Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,265 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ums-Wright Preparatory School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 16, 2016
- a student
Shoutout to teachers like Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Menaker, Mrs. Price, Mrs. Martin for making class fun and your day happier while you dread every last second of it.

Ums-Wright Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 16, 2016
- a student
Way too much homework. You can go to practice, get home at 6:00 and not be done with homework and/or studying until 10:00. And thats if you haven't showered or eaten yet.


Ums-Wright Preparatory School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 16, 2016
- a student
The school does one thing well, educate. The hard courses and material really push students and make them strive to be hard workers.

Ums-Wright Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a student
Most kids don't even respect their own parents, it's just plain awful. No respect is available to be found.

Ums-Wright Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a student
They push very hard in the whole idea of "Honor". Just like in The Catcher In the Rye", I don't think I've ever met someone with these morals from this school. No molding students into being young adults has ever happened.


Ums-Wright Preparatory School 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
This school has provided a wonderful education to my children. Academics are great and students consistently get admitted to highly selective schools like Yale, Harvard, Princeton, Columbia,Dartmouth,Vanderbilt, Duke, Stanford,U Penn to name a few. Sports and Arts are very well represented too.This is a private school and you do have to pay for the personalized private education--but it is well worth it.Prices compare to the area private schools. The faculty and students are a close knit family and we have enjoyed being a part of this family for the last 8 years. Every student is different and student effort and zeal are paramount, but most students can achieve their dreams with help and guidance from the excellent faculty!! I would highly recommend this school.

Ums-Wright Preparatory School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a teacher
Highly recommended. Strong academic rigor and great preparation for college, compared to other local private schools. Also, many extracurricular activities in both athletics and the arts. Faculty are well-trained and highly motivated.

Ums-Wright Preparatory School 5

Posted November 23, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has attended UMS since K-4. She is now in 3rd grade. I wish that I had the opportunity to attend such an excellent school. She loves going to class and the curriculum is impressive. It really does feel like a family. Highly recommended.


Ums-Wright Preparatory School
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
UMS is a good school with many nice facilities and extra-curriculars, but academically speaking we've been a little disenchanted. For us, making the decision to send our child to UMS was a financial sacrifice, but we were willing to do it in order to give our child the best education possible. However, UMS has not delivered academically. Just because the facilities are impressive does not mean you're getting a better education than other private schools. I can personally attest to that. If you have the extra thousands lying around then do it, but at least at the elementary level it simply isn't worth the sacrifice!

Ums-Wright Preparatory School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a community member
Don't send your kids to this school. You will find out that the administration could care less about you or your family unless you donate regularly. It is extremely sheltered, all-white, mostly arrogant rich kids. sadly ums is a bubble filled with these people which most people find hard to break out of.. you'll find that people in mobile make fun of kids who went to ums because they are known around mobile as sheltered and/or arrogant..sure it is a decent education it is definetly not better than any other school around mobile(as many people think) considering the honors programs that most other schools have. ums will not help you get into college if you are trying to get into a good or elite college because it is not recognized by many of those elite colleges, trust me.mcgill, murphy and other schools are a much better experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ums-Wright Preparatory School
65 Mobile Street, Mobile, AL  36607
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (251) 470-9004
Last modified Ums-Wright Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top