Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Corpus Christi School

Private | K-8 | 527 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mobile

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $129,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2013

Corpus Christi is an outstanding school! Faculty and staff are great and really care about the children. The school has a challenging curriculum and there are plenty of fun activities and traditions. It is a beautiful school and it is small enough to have a "family" feel. My sons LOVE Corpus Christi!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

This the best school in the area. They want our children to learn and to be prepared for the Real World. Anyone that complains about the school is not to be taken seriously. A parochial school education is the best education. That's the truth and I'm sticking to it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

An awesome K-8 school and they have a terrific preschool, as well. The preschool is small and the floor plan is laid out very nicely. They keep it nice and clean and their is music playing all the time. Most importantly, they have a well trained staff. The preschool has one of the best playgrounds I have ever seen in the western part of the city. The playground has giant live oaks shading the yard so the kids can run and play and they really enjoy their outdoor adventures. I would highly recommend that if a parent wants to enroll their child is a top-of--the quality program, they should choose Corpus Christi Preschool and the K-8 program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I thought that perspective parents might like to know what CCS constitutes as Honor Roll. Principals List - ALL A's Honor Roll - 4 A's and 2 B's Which means if your child makes all A's and B's in random order(3 a's 3 B's) your child will not be acknowleged for their hard work. As you know, this can be crushing on self estem. I understand private schools can have their own by-laws. However, I would like to know who thought of this rule. I have NEVER heard of such in my entire life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

Both of my children attend Corpus Christi. This school is fantastic. You will never find a more caring faculty and staff. They treat all of the students with respect, and they teach them to do the same. My children receive individualized attention from their teachers -- nothing slips through the cracks. The parents are very involved in the school. It is a community. I highly recommend Corpus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

This is not a place you want your children to learn. they are only interested in your money. the school staff will not cooperate with parents if you ask too many questions, and if a problem comes up or something happens, they will protect themselves first. their resource program is terrible. they think they are the only ones who know what is right and they think they are better than everyone else. i regret my daughter is going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

This is the best school in the world. Corpus christi is now 51 years old. It dose not look like it. There is about 500 students here. The princapal, staff,and student are all so nice and greetingful. Go cogars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

We have had an exceptional experience at Corpus Christi. My son has been challenged and has excelled because of the quality of teaching and the overall classroom experience. The parents are involved at the school, which makes a world of difference. We were at another private school through k-4 and, after changing to Corpus, realize how fortunate we are to have moved. If I had to state a concern, it would be the class size . Even still, my son is reading on a very high level and enjoys it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

I am a student at Corpus Christi school and i will encourage anyone looking for a school to choose this one.The principal leadership is great. The teacher quality is great. The extracurricular activities are fun.There are all kinds of fun activities like SIC, Computer club, Chess club, Basketball, Soccer, Football, Shakespere, Scouting, Running club, Scholastic bowl, Robotics, GLOBE club, and Cheerleading. The parent involvement is outstanding they help with things like holiday parties and teacher birthdays. Safety and disipline are the most imporatnt things at this school. This school is perfect if you want all of these things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2006

I have been a student at Corpus Christi for 7 1/2 years and I LOVE it! The curriculum at Corpus Christi is challenging but not overwhelming. I would recommend Corpus Christi to anybody who moves to Mobile.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2004

My stepdaughter has been to several schools in the past 4 yrs and seems to like this school the best. I am proud to have her attend a Catholic school because of their great curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Corpus Christi School is a great school. The teachers are fantastic. The sports and extracurricular activities are excellent. Its catholic education at its best. My child loves going to Corpus Christi School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Issues I have with the school: 1. To many kinds in a class (33) 2. Not open to parent suggestions 3. Not progressive with its policies Not sure about Iowa test scores, as they haven't shared a comparison to other schools in the area with parents. Thinking changing schools to UMS Wright.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is the best school for my kids
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 3% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Mobile
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 McKenna Drive
Mobile, AL 36608
Phone: (251) 342-5474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT