Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Montgomery, AL
Students enrolled: 160
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a teacher
I strongly recommend Lighthouse Christian Academy for the following reasons. 1, Distinct Christian Environment with daily Bible teaching and weekly chapel services. 2. Superior academics taught using the ABEKA curriculum from Pensacola Christian College. 3. Qualified teachers. All Elementary and Jr High staff have B.S. degrees, some have Masters degrees. All preschool staff except for 1 have at least 1 years of college or more. 4. Orderly classrooms. Drop in unannounced and see for your self. WARNING: 2 year old and under classes are a work in progress...ya think? 5. Problems brought to the attention of the administration are handled in a timely manner. 6. Total enrollment is significantly up. The only space available in the preschool is in the K-4 classes.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 1

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I WOULD NOT recommend anyone to send their child(ren) to Lighthouse Christian Academy. Teachers are in schools to instruct our children, not tell them to read the directions and complete the assignment without teaching them the skill first. Many of the teachers have no classroom management , and I wonder if they have a degree in education. I have no words for the lack of leadership for the school. Lighthouse needs to have stronger criteria to meet before hiring; I am truly disappointed with our experience there.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 2

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
I have two children who attend this school. The academics are great. The elementary school teachers are awesome. However, the PreK teachers left more to be desired. Although my son learned a lot academically, he often came home with feces in his pull up and on his clothes. He often had scrapes and bruises that none of the teachers could account for. He became aggressive, unfriendly, and whined a lot. Teacher communication was also very poor. There were often multiple teachers during the course of the day with poor handoff communication. The evening teacher could not relay information from the morning session and etc. Since transferring him to another school, I have noticed a definite improvement in him socially.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 2

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
My son attended the elementary school for 1.5 years. He performed well but communication with his teacher suffered during her frequent illnesses. The last 2 months of school our son was reported by the teacher to have grotesque behavior issues which were uncharacteristic and had not been reflected in previous feedback from the teacher. In fact, he earned all A's for the year. We loved the bible-based curriculum (Abeka) but the clear distinction in quality and maturity of the first year teacher (10/10) compared with the second year teacher (4/10) left much to be desired. There was no uniform policy and the high schoolers often wore baggy pants which served as a bad example to the elementary students. Another concern was the unruly behavior of students during after-school pick-up. Some teachers needed more assistance handling rowdy children.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 0
no rating

Posted March 21, 2009
- a community member
the only good thing i can say about LCA is that it has a christian environment. the pre-school and elementary seem to be doing well, but the highschool is a different story. for the past few years LCA has had numerous teachers for the highschool, and half of which didnt even do their job. Lighthouse seems to have a problem when it comes to hiring teachers. is there such thing called 'Rent-A-Teacher'? if so, LCA must be doing business with them.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
My son has attened this school since K4, I am overly impressed with the quility of the teaching staff there. My child has learned so much, while attending the Lighthouse.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted June 24, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted September 06, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Lighthouse Christian Academy 3

Posted April 20, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Lighthouse Christian Academy 5

Posted August 19, 2005
- a student
the school is amixed population full of spirit it is so nice I enjoy it there there is so much interaction this helps me socially to grow mentally physically and spirituilly extra curricular activites and all wonderful ILOVE LCA !

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lighthouse Christian Academy
3570 Bell Road, Montgomery, AL  36116
(334) 271-4200
Last modified Lighthouse Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Lighthouse Christian Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top