Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Montgomery, AL
Students enrolled: 513

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
i love highland gardens school because the teachers are very helpful and understanding when it comes to helping and teaching the students...........they are very patience and kind....

Highland Gardens Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
I give this school an A+. Mrs. James always put the children first wich is very important to me. My child has been attending this school since kindergarden and getting ready to graduate next month i give her and the teachers a thumbs up! I know we could not have done it without the patience of them all.


Highland Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
The new administration at this school has done wonders for the morale and overall achievement of the students. I have no problem sending my children to this school! The enthusiasm of the teachers is contagious. You can tell they care about the children. They work hard in bridging the gaps and it has shown over the past two years with dramatically improved test scores.

Highland Gardens Elementary School 1

Posted June 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2007
- a administrator
It is obvious that the person who responded first has not been keeping up with the changes that have taken place at Highland Gardens Elementary the past three years. With the present principal and staff, this school came out of school improvement and is now an all CLEAR choice school. They have met all of their state goals for the past two years since the change in administration. Furthermore, they have received two awards from the state two consecutive years for closing the achievement gaps between minority students. Before we speak publicly about a school that has worked so hard to achieve excellence in academic achievement, we should do our HOMEWORK first!


Highland Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Gardens Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2005
- a parent
You will be faced with people that care about your child and their success in school and in life. The test scores went up last year and this school is now a Choice school in Montgomery County. The teachers care about each and every child. The administration works diligently to make sure that each child is safe, secure, educated, and loved. Highland Gardens is a fantastic school and I am proud to say my children attend Highland Gardens Elementary.

Highland Gardens Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2004
- a parent
In response to the first poster, to place all the blame on a school for their child's failings is completely unfair. I grew up in several places, attending schools in well-funded and highly-acclaimed districts, as well as poorly-funded, struggling schools. They had several things in common: good and bad students, plus great teachers and indifferent ones. The teacher's job is to TEACH. The job of the parent is to raise the child to respect the laws of society, and to 'do what they're told.' Without parents' guidance, you're asking the impossible of teachers. You might as well ask a paraplegic to run track. My son attended Highland Gardens, and liked it. I also know two people who teach in Montgomery schools. They're dedicated people who also spend countless time after-hours doing everything from attending nighttime functions to, like 'Joanne' said, calling on parents of students they're concerned about. 'Not caring'? Untrue!


Highland Gardens Elementary School 4

Posted July 29, 2004
- a parent
My son had a wonderful experience at Highland Gardens. You get out of it what you put into it. He was constantly talking about this teacher, or that project. True, there are kids who are behavior problems who attend the school, there are children who walk the street. No one cares? Teachers call the house or visit if there is a problem with your child. There is constant communication. Those teachers can't keep your kids from skipping school. That's the parent's job, just like it's the parent's job to make sure his/her child is taking full advantage of a good education. My child, and several of his classmates, left Highland Gardens and went on to magnet school. Although there are many fine teachers at this school, it would be better not to put all the blame or credit of the students on the teachers. Parents must be involved.

Highland Gardens Elementary School 1

Posted April 27, 2004
- a parent
This school is the reason there are so many drops outs in that area. By the time they get to Junior High children can't keep up because of the poor elementary teachers and an unconcerned principal. I know many students who can't read and write and they somehow made it to Jr. High. However, they have dropped out since. Many of these children run the streets during school hours. Nobody cares. This school has nothing to offer students. If the state doesn't do something to improve this school it should be closed. Students only have there childhood once, don't waste their precious time. There were new additions added to it but what are the results? Now how about improving the classroom activites and teacher skills. Stop making parents go towards home schooling. Stop making people move out of the area. Like I had to. Maybe the principal needs to go.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Gardens Elementary School
2801 Willena Ave, Montgomery, AL  36107
(334) 269-3685
Last modified Highland Gardens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Gardens Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top