Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mortimer Jordan High School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a teacher
Mortimer Jordan High School is rich in tradition and is surrounded by the supportive communities of Kimberly, Warrior, Morris, Trafford, & Mt. Olive. Students excel in academics, athletics, & the arts. It's a Great Day to be a Blue Devil!

Mortimer Jordan High School 5

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mortimer Jordan High School 0
no rating

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
Not sure- new to area. Child feels teachers are more towards students they know already.

Mortimer Jordan High School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at this school act like a student instead of a authority figure. The quality of the educatiion is also lacking

Mortimer Jordan High School 2

Posted July 21, 2008
- a student
MJHS has a great reputation for discipline, but the is lacking in many academic and extra curricular activities. You should be be able to go through high school taking every advanced academic class available, maintain a perfect GPA, graduate as valedictorian and still have to play catch up when you reach college. Unfortunately, that's what happened to me. A school that worries more about whether or not everyone has their shirt tail tucked in than the science curriculum has problems. On the positive side, the school has finally realized that girls might be interested in sports. When I was a student it was track or nothing for girls. I think that if parents and students continue to demand more, the school will respond. I can only hope that forward thinking people will lead the way.


Mortimer Jordan High School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
Mortimr Jordan High School is a great school. The kids here are the best ever. They try harder than any other school I have ever taught in. Thye do not make fun of each other, and they take care of each other. They have a lot of extracurricular activities and many of the students are very active. I hope these standards are kept when the new school is built.

Mortimer Jordan High School 1

Posted January 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mortimer Jordan High School 1

Posted November 11, 2007
- a former student
My high school experience at Mortimer Jordan was a good one, but I saw several things that just didn't seem right. The staff joined in with the students when they were making fun of others for hair, or clothes etc. I think teachers and staff that would join in instead of stop this behavior are not qualified to perform their jobs. I did have a good high school experience, and I loved the sense of tradition that was offered at the school. I especially enjoyed it when Mr. Trotter was there and didn't take any BS from anyone. More discipline is needed, and more consistancy. The parents and coaches seemed to be awesome, but the teachers seemed to act more like students at times. Overall Jordan was an Ok school to attend. They need to offer more sports, like soccer etc.


Mortimer Jordan High School 5

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mortimer Jordan High School 1

Posted August 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mortimer Jordan High School
8601 Old Hwy 31, Morris, AL  35116
(205) 379-4850
Last modified Mortimer Jordan High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mortimer Jordan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top