Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Capitol Heights Jr High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Rainer is by far the best band teacher. She actually cares about the students!! She is the only one in that building who actually cares about the kids.

Capitol Heights Jr High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are horrible. My son has an IEP and they couldn't care less about following it. They are purposely making him fail. Ms. Rainer in band is FANTASTIC though she is the only one at that school who actually gives a damn about the kids.


Capitol Heights Jr High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
My son hasn't gotten one piece of homework since day one (Our first year here). The teachers don't want to do anything more than they need to.

Capitol Heights Jr High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
AGAIN ITS THE WORST SCHOOL IN TOWN!! Their reputation is true believe everything bad you have heard about them.

Capitol Heights Jr High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and principal never stay there long enough to develop anything. They are always hiring new faculty because everyone leaves in under a year. If you want a job at the WORST SCHOOL IN TOWN they need you.


Capitol Heights Jr High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
This school is horrible there is no honesty, no integrity, and absolutely no fairness for the students. Children that attend this school are taught its ok to beat on other kids, run from the school cops, spit at people, and have no respect for others.

Capitol Heights Jr High School 1

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
This school is by far the worst school I have ever encountered!! My disabled child has an IEP which they will not follow causing him to fail rather than do their jobs as teachers. Now my son has been assaulted by another student and nothing is being done. I am pulling him and homeschooling him now. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS TO THIS SCHOOL THEY ARE ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!! The teachers and principal are a revolving door and constantly needing to be replaced. The students have no structure or guidance and are allowed to do as they please. They do not do anything about bullying other than bring the child who hit your kid into the office with your child and make them sit next to each other.

Capitol Heights Jr High School 2

Posted July 19, 2012
- a community member
capital heights was a good school when i was going there but it has gone way down hill in the past 8 years since i was enrolled there. it was a great school back then and i would love to see it clean up.


Capitol Heights Jr High School 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
Capitol Heights is such a great school. This school has some of the best teachers in the county. I am parent that has had 5 kids to attend CHJHS. I love everything about the programs and leadership. I have had so many great teachers to help my children. Ms. Gray, Mr. Holloway, and Ms. Peterson to name a few.

Capitol Heights Jr High School 4

Posted August 13, 2008
- a parent
Capital Heights has been through major transition in the last few years. Our sons who both have learning disabilites have been treated with utmost respect from their teachers, the principal and the SE staff. Our philosophy on what makes a great school is simply this...parental involvement! The more we have been involved, the more we get what we think is needed with our children. I LOVE the principal, Mr Johnson who has high expectations from all the students as far as behavior and academics!! I LOVE THAT!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capitol Heights Jr High School
116 Federal Dr, Montgomery, AL  36107
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (334) 260-1000
Last modified Capitol Heights Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top