Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Vincent De Paul School

Private | PK-8 | 175 students

Start Small, Think Big! Small Classes, Affordable Tuition, A.O.M. Curriculum!
 
 

 
 

Living in Mobile

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

This school is wonderful! It is small, and that is what makes it great. The curriculum is the same as the rest of the Archdiocese...and check out the latest on their website www.svsSchool.org they are the only school in Mobile to be invited to the White House for their robotics accomplishments! Also least expensive Catholic School here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

I am a student who goes to SVS. Regardless of the good reviews, this school isn't so great. It may be good for PK-4 grade but once you get into 5-8 the teachers don't teach, we watch uneducational movies most days. The students there are nice and it's easy to make friends, I know this review won't make a big impact if your deciding To go.But if you want to go and your in grade 5-8 I really recommend not going. In 5 th grade all you do is math, social studies and read a lot. Not and science an religion. In 6-8 you change classes, and you may learn a lot in history, literature and English but we haven't opened up our science/math book in over a month. Instead we watch movies that have nothing to do with education. The lunches are horrible too. But if your looking for a school if you want to be social, this is nice to come to. I admit it's nice to everyone since its such a small school but we're learning things I should have been learning years ago. Oh and are you athletic? You have soccer and 2nd grade basketball. You can also join cheer, but it's the worst cheer ever. You do nothing but sit and eat. So many people this year are leaving this school because it's not what you think.


Posted April 25, 2012

I'm a parent.I love this little school! I'm compelled to post this,because a friend told me they saw a negative post here by a child. I find that so sad,I'm sure that child was loved and will be missed.It's a small school, so most sports are a challenge because team size requirements.They compete with whatever teams they have enough players for, in whatever sport they can,and they still win some games! Their robotics program has placed nationaly. I'm sad that child felt th need to insult the cheerleading program. The kids've been very excited about it.The cheerleaders have enjoyed it, the other kids have just LOVED the little pep rallies!The cheer team has gone to a women's shelter, made dinner and performed for the residents. Sweet and thoughtful, trump big and fancy anyday for me as a parent. Again it's very small school (which is one the things WE love about it) they teach don't turn noses up at anyone, and take everyone who wants to be a cheerleader.They use the curriculum selected at the diocese home office, (like all Catholic schools) they're smaller, not sub-standard, and tuition is MUCH less. the principal leads well and cares.They're always adding extras and PTO's amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

Having taught at SVS for eight years, I am proud to say that I was a part of a very caring faculty. I had also taught in a larger school and was hesitant about joining the staff here, but I was pleasantly surprised by the level of competence and concern of the teachers at SVS. It is a great school in every way. The staff, the administration, the parents, and , of course, the students are the best.


Posted October 8, 2011

I love this little school! We treat children and adolescents, and deal with schools in several states on a regular basis. This school is amazing. It is small, which means anxious kids feel more at ease and all children get more attention. Dealing with principals for 20 years in many states, I can tell you this is a wonderful principal who is a strong advocate and always looking for ways to advance this school and help students. As evidenced by the fact it now has 100% interactive boards. It is part of the Archdiocese so the curriculum is on par with every other Catholic school in the area. The PTO is extrememly active and effective, and works well with the faculty and administration. The Booster Club does an incredible job with sports considering the school is so small, impressive. If you want impressive facilities, accomplished sports, or prestige, then you should pay more and go somewhere else. If that is not important to you...then you are wasting your money paying more somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

This is my first year teaching at this school, and I love it. The staff is very genuine and caring. The curriculum is advanced and the students are very well behaved. I am looking forward to a great year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 6, 2009

i went to st.vincent for 3years it was horribble the teachers are mean and the prinicpal should not be a prinicpal!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2009

Not as good as the Catholic School I attended, but I guess times change. Still it is a good school with good faculty. I am proud my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

This is a great school with the small school feel everyonr knows my son and because he is bad but because they truly seem to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

It is a fine school. Honestly not as good as the Catholic school I attended 20+ years ago, but my children are still getting a better education than the public system and they are getting decent instruction in their faith. The staff is great. Regardless of what some people write the curriculum is on par as the school is accredited. It is a star in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

This school is WAY behind in the Curriculum area. And they take money for fundraisers and never provide the product.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

My children attend St. Vincent de PAul School. I believe it is a wonderful school - a secret in the Tillman's corner area. The administration, faculty and staff are phenominal. It has a family feel, The classes are small and the students get the help and attention they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

My school is absolutely perfect. None of our classes go over 25 kids. We have many extracurricular activities. Just a few that I am in are Natinal Junior Honor Society, Girl Scouts, and Robotics. My mom is on the P.T.O. and she is a substitute teacher. There are many times i am not chosen for things i want. There is no favoritism. I am going into the eighth grade and am very sad that I wll be leaving soon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

This school has an All-Star line up when it comes to faculty & staff! With the growth of the area they are in, the student numbers have increased, but this school will never loose its close, family atmosphere. The new building is going to be wonderful for our children! Everyone knows one another and looks out for each other and they always have room in their hearts for more, this goes for students, staff, parents & teachers! Top rate education is the #1 goal here, as well as making sure our children are well rounded, christian people. It is the Greatest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Bigger is not always better. As class sizes have increased the teachers and administration have become less focused on meeting the individual needs of each of its students. As a large school without the former community connection that it once had, it is at best an average school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I have had 2 children at St. Vincent and I can attest to the fact the neither one was treated any differently than any other child. My oldest child went to St. Vincent back in the 90's. I worked and didn't have any time to volunteer or help at the school. My son was treated just like anyone child in the school. Now I am a stay at home mom and I am able to help at the school. My youngest son is treated no differently than any other child at St. Vincent. All the staff at St. Vincent truly care and what to help each and every child at the school. There are no favorites played. We are in the process of upgrading and improving our school on a grand scale.Come see how great we are!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

My children attended St Vincent De Paul for several years. I took my children out of this school because the teachers and staff were not fair. If you worked or volunteered at the school, your kids got preferential treatment. There were several different cliques and if you chose not to belong to one your kids were not chosen for things. It also did not offer many extracurricular activities for the children. I now know that I was crazy to keep my kids here when there are many wonderful private schools to choose from in Mobile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

St.Vincents is the 'Little School that rocks'. I used to consider moving to Baldwin county, St.Vincents ( school and church) changed my mind. It's like one big happy family. The big kids look out for the little ones. I wouldn't consider my child going anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

St. Vincent has been the best thing that has ever happened to my children! All 3 attended public school Up until last year. We made the switch to St. Vincent last year, I regret not doing it earlier! All 3 excelled in their classes. St Vincent offers many extra curricular activities for the children to be involved in. The entire staff loves the children and encourages each one to be their very best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

My husband and I are very proud to say our son has attended St. Vincents School for the last 7 years and are looking forward to the very crucial 'middle school' age years at St. Vincents. We as a family have made lasting friendships with not only children from all grades, but also with the teachers, staff and even Grandparents of St. Vincents Students. We are a small but caring community that not only strives to give our kids a top-notch education, but believes in teaching our children manners, respect and most of all Faith in God. It has never been an option for us to remove our childs opportunity to have Christ in his School. I encourage any parent considering St. Vincents , to come to the childrens Mass at 8:30 on Friday mornings-Listen to Father Sophie and just look around and watch the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 56%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 3% 38%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Archdiocesan Spelling Bee Champion (2011)
  • Archdiocesan Spelling Bee Champion (2010)
  • Archdiocesan Spelling Bee Champion (2009)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Regional B.E.S.T. Robotics Award (2011)
  • East Coast and Regional B.E.S.T. Robotics Awards (2010)
  • East Coast and Regional B.E.S.T. Robotics Awards (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mary B. McLendon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 251-666-8022
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (251) 666-1296

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Resource Teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Mobile
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Start Small, Think Big! Interactive boards in every classroom; Small Classes; Affordable Tuition; Private Catholic School Curriculum
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
McGill-Toolen Catholic High School
Theodore High School
Davidson High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6571 Larkspur Dr
Mobile, AL 36619
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 666-8022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT