Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9
Public
Muscle Shoals, AL
Students enrolled: 692

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Muscle Shoals Middle School 4

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
Would like to see a more recent review of this school. Please include what the social atmosphere is like for the diverse student body. Thank you. --prospective parent

Muscle Shoals Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
I am extremely happy with the school. My child due to a recent illness needed special care while at school. The school has been extremely helpful. We relocated here & previously attended private school. This school is superior to the private school. My child is in advanced/honor classes. This is an excellent school.


Muscle Shoals Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2008
- a parent
This school is an amazing school. It's great in academics and athletics. Muscle Shoals Middle is on it's way up to the top with everything. Our academics and athletics have are at their highest right now.

Muscle Shoals Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Muscle Shoals Middle School 5

Posted November 03, 2006
- a student
I have participated in every academic team available, and have thoroughly enjoyed every single one. MSMS is known for its exceptional teachers and administrators that provide a quality education throughout the middle years. Its academic teams and advanced course offerings have provided me with an ample amount of opportunities to succeed!


Muscle Shoals Middle School 3

Posted August 05, 2005
- a parent
The school and the entire system are on a steady decline and have been for the last few years. Math is stressed to exclusivity, while ALL other subjects are relegated to less than secondary status. Fewer than 1% of people actually use calculus/advanced math forms ever in their entire lives. Many college bound seniors from this system know that, depending upon major course of study, they can get by with ONE math course in college, but ALL universities require FOUR English classes and still more of the social sciences. The students appear to be getting cheated out of the ability to communicate effectively and develop critical thinking skills that will affect everything they do. Administration is more concerned with their math score rankings than with the broad education of students. Board of Ed. is detached and unaware of what's transpiring. But for awhile at least, it's still best in area.

Muscle Shoals Middle School 5

Posted December 18, 2004
- a former student
i think it is the best school my son has ever went to in his life he is learning more now alot of people are nice at time but we need moor safty rules and more time to get to class.

Muscle Shoals Middle School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
This is a very good school, my son has been going there for 3 years, there are some minor problems, but, its probably due to the fact that teacher student ratio, need more teachers per students. But over all good school, also if you don't wear the right clothes the kids will harass you, they do have a fulltime police officer on duty but, kids are still taking knives to school and talking about guns. It is not a violent school atmosphere, but policing the school should be more frequent. I think were taking the school safety issue for granted hoping nothing gets out of control, instead of using preventive measures before anything bad happens.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Muscle Shoals Middle School
100 Trojan Dr, Muscle Shoals, AL  35661
(256) 389-2640
Last modified Muscle Shoals Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Muscle Shoals Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top