Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public district
Newton, AL
Students enrolled: 972
Before care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Wicksburg is an excellent school! Our mission statement, Striving for Excellence, guides our footsteps as we dedicate each day to maintaining an environment that is conducive to learning.
December 21, 2010

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


Wicksburg High School 5

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
Wicksburg Elementary and High School Very personal and academically driven. The teachers care about the success of each student and the administration would go to any length to protect and guide their students as they would their own children. It is not an over-crowded school like those in Enterprise or Dothan so teachers are able to give students the attention they need. Recommended for anyone who wants their children to excel in life!

Wicksburg High School 4

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
Wicksburg is a great school. Some will not like it because it is small and more personal. Others will love it for that. There are the typical folks who want to be the "big fish" in the little pond, but they are at every school. There are some teachers (not many) that you would not want your kids to suffer through and there are the ones that you would fight for your kids to be taught by. In a small school, everyone knows which is which. No school is perfect, including this one. The kids that attend here have been taught right from wrong, they believe in God, and know that anything they do will get back to their parents because of the nature of a small school. Nepotism is an issue and needs to be looked at closely. The school staff loves "their" kids (all of them). If you are not used to hearing your name prefaced by Sir or Maam, you should try this school. It is refreshing to be around respectful kids. This school still retains some of the moral values we in the South were raised with. There are problems everywhere in schools, but at least when there is a problem in Wicksburg, it gets addressed and fixed.


Wicksburg High School 1

Posted May 19, 2012
- a parent
Well, the end of the school year is near and once again, we see great test results despite failing leadership. Nine school days remain but all the teaching is done. So why spend the money? This year we've had one teacher and her aide (hired through nepotism) have been fired, another teacher was/is under investigation after administering corporal punishment too hard. Parents are not welcome at all - except at 3PM. The elementary principal will not even blink without permission from the HS principal. The HS principal is over her head but considering the talent at the board, she's on par. The baseball team had a great year.

Wicksburg High School 2

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
Small town USA. If you've lived here all your life, you are white, you play football and the "principal" likes you then this is the school for you. The school board pats us on the head and sends the money to Rehobeth. Bullying is not tolerated unless it is done by a teacher, teacher's kid, or a popular kid. Buildings need to be torn down and a new school built. Bathrooms stink. Poor man's country club/ private school = few minorities.

Wicksburg High School 1

Posted August 13, 2011
- a parent
WHS is a small school with small-minded staff, with only the occasional helpful and interested teacher. The front office staff rely too heavily on student help in the main office, and the students are nearly as clueless as the front office staff. The gross disorganization and severe lack of communication are enough to turn any parent or student away. Sports are too over-emphasized and academics take a back burner to football. Bullying is said to not be tolerated, but we have found otherwise, on far too many occasions. We will be relocating as quickly as possible. Overall, a VERY poor choice in schools. Highly NOT recommended.


Wicksburg High School 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
Wicksburg is a wonderful school. So far I have 3 children there and one more who will be there in a couple of years. I have a son with a learning disabilty but is also gifted. We were at another school in the beginning and his teachers has decided that he just wasn't good enough and something was very wrong with him. That was a city school, then we shopped for a private school and quickly saw that they were all designed for average cookie cutter kids. So we chose to move into WHS school zone and every teacher my kids have ever had have gone above and beyond. I have also attend many trips and other events and have never seen more parental involvement in a day when such a thing is obsolete. The only schools I can think of with more family members driving their own car 3+ hours for a fieldtrip is a private school that required the parents to attend field trips. The small school, the access to faculty, the true love for these kids and their families, the true love for the school and community is hard to beat at any school in this area. Nothing can be entirely perfect but WHS is close in my family's book and I have no desire for my kids to ever leave WHS:)!!!!!

Wicksburg High School 5

Posted February 11, 2011
- a community member
After having taught in several schools during my teaching career (now retired), Wicksburg High School is my choice for excellence in teachers and staff. My grandchildren attend here now and everytime I "drop off and pick up" at school, I am reminded of the mission of this school "Sharing the Vision; Shaping the Future".

Wicksburg High School
no rating

Posted December 21, 2010
- a school leader
Wicksburg is an excellent school! Our mission statement, Striving for Excellence, guides our footsteps as we dedicate each day to maintaining an environment that is conducive to learning.


Wicksburg High School 5

Posted October 05, 2010
- a parent
My child has been moved around quite a bit and WHS is an excellent school. The teachers do care and academics are great. The marching band will rock your socks.

Wicksburg High School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
I love Wicksburg High School because it is small school and I feel our children get a better education in smaller schools because our classes are small and teachers have the ablitiy to get to ever student and their needs. This school is loved the most because of the parent involvment. A good reason why we should recieve the $20,000 is because we are not a title 1 school and we have to raise money for everything we need. We could use this money to upgrade our books, computers, general supplies. We need all the help we can get to make it an even better school for our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wicksburg High School
1172 South State Hwy 123, Newton, AL  36352
(334) 692-5549
Last modified Wicksburg High School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wicksburg High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top