Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Olive J Dodge Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
This school is determined to make sure students do their homework and get great test scores if not they will text you immediately.

Olive J Dodge Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
If you want to develop respect you have to give respect and there is a severe lack of respect.


Olive J Dodge Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
The past couple of years all I have seen is complete lack of empathy and compassion.

Olive J Dodge Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
The teachers bully and belittle students. They should work on communication and be more passionate.

Olive J Dodge Elementary School 3

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
I moved to this schools area in 2014-2015 school year, She had a good teacher and everything it just seemed like there wasn't enough communication from parents to teachers, unless you was a part of the PTO in which then you knew ALL..But I am a single Mother of 2 with a full time job.....that required me to work late during the week so it wasn't an option for me to be a part of the PTO committee.Me and my husband were going through a divorce and I just think I wanted more involvement. Home work assignments were never taught to the kids before they were instructed to complete the assignment, My daughter was often than not extremely confused on what was going on in a lot of her subjects which required us to Google and research the best ways to teach her this stuff so she could excel. i loved the fact that they required the Students to meet a certain goal for Accelerated reader! thanks to that my daughter is able to read pretty well as a 1st grader. It still took a lot of Me and my mother teaching her though and it was hard and annoying! I just don't understand what these teachers are doing in class if my child still hasn't absorbed any of the information! Why do i pay taxes?!?!


Olive J Dodge Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My son attended Dodge from kindergarten through the 5th grade. He absolutely flourished. The staff is excellent. My child has severe food allergies and we never had a single incident there. The education he received was wonderful and allowed him to enter a local magnet school for college prep in the 6th grade.

Olive J Dodge Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
We are just finishing our first year at Dodge! I can not find one single thing to complain about (other than they should hurry and rebuild a new playground). My daughter LOVES her teacher Mrs. Guy. Dr Christ has been wonderful as well. We love Dodge

Olive J Dodge Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
My son has been at Dodge from kindergarten and is now in the fourth grade. Prior to coming to Dodge he went to a private school and he was getting diagnosed with aspergers. His teacher at the private school bullied him to the point he was terrified to go to school and hated school. Halfway through kindergarten at Dodge he was no longer terrified of school or the teachers in fact he loved his teacher Mrs Guy. We did have problems with his 3rd grade teacher concerning communication with us, the parents. Other than that his teachers have all looked out for him and even gone out of there way to help him and keep us informed. He actually admitted over the summer he couldn't wait for school to start! We are moving soon and will hate to leave Dodge and the teachers.


Olive J Dodge Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
I have 3 children who attend Dodge. I absolutely love the teachers and staff, as well as the curriculum. It shows how much they truly care for the children and their education, not just by test scores or their speech, but by my childrens and others behavior toward the school, the staff, and fellow students. I couldn't imagine my kids going anywhere else.

Olive J Dodge Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
a really great to be in my son is in middle school now and he loved this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olive J Dodge Elementary School
2615 Longleaf Dr, Mobile, AL  36693
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (251) 221-1195
Last modified Olive J Dodge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top