Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mortimer Jordan High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 02, 2016
- a community member
I am so grateful to Mr. Craig Kanady and the part that he has had in shaping my son to be the young man he is becoming.

Mortimer Jordan High School 4

Posted May 02, 2016
- a community member
I really Love this school. I do wish there was a little more communication between parents and teachers but for the most part I wouldn't change one single thing about the school.


Mortimer Jordan High School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter and I believe this school should be rated as a five star school.

Mortimer Jordan High School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a teacher
Mortimer Jordan High School is rich in tradition and is surrounded by the supportive communities of Kimberly, Warrior, Morris, Trafford, & Mt. Olive. Students excel in academics, athletics, & the arts. It's a Great Day to be a Blue Devil!

Mortimer Jordan High School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
Not sure- new to area. Child feels teachers are more towards students they know already.


Mortimer Jordan High School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at this school act like a student instead of a authority figure. The quality of the educatiion is also lacking

Mortimer Jordan High School 2

Posted July 21, 2008
- a student
MJHS has a great reputation for discipline, but the is lacking in many academic and extra curricular activities. You should be be able to go through high school taking every advanced academic class available, maintain a perfect GPA, graduate as valedictorian and still have to play catch up when you reach college. Unfortunately, that's what happened to me. A school that worries more about whether or not everyone has their shirt tail tucked in than the science curriculum has problems. On the positive side, the school has finally realized that girls might be interested in sports. When I was a student it was track or nothing for girls. I think that if parents and students continue to demand more, the school will respond. I can only hope that forward thinking people will lead the way.

Mortimer Jordan High School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
Mortimr Jordan High School is a great school. The kids here are the best ever. They try harder than any other school I have ever taught in. Thye do not make fun of each other, and they take care of each other. They have a lot of extracurricular activities and many of the students are very active. I hope these standards are kept when the new school is built.


Mortimer Jordan High School 1

Posted November 11, 2007
- a student
My high school experience at Mortimer Jordan was a good one, but I saw several things that just didn't seem right. The staff joined in with the students when they were making fun of others for hair, or clothes etc. I think teachers and staff that would join in instead of stop this behavior are not qualified to perform their jobs. I did have a good high school experience, and I loved the sense of tradition that was offered at the school. I especially enjoyed it when Mr. Trotter was there and didn't take any BS from anyone. More discipline is needed, and more consistancy. The parents and coaches seemed to be awesome, but the teachers seemed to act more like students at times. Overall Jordan was an Ok school to attend. They need to offer more sports, like soccer etc.

Mortimer Jordan High School 3

Posted February 15, 2006
- a teacher
My daughter is a junior this year. While overall I feel Jordan is a good school, I feel the faculty has no idea how to handle difficult or problem students & parents. The result is they ignore them and hope they go away. That being said, they keep their thumb very tightly on good kids who are well behaved, but neverless, 'kids.' This causes the kids to lose interest in extracurricular activities by the time they're my daughter's age because it's just not worth the hassel the faculty makes something that is suppose to be fun. Their mindset by the time they're Juniors is just doing there time so they can get out of there.

Nearby schools

Mortimer Jordan High School
8601 Old Hwy 31, Morris, AL  35116
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (205) 379-4850
Last modified Mortimer Jordan High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top