Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Moody Middle School

Public | 4-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

My son is finishing the 4th grade at MMS. I honestly could not be happier with the teachers, principal and hands on learning. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

I have read some of the comments about Moody Middle School and I'm actually shocked at the stupidity in the complaints. Music and art have to be integrated into the curriculum because there is no money for these programs. The money for these programs comes from revenue provided from property tax. With one of the lowest property taxes in the state, St. Clair County Schools have to prioritize. So until those who are complaining on this forum actually take responsibility and vote for a rise in property tax... they have no right to complain! - Not to mention that music IS provided outside of the regular classroom. Educate yourself before making a fool of yourself on a public forum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

Fourth grade offered no music class, no art class and no computer class (with no integration of these things into the classroom as promised). The school also had a parent with "special training" teaching the gifted program as there was no money in the budget for a certified teacher. Is this really the standard now?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My daughter has some mild special health needs and the school has not complied with our request even after sending doctors notes to school. Also they have never checked ID when we pick her up, anyone could just walk in and get her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

Being a graduate of Moody High School in the early 90's, I was very skeptical about the schools future. After having two children in the Moody School system since Kindergarden, I have had to think twice and think hard. Not only do they have a great staff, they have a great office staff, and wonderful teachers. When it comes to my kids, Mrs. Allred, Mrs. Taylor, Mrs. Kitts, and all of the other teachers, 'U Rock'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

We have just moved into this city and came from Trussville. I know that all schoold are different, but Trussville had so much more to offer than Moody, for example, having art and music class each week. This is something that both of my boys really enjoyed, it gave them a chance to escape and use their talents. I would really like to see this come in to play. But as far as the staff you could not ask for a more friendly and helpful. This is an area that well exceeds Trussville, especially with the office staff. They are more than willing to help in anyway they can, even assist children that need help with their work, even principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I love MMs. The teachers are very loving and caring to the students. My child has had several problems attending school over the past two year. The staff has worked with us to keep my child on track and on grade level. The teachers were always ready to work with me and meet with me as needed. This staff is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

I have a special needs child at moody middle and I have always had a great experience with all the resource teachers. They have been very helpful and always willing to talk to you and help do anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

My son attended Moody Middle School for the 6th grade. If you have a child with special needs, this is definitely not the school for you. They wrote my son an excellent IEP but unfortunately never followed it. Most of the teachers were ill-equipped for educating children with special needs. I was very disappointed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

Great school. This school truly has 'all' the students best interest in mind. Allows for parental involvement without parental control. I have had two children enrolled in this school and have had a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

This is a great school. Great teachers, great administration. This school allows for parent participation without parental 'control' of school. Both of my children have attended MMS and I am extremely pleased with the results. First Moody school were I felt the whole school had my child's welfare as a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

180 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

180 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

163 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

163 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female75%
Male82%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education38%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty83%

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education29%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty89%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education50%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male84%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education43%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female81%
Male80%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Special education38%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty74%
Non-poverty87%

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible90%
Special education48%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education48%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 58%
Black 10% 34%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1010 H L Blocker Circle
Moody, AL 35004
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 640-2190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Paine Primary School
Trussville, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT