Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,930 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Faith Academy 2

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
Faith is an okay school but they are very much against bi racial relationships and kids get bullied all the time

Faith Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 24, 2015
- a community member
I can name several classes where I learned absolutely nothing: Spanish, introduction to foreign languages, junior choir, senior choir, American history, and a few computer classes.


Faith Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 24, 2015
- a community member
I attended for 6 years, from 7th to 12th grade. Every single night I would have 4-5 hours worth of homework. I don't even have that much now as a sophomore in college.

Faith Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a community member
I do not think that this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness due to the bullying problem that is like a disease in that school. Sure, it's a Christian school, but that doesn't mean that everyone that is attending necessarily acts like a Christian.

Faith Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
We love this school. The music program is amazing and the teachers we've had are supportive and loving.


Faith Academy 2

Posted February 19, 2015
- a student
Was not a good school during my experience. The people and teachers are good but don't let everyone fool you. Racism is pretty common here also. Lunch is bad and overpriced. Too much focusing on sports and not enough on education. Overall it's not a bad school, but there could be some things that could be worked on.

Faith Academy 1

Posted April 08, 2014
- a community member
I attended attended Faith Academy and graduated from the school. The one thing I have to tell parents from my experience as a student is that this school does not focus on education. When I went to college, one of the first things I noticed was that my peers who went to public schools from all over the Southeast had a better high school education than I did. They were 1 -2 semesters ahead of me and it was all because their curriculum was better quality than Faith Academy's. I graduated with a 3.9 GPA and was 9th in my class; however, I found it very difficult to get scholarships to academically acclaimed universities. I understand this is a Christian school; however, they put too much focus on education of the Bible rather than the education students need to be successful in college and in their future careers. Do not waste your money on this school. Your child will get a better education and will have more opportunities provided to them elsewhere.

Faith Academy 2

Posted December 21, 2013
- a parent
My child attended Faith Academy for the last three years. This year we decided to put my child back into the public school system. At our child's new school, the first thing we noticed was the class size was smaller, there are 17 children per teacher. Then the real shocker was just how far behind the other students he was (elementary school). His reading was above average, but his math was lacking way behind. We were able to get him back up to speed with the rest of his class, but that was no easy task, additionally his science grades were lacking too, again with some work he is at his grade level (AB honor student). I am not here to put down FA, the teachers and staff were great to my child, we felt that the school was clean and well kept, but FA falls short with the most important task, that is education. I was paying for this school thinking that I was getting something "special" for my money, I was wrong, the local public elementary school is far better, the public schools have things like "Smart" boards in the classrooms, smaller teacher to student ratios, the same level of discipline as FA , an actual lunch program for the children.FA has microwave food and vending machines.


Faith Academy 4

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
I went to faith 3 years ago because it has a Christian environment, great test scores from their past senior classes and a strong boys basketball program which is important to my son. The boys basketball team has been great for my son coming from a public middle school. They are taught to work hard and be disciplined. By what I can observe they are the best basketball program in Mobile overall. Academics are good but like all schools have good, average and below avg teachers. The teachers have free tutoring after school which has helped alot. As a black family we have felt welcomed and never treated any different than anyone else. For the money the good far outweighs any negatives. To me the negatives are too much homework (3 hours a night on average), poor menu for lunches (all junk food, fried foods), class size is sometimes an issue and not enough "fun" activities for students like a prom.

Faith Academy 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a community member
Great school, I have been going there for 5 years and I love it! The teachers are nice, the other kids are well behaved and I hope to go there until I go to college.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Faith Academy
8650 Tanner Williams Road, Mobile, AL  36608
(251) 633-7267
Last modified Faith Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Faith Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. Top