Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson Davis High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

Worst school in the county. Teachers, asst principals, and the principal do not have the interest of the students at heart. Their main agenda is to suspend; for everything. If you can afford a private school or have the ability to homeschool please RUN, not walk from this place!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

This school should be closed down. The teachers teach directly from the book and have no idea what they're doing.


Posted July 27, 2013

i was at jd for ninth grade now finna be a sophomore but i only give this school a three because it wasnt so bad but not all that good either but hey we cant let the rotten apples spoil everything because this school was once a good school and it aint the only bad school either but we currently finna have a new principal so things proably get better or worse. #sophomore


Posted March 13, 2013

This school is horrible now. I am here for my ninth grade year. The students are rowdy. The administration treats everyone like inmates and never lets anyone do anything. The teachers act like they don't care about what happens to you or your future. The test scores are atrocious and it seems like many of the freshmen are failing
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2008

I graduated from JD and was shocked to see how much this school had changed. They used to have a excellent band program and now it was something totally different. I would have never thought JD would take a turn for the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

For the June 4th commenter, it is the responsiblity of the student to get scholarships and/or communicate that they need assistance to the guidance office. I graduated in '07 and I am a sophmore at AUBURN, I have a 3.87 GPA. Jeff Daivs is One of the BEST *public* high schools in Montgomery... If u struggling, U need to step yo game up!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

I use to attend Jefferson Davis. I found it to be a great enviroment to learn because they had a lot of classes that most schools in montgomery dont offer.


Posted August 1, 2008

I currently go to Jefferson Davis and it is better than some and worse than some. this is my senior year and for me it has been ok. I can't say that for everybody. Some of the teachers need to go easy on some of the students, not everybody learns the sameway. I have seen so many times where a teacher goes off or gets an attiude with a student for not understanding something. Some of the teacher dont even seem qualified for their job. There are some good teachers, who care about you and will help you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

This isn't a school for a student who wants to get a good understanding of knowledge. Very few teachers are even highly qualified. Also the chances of getting a great scholarship to a great school is close to none. Tests provided by the state, compared to other high schools, are horrible. A student has a better chance of teaching his of her self. A lot of other 'moral issues' plague J.D. as well. That's my opinion on J.D., but another person may think otherwise.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2006

I attended JD last year..The teachers are awsome.. very helpful... some things could be better, but we cant blame all teachers or staff for it.. over all JD is an experince.. for any student..
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2006

I am a proud parent of a student who attends JD. A school is only as strong as it's support system such as community and parents. JD has great partners in the community and the potential to grow even greater. This school offers great programs in academics, the arts, extracurricular activites, and this school promotes good social behavior. The academic curriculum is fashioned to meet the needs of all students and to challenge all levels of those who wish to take advantage of it. Our Parent-Teacher Organization is not very strong and is an area that needs some TLC. The rate of students passing the graduation exam is improving and the number of graduates have improved after a couple of shaky years. We all go through transitional periods and this school will be a flagship school in Montgomery with continued focus on the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2006

Ey I im a sophmore at JD and by far its the best school in Montgomery period! We have the best program around. I play football and I say we are going to win state this coming up season. We had a very good shot this last season if the school zone scandals wouldnt had went down. Everything is up to par you must make the best out of these years. The only fault in JD is the attitudes of everyone, but ey people arent nice anyways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2005

This is my first year at JD and I am truely enjoying it. I got great teachers and great classes.I take Jr.ROTC and I love it,and it gets me pump for school every day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2005

This is my daughter first year at Jefferson Davis. We had a lot of paper work to filled out and I gave my e-mail address to all of her teacher and not one has even e-mail me once. I went on line to see if I could e-mail her teacher, but none of her teachers names were listed. We have no ideas when there's a Parenting meeting. I think my daughter is doing OK but could do better if she's able to pace herself better. Also, if the students are not doing great in the class they should be able to do extra work or take more tests to try to make-up so they will be able to pull that particular grade up to a passing grade. Parent need to make sure they are involved in their child daily studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

I am a former student of jeff davis (class of 2002). This was the best high school to attend in montgomery. Of course jd isn't perfect, but what school doesn't have its faults overall? A lot of students say that it was 'weak.' Those same students weren't involved in none of the many extracurricular activities. It's what you make of it and i made the best of it while i was there.I would go back and relive those days in a heartbeat.In closing and as a former band student,go marching volunteers!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 20, 2005

I currently attend JD and overall it's a pretty nice school. The teachers could teach more then what they have been doing. A lot of kids have been going to summer school because of the lack of committment of the teachers to try and help us. The parent particpation is very low. A lot of these kids think that they are old enough to handle themselves when it comes to their work. So they will tell their parents that they are doing what it takes to do what they need to do. But when report cards come out it's a different story.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2004

I am a graduate of JD, class of 99. Academically I would say that JD is one of the top schools in Montgomery. Class sizes could be smaller, and some teachers should go back to high school themselves. JD has a great extra curricular program, including an outstandidng music department which Mrs. Rebecca Schofner was in charge of during my years, and a great school to work program as well. Dicipline could have been tighter and parent involvement could have been alot better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2004

Jefferson Davis High School is a good school with a few problems. We've had several kids attend JD, and no one has ever had a bad experience. The kids enjoy the activities and the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2004

I currently go to Jeff Davis and I don't really recommend it to anyone... there is lack of any control in most of the classes and the graduation lines are getting shorter and shorter every year. Some of the teachers do try, though. This school represents the true state of the Montgomery Public School system..it's going down and down the drain!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

349 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

351 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

348 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

351 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

60 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

350 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

362 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

362 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

363 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

362 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

391 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

363 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students90%
Female90%
Male89%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education52%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty95%

Language

All Students58%
Female61%
Male55%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Special education15%
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Poverty55%
Non-poverty66%

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education18%
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Poverty65%
Non-poverty79%

Reading

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education22%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty78%

Social Studies

All Students49%
Female44%
Male54%
Black49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Special education27%
General population51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Poverty46%
Non-poverty54%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male96%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education76%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students86%
Female91%
Male79%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education40%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty88%

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education52%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education48%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty94%

Social Studies

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education48%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 34%
Hispanic 2% 5%
White 2% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Rafael Richardson
Fax number
  • (334) 269-3715

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3420 Carter Hill Rd
Montgomery, AL 36111
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 269-3712

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Montgomery Academy
Montgomery, AL




Safety Net Villa
Montgmomery, AL


Safety Net Crossings
Montgmomery, AL


Success Unlimited
Montgomery, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT