Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wynton M Blount Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 523 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2009

I've had 4 children attend Blount. 2 are now in middle school. 2 will be attending Blount again this year. Mrs. Green the principal is very involved, always available, very fair and is a true leader. My experience with the younger teachers are that they are energetic, fresh and creative in their teaching. Looking forward to less students this year! I'll be pushing the PTA to spend all the money they raise. Or I'm not donating another dime! I would like to see a music room for the wonderful Mr. Reese and also a gym!! No more TRAILERS! I pray my 4th and 1st grader are NOT in trailers! I'll be highly disappointed. Overall this is the best of the best in Elementary for MPS. Thanks to the parents and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Blount Elementary School is a wonderful school with an excellent faculty. The principal has great leadership abilities. She is very personable and has a genuine love for the students. She can often be seen greeting over 900+ parents and students by name. She also takes the time to meet with parents when problems arise. Sending my child to Blount was the best choice I've made since moving to Montgomery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

The reputation of this school supercedes itself. Nothing much has really changed except the principal. There is still much improvement to be made. You still have the same people doing the same things and the environment is not welcoming. The pta meetings are a waste of time and the office staff are not professional. Students are not participating in extracurricula activities. Just because, the pta can raise x amount of dollars does not mean that this school is successful, somethings just come with the territory. All students/parents are not treated the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I have had three children attend Blount Elementary and have had three different experiences. The things I love most are the welcoming environment, volunteer opportunities, and the diverse group of students. I can speak from experience that we get a private school education at a public school price. The Fall 2009 school year is expected to have an enrollment of half of what we have now. I am optimistic that next year will exceed our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Mrs. Amanda Solvason, our daughter's second grade teacher, is great! She is very professional, loves the children and they love her back, and we are delighted with our daughter's progress in every academic area. Mrs, Solvason is very responsive to us as parents. Our daughter enjoys going to school and being in her class. She is an outstanding teacher! Furthermore, we are very happy with Blount Elementary School and the entire staff just wish there were more extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This is a great school with a superb staff. Overcrowding will be a thing of the past as of 09, and I'm willing to wait it out. A great job is being done to get through this tough period - not only are the students kept under control but the teaching level is superb. Love the principle and office staff - which is the first thing people see!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

I grew up in this city and I find that Blount Elementary School is the best puclic school outside of a magnet program. The encouragement of the teachers and staff, as a whole, in building strongs reading skills is phenominal. My son tested at a 4th grade reading level while in the 2nd grade. The PTA is outstanding in their work. They are terrific at parent, family, and community involvment. They are always determined and successful at reaching their goals for the betterment of the school and are wonderful at getting the children excited about it. The teachers and administrations are excellent at being so personable with each student. This truly a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

My child has attended Blount for 2 years. I am pleased with the staff in general. Southern culture runs thick in the halls though. Overall though, I am pleased with the academic aspects of the school, would like art, choir and extracurricular options though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My children (K and 1st) started the school year at Blount. However, after a month at the school we chose to remove our children and place them in a private school. My children's teachers were very good, however, the overall policies of the school caused us some concern. Specifically, there is an overemphasis on testing at the expense of providing a well rounded education. The school has no gymnasium and the playground is way too small for the 850+ children that attend the school. My personal interaction with the principal found him to be overly defensive if any questions were raised concerning school policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

As a sub teacher, I see alot of schools. I give Blount Elementary my '3 F Award' for achieving the magical balance of Firm/Fair/Friendly. Administration/Staff/Quality Teachers show sincere concern for kids in every aspect.They give respect & get it in return. Prin. Lowe is a hands on, high visibility principle who holds himself & others to high moral/prof standards. It's not often you see a Principle mopping up rain in the halls before the kids arrive; but I've seen him do it! They could use more extracurriculars, but with what Pub. Schools have to work with, they provide academic and personal support students/parents remarkably well - better than some private schools charging hundreds a month. It's easy to forget this is a Public School. I have no children in school & therefore no reason to say these things except that I have been so impressed & want parents to find this treasure!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 23, 2007

This is my second year of attendance for my child at Wynton Blount Elementary. We are really getting a great start on the education process and this school is helping us stay excited about learning. The leadership seems to be a well-oiled machine and the teachers seem to be happy to work at the school and with the children/students. Keep up the good work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

My daughter has been at Blount for four years now. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. Everyone from the front office personnel to the specialist to the administrators are on top of there game! 100% of the teachers are highly qualified while some are national board certified. I believe everyone works as a team which makes a great learning environment for the children. Mr. Lowe & Mrs. Green display excellent leadership, and it really shows with the rest of the staff. Quest (learning enrichment program) is available to students who meet testing standards. The parent involvement is out of this world and is encouraged which is another reason why this school is so successful. Great school-better than or at least equal to any private school in Montgomery. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

Two of our kids attended Blount for one year. Both had excellent teachers who worked hard to keep the kids motivated to learn by engaging them in fun and interesting learning activities. Fundraising is a problem at Blount, however. I firmly believe asking kids to sell 'things' is wrong. More emphasis was placed on being the top seller than was placed on being the top reader. Prizes were given to top sellers and top readers didn't even receive certificates. The priority should be on learning, not earning. The music and art programs are lacking, although the music teacher Mr. Reese is energetic and talented and the kids love him. We give the faculty an A+, but programs and PTA functions are a B.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

Blount Elementary is the newest public school in Montgomery. Located in Montgomery's booming east side, Blount has a PTA with parental involvement most schools can only dream of. The teachers are amazing, each one taking an interest in all of their students. The Principal, Mr. Lowe, and Vice Prinipal, Mrs. Green are both genuine and effective leaders of this outstanding school. With all of its high points, Blount's recent influx of new students has left its traffic system overwhelmed. Even getting into the parking lot is a daily struggle. Also, the music program is lacking, with no student choir gives other schools like nearby Halcyon an edge in extra-curricular activities. Overall, however, Wynton Blount Elementary is a 5-star school with 5-star teachers and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Our family moved to Montgomery a year ago and we were told that our girls should attend Blount. A year later we are so happy that this school was recommended to us. The teachers and staff have been great and our girls have excelled in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

BLount is a very new school with a young principal, which can be both an advantage and a disadvantage. Often programs are poorly organized and information does not always get to the parents effectively or on-time. But the advantage is that most of the teachers have prior experience at other schools, and are fresh and eager to teach well in this new setting. The facilities are very nice, classrooms though not huge are a good size, cafeteria and library are nice and modern. Playground could stand to be added to. As often evident in a state without a education-funding lottery, there are a LOT of fundraisers at Blount, sometimes making it frustrating to receive these in your child's folders week after week. Wish there was an art teacher, though love the technology class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

Both of my children attend Blount. I cannot say enought great things about it. It has the most caring teachers, administration, parents, and students! The number of parent volunteers is mind boggling. The quality of education is very high, and geared toward a child's abilities, whether the child needs to be brought up in a subject, or taught higher than grade level. I highly recommend this school to any parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

My two children went to Blount for and it was the best experience. Blount's principal, teachers, and all staff member take great pride in making the school the best it can be. Now we have moved and we miss the welcoming feeling we had at Blount. The school keeps getting better every year. The only emphasis that needs improvement is in the math and science areas, which they have started this year. The AR has helped my children be above average on their new schools reading levels. Thanks Blount and keep being the best in Montgomery, Al. Houston misses Blount.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

I am a staunch supporter of public schools, however, I am only willing to enroll my child in the best public school. In Montgomery, Alabama, Blount Elementary is that school. The only problem I have encountered is my feeling that there is too much of an emphasis upon the Accelerated Reader Program and not enough emphasis upon Language Arts (e.g., adjectives, adverbs, pronouns, etc.). However, I have purchased both tapes and books to insure that my child is competent in this area. The quality of education as well as teacher and administrator quality at Blount Elementary are considerably better than any local private school, which cost $500-$700 per month with little, if any, racial diversity among students, teachers, and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

I have two children attending Blount. It is one of the better public schools; however, they have no art program and music is taught in the cafeteria during lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male90%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty100%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty91%
Not poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty61%
Not poverty91%

Reading

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty83%
Not poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male92%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female100%
Male92%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 58%
Black 24% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 1%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1650 Ray Thorington Rd
Montgomery, AL 36117
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 244-0078

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Churchill Academy
Montgomery, AL





The Montessori School
Montgomery, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT