Advertisement
Advertisement

Eastwood Christian School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Montgomery

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $132,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2011

Our child was enrolled at Eastwood this school year. We are a military family, so moving around is tough enough on your child, and going to a new school is that much tougher. The other children at this school never accepted our child. I was told by a parent and a teacher that because our child was hanging out with another student that has cheated before, and had a bad reputation, that is why no one wanted to be friends with ours. The parent told us that the other children were told not to hang around the child that has cheated. My thoughts to this are, this is a CHRISTIAN school and the parents should be telling their children to be friends with the troubled child, and they may be able to make a difference in her ways. You are not supposed to turn your back on a person just because they have done wrong before. I would not recommend this school anyone. Many other Christian schools in Montgomery are just as worthy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Continuation: each Eastwod senior is required to write and defend a thesis before they can graduate. Reading and writing (papers) are especially stressed. The 15 students in the Class of 2009 received over $1 miilion in scholarships!Third: extra-curricular activities are all volunteer driven. We have no athletic program, yet our kids, with parents as coaches, have in a few short years risen to a level of competing for state championships. In fact our varsity girls won the ACEAA basketball championship and the boys placed second. This week our volleyball team will compete in the state tourny. Four: the tuition is an incredible value. Five: because it is a small school, you must be patient as issues/policies get worked out over time. We have had many discussions about the immense amount of homework given to the upper school. Overall: the school and the people there are an incredible blessing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Four of our children have been enrolled at Eastwood for the past 6 years. We have experienced each grade except kindergarten, which child number 5 will attend fall of 2008. Our oldest just graduated from ECS. We consider this school to be home to us for three main reasons: 1st, a strong biblical worldview permeates each class. 2nd, the classical curriculum is challenging and trains the students to communicate effectively through both written and oral language. They learn to appreciate great writing and great thought through studying classical works. Math and Latin tracks accomodate the average student and the above average student. 3rd, The relationships among quality peers and teachers results in a strong learning and social environment. The teachers are more like mentors to the students, and the friendships they experience with other students are for life. A reasonable tuition makes this school the best educational value in
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

We have two children at Eastwood, both in the Elementary School. We have been totally impressed with all aspects of the academic program. Biblical worldview, small classrooms and passionate teachers make it an incredible place to go to school. The extracurricular activities grow every year, with my children being involved in art, soccer, basketball and more. Parental involvement is very evident and very encourage. Overall, this is an excellent program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Christianity is not only taught, its exhibited every day by the faculty and staff at Eastwood. The academic program is exceptional. My only regret is that I didn't enroll my children here earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2005

My child has been attending this school since first grade. At no time have I ever regretted this decision. This school uses the classical christian approach to the teaching of subjects. I cant say there has not been problems as the school grows, however, these problems are always approached with Biblical standards and then solved accordingly. I can honestly say I constantly thank God for allowing my child to attend this school. It is truly a gift to my family. This christian school doesnt just teach the Bible, they show our children how to live the gospel out in their daily lives. A simple, but powerful, example of this was how my childs third grade teacher taught 'the first shall be last'. My child longed to be last in the water cooler line. The quality of life lessons along with the high academic program is what makes Eastwood Christian truly superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

Eastwood approaches education from a Biblical worldview. I only wish I could have been raised with such a Christ centered education. The impact is evident on all of the children at Eastwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 56%
Black 2% 38%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACCS
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 E Trinity Blvd
Montgomery, AL 36106
Phone: (334) 272-8195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Success Unlimited
Montgomery, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT