Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faith Academy

Private | PK-12 | 125 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Mobile

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $129,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2004

I have gone to Faith since k-3 and I'll be in 10th grade next year. The leadership quality at faith is like no other school I have heard of. I know my Christian walk would not be where it is today if it were not for this school. I know when I leave in three years I will miss this school and not be scared entering college because I know that this school has prepared me for it. I highly disagree with some previous comments.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2004

These students are extremely bright. 40 of the 92 students that graduated this year are receiving scholarships. I graduated from Faith 2 years ago and I wouldn't trade my years there for anything. I wasn't in band and I didn't play sports but I was treated like everyone else. The teachers at Faith treat everyone like family. I say that Faith Academy is one of the best schools you could ever send your kid to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 10, 2004

My child will not attend Faith Academy next year. Four years are all we can stand. The education is average at best. The absolute lunacy over athletics is unbearable. Unless your child is an outstanding athlete, go elsewhere. The favoritism toward athlets is blatant. Much of which is overlooked by the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

My child will graduate this year and I disagree with the person who said Faith's academics are a joke. A large number of seniors scored 30 or above on their ACTs this year and that doesn't come from an academic program that is lacking what it needs for the students to perform well on national test scores. I do agree that there has been favoritism in the sports program, but I also believe the school is working to improve the situation. I have seen my kids grow in their walk with Christ at Faith and become Christian leaders. I feel my child is very well prepared for college and is receiving a scholarship. Tommy Knight and Don Corley are two fine Christian role models and my child admires them both. Some of the rules are a little 'stone-age' but overall Faith has been a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

May look good from the outside but from an inside view of 5 yrs - - don't bother. I had two children attend school there. Faith's curriculum is a joke. We had the impression that our children would receive an above average education, re-enforce Christian teachings which is very inconsistent. They are very strict on the kids but the school has no safety policy especially for K-3 to K-5 allowing people to walk in and out of the school without a vistor's pass or evening go through the office. School work is just repetitious week after week. The K-3 and K-4 program is a glorified daycare. No real teaching! The Assistant Principal pretty much runs everything and is very one-sided and always backs the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Not impressed overall with the school. My child attended high school there. Lacks real leadership, no real activities for the lower grades. Coaches and teachers show extreme favoratism to atheletes, giving them extra attention at the expense of other students. While it is a Christian school I find it extremely judgemental and one sided. As a parent who's child has attended christian schools since K4, I rate this one very low and am sure there are better one's around. But if your an athelete they will treat you very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

The school offers a good education based on christian principles. It lacks a marching band and extracurricular activities for young students in grades 1-3. A marching band would help with school sprit at football games.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 58%
Black 22% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8650 Tanner Williams Road
Mobile, AL 36608
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 633-7267

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT