Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northside High School

Public | 9-12 | 430 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2012

I am a former student of Northside High School, I graduated with a 3.6 GPA. At the time i thought that was pretty good, untill I got to college. I found out my 3.6 GPA would probably been about a 1.5 at any other school. Northside did absolutly NOTHING to prepare me for college. If you just moved to the Samantha area and are thinking of enrolling your kids here, for their future DON'T. Talking with other people now that went to other high schools I see how much I missed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2012

As a parent of two children that have had the experience and pleasure of attending Northside High School, I have to say it is one of the best kept secrets in Tuscaloosa. The staff and leadership of the school are outstanding. They take time to know each child by name and provide support in and out of the school. My oldest child is now in college,and it is not uncommon for her to visit NHS and get help from her high school teachers on areas that she may need clarification in. How many schools can say they have that type of resources? We go to an event and the Principal and staff ask about her on a first name basis and have a true concern for her and my 11th grader there. It has been a blessing beyond all measure! We choose this community as our children reached school age and we are so fortunate that God lead us in this direction. Excellent leadership, great teachers and a community that may not all agree at times, but stands by one another in a time of need!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

Northside is lacking when it comes to extracurricular activities but we have a very small student population. If there were more interest in other extracurricular activities there is no doubt in my mind that the outstanding faculty at Northside would do anything in there power to get us what we wanted! Northside is a small school so it does have it's down side but the pros outweigh the cons by a ton! With the exception of the Special Education Teachers, and Football and Baseball coaches there are twenty-two teachers at Northside! I can speak for all but four. So by personal experience alone I can tell you about eighteen of the outstanding, caring, and well involved teachers at Northside! People move across the county to have there children go to Northside! If I could recommend any school in Tuscaloosa County, including private schools, I would more than happily recommend Northide High!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2006

I LOVE going to Northside! I would never want to go to any other high school. Mr. Patrick and Coach Beasley are great and our entire staff is awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2005

I had the opportunity to do my teaching internship at Northside High School. It truly is a great school. The kids are caring and very intellegent, the faculty and staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere is welcoming and sincere. If I had children, they would definitely go to Northside. ~ Mrs. Dodd
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2005

Northside High School is a great school to go to, i would never send my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2005

As a graduate of Northside, I must say it is a fantastic school. It's small enough that the teachers know you well and it's easy to make friends. I would never have chosen to go anywhere else in Tuscaloosa County!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

ART is non at a level for the students to understand, teacher is indifferent. Parents are not actively sought to be involved, did not ever recieve a PTO announcement or asked to be involved unless there is a serious problem, I think the school is full of poor supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

northside is a great school. as a new student, i felt as if fitting in would be hard. but the staff and students made me feel as if i belong. Especially Mr. Patrick, and Coach L. Green
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

Northside High School is in my opinion the top school in Tuscaloosa County. My children for the most part have done well and enjoy attending Northside. The staff there really cares about the students and provide a great learning environment. My children would not choose to attend any other institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

78 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

71 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education85%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty95%

Language

All Students78%
Female85%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White78%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education38%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty70%
Non-poverty83%

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education54%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education38%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty70%
Non-poverty86%

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female70%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education46%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Poverty64%
Non-poverty83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty100%

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty91%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 58%
Black 4% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19230 Northside Parkway
Northport, AL 35475
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 342-2755

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Northridge High School
Tuscaloosa, AL


Tuscaloosa Academy
Tuscaloosa, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT