Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Catoma Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 222 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2009

I love the school as a parent my child has learn a lot there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

My daughter went through this school Kindergarten through 5th. She got the best reading education ever. My son went through 1st grade and moved to Prattville. He does not have the same level of education. Catoma is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

My aunts and uncles attended Catoma years ago, I attended Catoma in the 80's, and now my children are students at Catoma. We love this school. I cannot imagine sending my children to any of the other local public schools. The teachers are great. We now have a coach of our very own and the children are learning the fundamentals of healthy living. There aren't other extracurricular activities available that I'm aware of. Many of the parents volunteer at the school and go eat lunch with their children regularly. Parents always seem to be welcome there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

I've never been to Catoma Elementary, but it's been my priviledge to sit under the teaching of one of Catoma's best. Mayte' Cotton has spent a greatdeal of time working with local doctors, nurses, and other medical personnel to help us improve our teaching. If her heart for teaching and her skills in that area are even half as good with the children in her classes as they are with the adults she teaches, you have a rare gem at Catoma. Thank you for sharing her with the medical personnel of the area!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2004

I have a son in 2nd grade. We think its a great school. I went there in the 70's and my husband went their in the 60's. We love it and hope he can stay thru 5th grade. It would be great it if they would add a junior high school and high school to it. Our 1st grade teacher last year was great. We loved her and hated to see her go to Garrett this year. A great teacher. Alice Perkins. This is the school to be at.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female63%
Male81%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education42%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Poverty69%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female81%
Male85%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education58%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty82%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty91%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty88%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male94%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty97%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty94%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty94%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 35%
White 36% 58%
Hispanic 23% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Tara L. Carr
Fax number
  • (334) 281-8232

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1780 Mitchell Young Rd
Montgomery, AL 36108
Phone: (334) 288-5799

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Montgomery Youth Fac
Montgomery, AL


Hooper Academy
Hope Hull, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT