Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Er Dickson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 911 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

This school changes their bus route rules every year. They accommodate some parenta with children that go to the bus stop but not all!!!! They rather your child stand at a bus stop whwre there's drug activity than safe infront of their home....


Posted August 13, 2013

E R Dickson is one of the best schools in Mobile County, my son have been a student there since K5 and will be going into the 4th grade this year 2013-2014. I love the staff from the office adminration to the teachers they are all wonderful. I was happy that my husband did his research in finding a great school for our son. I will recommend this school to any parent that is in search for that best school which they are looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

April 5, 2012 I am a Grandmother of a sweet hearted little girl in Kindergarten at E.R. DICKSON. E.R. DICKSON rates excellent in my book, especially after attending the school's "Spring Fling" last week. Everything was done in an orderly fashion from the Office Staff down to the Activities and my granddaughter had a wonderful time. I've been in her classroom and found the children to be of good behavior but seemed happy, not afraid. As you know, a child's K-garten experience will follow them and have an impact on the way they feel about school for the rest of their school years. My child's Kindergarten teacher is Excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

They hold a high academic standard and promote dedication and personal responsibility by the students. They reinforce positive character traits and morals and I feel my child is safe at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

ERD is only a good school, if you don't Special needs children attending. Then again that's mobile county in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

I have two children that attend E.R. Dickson, one in kindergarten and one in the fifth grade and they both LOVE this school! Great teachers! Good attitudes, all around a very good school! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Both of my children love school. Typically, one child likes school, but not both. How these teachers (especially kindergarten) keep school exciting is amazing! Thank you ER Dickson teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

I am very happy with E R Dickson Elem. This school is very well organized. I like how they enforce the school uniform policy. It makes the school and students look really nice, organized and prepared for school. The teachers have a really good homework system going on there to. The carpool system in the morning is also very well orgqanized. Im overall very happy with this school. Only thing i wish they had was classes that teach spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

This is a GREAT school! I have no complaints what so ever. The academics are incredible and the staff REALLY cares. If you value your kids' education then this is the school for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

We have been very happy with E R Dickson. The parental involvement is great. Any concerns we have had have been addressed quickly. My child has excelled in reading and math skills. She is above target for her age. The school has a good racial balance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

This school is academically focused and I do feel that the school's activities are well organized to accomodate a student body of 800 plus. I do wish there were more focus on art and music, but I understand there are some after school programs being assembled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

This is an amazing school. The parents are very involved in activities, both in the classroom & for special events. The carpool lines run smoothly. Teachers call out the children's names as cars come in to make sure no child misses their ride. I could not ask for anything more for my child than this school already gives/has!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

A Great school! Lacking a Little in the physical activities and the carpool situation, but overall a really good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2005

quite simply put .... er dickson is overall a great public school . the teachers are great and the safety and discipline are right where they should be for a school that houses our children full time !!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education92%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty97%
Not poverty0%

Reading

All Students98%
Female98%
Male99%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education92%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty98%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special education92%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty96%
Not poverty97%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education85%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty95%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible99%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education82%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty99%
Not poverty98%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male88%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education64%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty93%
Not poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students96%
Female99%
Male93%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible99%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education91%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty99%
Not poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 34%
White 44% 58%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Missy Ann Nolen
Fax number
  • (251) 221-1185

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4645 Bit and Spur Rd
Mobile, AL 36608
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 221-1180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT