up her time like that. As for being stuck....possibly a little. It is an affluent area. Most of the children do not know hard times. But I know that my children love their school, their friends, their CYO soccer coaches and most of all, Mr. Blackburn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

Excellent teachers and best facilities in mobile. The parents and kids recognize this and want to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

I went to this school years ago. Very stuck-up. It's hard to really fit in unless your parents are rich or 'old money'. Sorry I call it like I see it...what a horrible reputation for a Catholic school to have. Some advice...if you're seriously thinking about sending your kids there and don't fit into the 'rich' or 'old money' categories...make your kids play sports. That's the only way they're not going to be hated. Kids don't understand this kind of b.s. For years I felt like I was the one who was a loser. When I got to high school, I made a ton of friends and had the best social life a kid could ask for. All it took was for me to get out of that fakey 'springhill' school. My mom regrets not transferring all of us even though we begged her to. The teachers were great...that's it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2007

St. Ignatius Catholic School is a wonderful school, with an exemplary administration and faculty. The principal cares for the students and her faculty; and is very open to working with the parents to make the school even better than it already is. It is a National Blue Ribbon School and the principal is a nationally recognized Blue Ribbon Principal. Many on the faculty hold Master degrees. There are many extra curricular activities available. Why not visit the school's website and find out more?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 19, 2005

St. Ignatius is caring & strong Catholic school. Teachers are dedicated to providing a quality eduation for students. Parents are very involved to help provide that eduation. However, administration is very weak and nonsupportive. St. Ignatius has the capability of being superior but the principal lacks vision to take it forward. There are not enough Academic Extracurricular programs because the principal doesn't encourage them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 58%
Black 3% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Mobile
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3650 Springhill Avenue
Mobile, AL 36608
Phone: (251) 342-5442

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Pius X School
Mobile, AL




Wilmer Hall
Mobile, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT