Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Park Christian School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mobile

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $146,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

This school allowed my son to be picked up by someone who was not on the check out list! They added someone and did not notify me that my son had been picked up by someone new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

i have two children that attend oakpark school and I am very happy with the education that they are getting on of my childern are in K4 and the other in 5th oak park is a great school the staff is also wonderfull
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

This school has potential and I'm sure some teachers are good. My child's teacher was found to be very cold, even distant. I overheard her yelling at the children often and cringed. Every extra activity costs money, and it's sad to see the kids who get left out because their parents either forgot or couldn't afford the extra money ($3-$10 usually). I wish they would just raise the tuition a little and cover the costs of these activities so that everyone could participate. I have always found the principal to be kind and understanding and the staff is very sweet. This is a very small school, the staff and teachers know the kids by name and that is very cool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

I sent my child there in the 7th grade and he is currently attending his last year there. all of the reviews with 5 stars were posted before the new principle came. my child comes home every day depressed. all of the good teachers left because of the new principle and staff talking bad about them. they did this just so they would leave so they could get a teacher that was there years ago back. this teacher does not teach. the principle is always trying to play the role of parent and push her silly views on the children. is has gotten to the point where she is checking the childrens private home life. she is always complaining about the kind of music they listen too. my child does not bring any of that to school. he and his friends are well behaved. please do not send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

Both of my sons graduated from Oak Park. One attended an out of state college and the other received a full paid scholarship from U. of Mobile. My third child is still attending Oak Park and we have always been very pleased with the academics and overall spirit of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

I sent three students to Oak Park. All subsequently went to college . They were well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

We have 2 children that attend the school. Our oldest has attended the school since K-5 and our other is starting k-4. We love the school and the entire staff. It is a small school but the love that they give the students is wonderful. We are members at the church and I am a K-3 teacher at the Day Care and I recommend all that Oak Park School, Day Care and Church has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

My daughter has attended this school since she was 18 months old. She is now in 2nd grade. The love and caring of the staff is wonderful. This school has brought the best out in my daughter. Anyone who meets my daughter cannot believe she is in only 2nd grade.She is so smart and I give the credit tho the teachers. This is a very warm community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

After one year at the school, I have mixed feelings. There seems to be alot of favoritism to students whose families are better off financially than others. This school could have some wonderful potential if they get a new principal that cares and supports the rules. By the way, my child is an honor student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I have two children that go to School at Oak Park. The academic program is wonderful, my children have learned so much attending this school. They do have music and offer other activities for the children. The parent involvement is great there. The teachers are wonderful and truly care for your child. I would recommend any parent that is wanting their children to have a great education and being taught Christian morals and values, should check this school out! The office staff and teachers are a 10 plus, no questions asked!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

I went to this school as a child. I loved it compared to the other private school I had attended. I don't know how much it has changed but if it is anything like it was then I highly reccommend it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 56%
Black 15% 38%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of god

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3321 Sollie Rd
Mobile, AL 36695
Phone: (251) 633-9386

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT