Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Munford High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

Most of the ratings I have read were dated back to 2009. As a substitute and previous employee of MHS I would like to let everyone know that a lot of things have changed...Although the "small town mentality" is still in play at times, things are done differently. I believe this school is on the right track to help educate these students fully and to help the students become the best people they can be! This is coming from someone who was NOT supported as a sub or an aide by some administration and teachers. Now, I am fully supported in the decisions I make in the classroom! I have just graduated in education and honestly, this is the only school I want to work in right now!


Posted November 9, 2010

A pretty school but small town mentality, tolerates gossiping, bullying and incompetent teaching. The tenured faculty are the worst culprits. No resolutions ever obtained for growing problems in the school.


Posted September 5, 2009

I really don't know how anyone could bash this school like some have. This is one of the greatest high schools in the area. The faculty actually cares about the students and it's a very 'homey' atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

My child just started Munford High School during the 2008-2009 school year. The principal and teachers have addressed all questions or concerns that I may have had to my satisfaction. I'm a very involved parent whether it involves my child's academics or extra curricular activities. I really like the smaller atmosphere in a school also. You don't seem to have 'the politics' as big schools do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

I too think that Munford could be a wonderful school, however I personally think it will take new leadership from an administrative standpoint to revive the excitement that is so sorely lacking within not only the student body but also the faculty. The Principal is seldom at the school but thank God there is a wonderful Asst Principal that can and will handle your problems! I hear that she is in line. Thank God!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I am very proud that my children attend munford high school the staff has has always been concered aboout my children from the middle school to the high school.Thanks to all the staff that put in the extra hours in so my kids can have a future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My children have had a wonderful experience in the Munford Schools. The atmosphere when you walk through the halls of the middle school and high school say it all. The teachers know the students on a personal level and are always willing to help with academic or social problems. Are their problems? Of course...It is a public school with public school funding problems and public school social issues. Does every single teacher meet the needs of every single child? No...but the majority of the teachers are working hard to achieve that unreachable goal. As parents we have to take responsibility for our children where one teacher has not been able to reach them. I have had very positive experiences with administration any time I have had a question about anything. I am an educated parent and I CHOOSE to send my children to Munford over any surrounding school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

MHS could be a great school. We have some really good teachers that geniunely love their students. However, we also have some teachers that are there only to coach (or whatever) These teachers don't even speak to other faculty members, how you can expect them to 'teach' your child when they think they are so much better than everyone else. The principal is full of great ideas, but never follows through on them. There is no fun anymore. Teachers are denied anything that resembles having fun. It could be great, but as is, it is only mediocre.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2007

The school system lacks in all areas. The principle is very irresponsive to problems at hand. Parent involvment is low because thhe principle won't let parents in. We need leadership, structure, and good educaters in our school to help us succeed. We do not have that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2007

I believe that munford has what it takes to be a top educating facility, but first things have got to change.First you have to stop fireing all the good teachers because they dont follow the curriculam the priciple sets out for them teachers teach best when they are allowed to be creative with teaching.Second my child constantly comes home telling me that she is being discreminated against because she is white in the one paticular class and i do believe her because she has straight a's except that class.Third munford is one of the poorer communities but north munford area is not,everyone wants to live off the wealthy but you should not wait on that just because you are poor dont mean you cant contribute something to your community, that is how oxford is one of the top schools in alabama and is the top in this area,quit being lazy parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

It is an ok school, but its not the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2005

I disagree with the statement that kids can't participate in activities if they are poor. That is a cop-out. My child is in the band and I am one of the few and proud that paid the needed dues. You would never be turned down for not paying your dues. Don't blame the school for a problem child; take a good look at home first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

I want to be involved in my son's education and Munford needs a real music class not band class a cool fun music class. Let the students start their own music class with guide lines of course but give these children more say in their own education, they are punished if they ever express their selves which is wrong we do not need a school full of uniformed zoombies, treat them with respect and as young adults and I bet trouble children will behave better if only they are allowed the chance to voice their sides and give them classes so they will stop being so bored, that was my problem with my oldest he would never be challenged because of the fact his parents are poor and could not afford the cool kids actitives, give our poor kids the same classes and you maybe surprised.MUSIC IS A NEED..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

I am impressed with the change in the student attitude with the installation of the new principal. I am not impressed with any teacher who claims to teach, but has more students fail the class than pass it. I am not impressed with a system who continues to keep such a teacher when the record clearly shows poor performance. I also think that the denigration of the students who wish to clarify instruction is in poor taste.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 16, 2004

This is not a good school if your student is inclined. There are no challenges and I think that there is a problem with teacher control here. If you run into problems, there might not be alot of support, but overall, from me, this school gets a 2.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
90%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students74%
Female85%
Male67%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant74%
Poverty69%
Not poverty83%

Math

All Students95%
Female93%
Male96%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Poverty95%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students84%
Female90%
Male80%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant84%
Poverty78%
Not poverty94%

Social Studies

All Students67%
Female60%
Male72%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White72%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant67%
Poverty54%
Not poverty89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education86%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant98%
Poverty97%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education43%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%
Poverty80%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students95%
Female92%
Male98%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education71%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Poverty93%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education57%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant93%
Poverty90%
Not poverty100%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female71%
Male87%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible78%
Special education50%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%
Poverty73%
Not poverty0%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 58%
Black 28% 34%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Cedars Rd
Munford, AL 36268
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 315-5220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calhoun Co Alt School
Eastaboga, AL





Helen Keller School
Talladega, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT