Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ohatchee Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

OES is a great school with a lot of great teachers. The kids here are very nice and respectful. Having been in three different schools in our 5 years of school this one is by far the best. One big issue I have is no open house this entire year and the PTA is like a secret society we never know when they meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

THe great scores are for the former principal. There is a new principal and it has changed beware. They do not want parents involved we have been in school for a year and we have not seen one notice on the PTA or when they meet. There are destinctive click and they run the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Reading all the reviews about OES on this site is VERY misleading! But after taking a second look I now know why...they are OLD REVIEWS! The school is not at all like the claims made below. All but about 3 of the teachers are rude and don't even bother to say hello to you. I was so happy thinking my daughter starting school in this smaller country school would be lovely for her but instead it is a huge dissapointment for our family. The staff acts as if they are fearful of the principal and walk around like robots with no emotion. I am looking into home schooling until we can move to a better school district with teachers who wanted that degree instead of went for the one easiest to obtain! Shame on you all at OES
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

We recently moved to this school district and have had nothing but problems. From bullying to failing grades. Our kids 10 and 8 were a and b honor roll children before. Some teacher avoid you. The school is closed so you cant go in and observe your children in the classroom. We have a conference with the principle and a teacher today. If something dosent give I am seriously considering homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

I absolutley love OES! I have a kindergartener and a fourth grader this year and they love everything there is about their school. I love the fact that Mrs. Winn not only knows each child by name but she has never shown favortism to any one child. All of the kids there are treated the same...great. I wouldnt want my kids going any where else...Traci Henderson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

I love this school.There are great teachers here that truely care about our children learning all they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

where do i start...OES is hands down the best all around school. i have 4 children. 2 attending now, 1 that moved to high school this year & 1 that will start next year. Mrs.Winn & all the faculty & staff are dedicated to each child individually as if they were there own. they far exceed all expectations. i am truly in awe of the everyone involved at OES. my kids have the opportunity of their lives attending this school that is dedicated to academics, honesty, pride & self-worth. every child is valued as an individual & not just as a whole. no one falls through cracks & truly NO CHILD IS LEFT BEHIND! just because you graduate OES, they're not done with you. they will continue to help you grow to your full potential throughout the years. at OES...the sky is the limit!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

My daughter is in K-5 this year. My opinion of the public school system, especially at Ohatchee, was not good before my daughter started. After being involved this year there is no where else I would send my children. Mrs. Winn and staff are of the highest quality. They insist on parent involvement which is great for our kids motivation. They also insist the kids do their best but have fun. Safety is another factor that seriously impressed me. They go out of their way to make your child safe in any situation. I love OES and look forward to the many years to come. Roll tribe roll!!! Sherrie Bryant
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

Ohatchee Elementary is the best!! I have two children enrolled at OES, one in K-5 and one in 5th grade. Both of my children have excelled in academics. I attribute this to Mrs. Winn and the staff of OES for all of their support, caring and devotion to their students. Mrs. Winn is the best principal because she strives to see that each student is a 'star polisher' and not only reaches goals as a child but also she encourages each student to plan for their future. 'Roll Tribe Roll' Wendy Roberts
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

I am a graduate of Ohatchee High School;therefore, there is nothing better. It doesn't seem to amaze me the dedication, patience, and love that Mrs. Winn and her staff show to their students. My daughter started the fifth grade this year and has attended Ohatchee since kindergarten. She never wants to miss one day of school and lives for summer vacation to end. This shows the attention and quality of education that she recieves at OES. The community thanks God for Mrs. Winn and her staff. Mrs. Winn goes above and beyond to make all parents apart of her school and thier children's education. There is not an activity planned that parents, grandparents, and other family members are not apart of, and this is due to the open door that Mrs. Winn and her staff provides to the community. I am proud to be apart of the OES family. Roll Tribe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

I have two children going to this school and one more starting this year 2005. My children love to go to school every day and this makes me know that they enjoy the teachers and the other classmates as well. The teachers are very attentive to the needs of each child and always willing to go the extra lenght they can to help in any way they can. My girls are learning at a fast pace ,but they are not over welmed with to much at a time. The facility is always nice and helpful and the school has great activitys for the kids for learning, this school is a great school and i am proud that my girls are here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

We love OES! Great school/staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

I am so proud to say that my children go to Ohatchee. My youngest daughter is in first grade and has Mrs Jinks for her teacher. We have the best teachers and Principal that anyone could ask for! They really care about their students and will go that extra mile to make each of them feel special. They are called 'star polishers' and rightly so because our 'little stars' shine brighter because of their commitment to help each child be all they can be. Thank you Mrs Winn and teachers for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

My son is currently in the first grade. We moved here a year ago and I'm thankful that we chose Ohatchee for our children to receive their education. Mrs. Winn is the most caring principal I've ever had the pleasure to meet. She has a genuine concern for each and every child and expects the same from each of the teachers in the school. Ohatchee is just the kind of school your proud to say you sent your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

I have a child going into first grade and she loves Ohatchee as well as we do. Mrs. Winn is a wonderful principal because she loves what she does and she loves each and every child at Ohatchee Elementary. My daughter thinks the wolrld of her and the teachers there. I wish there were more schools like Ohatchee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2004

There has been a tremendous change at OES for the better. For example, the addition of the Playstations and educational games will reach a variety of students in a new way. The atmosphere and motivation at OES is incredible. As a Ohatchee alumni and parent of an Ohatchee student, it is great to see the 'Indian Pride' developing a meaning for the younger generations. The children are being taught not only dictionary meaning of pride, honesty, and achievement. They are also being shown these things daily by the faculty and staff at OES. Mrs. Winn has done an incredible job of providing more opportunities for the students even though this is a small school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Ohatchee Elementary School is excellent! Karen Winn is an outstanding principal and her hiring skills have produced an outstanding faculty. The school has a loving, compassionate, organized atmosphere that automatically makes children eager to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We love it at Ohatchee Elementary. Why? Our principal Mrs. K. Winn is the best. She has a true guiding educational mission combined with an element of leadership spirit that is hard to find these days. The teachers are the best that can be found and they not only teach but they care about all of the students. And, the staff that help run the school take pride in their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty95%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students96%
Female94%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty95%
Not poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty93%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty95%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female4%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty98%
Not poverty0%

Reading

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty95%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty83%
Not poverty79%

Reading

All Students93%
Female98%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty94%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students91%
Female100%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty88%
Not poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 58%
Black 5% 34%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Natasha L Scott
Fax number
  • (256) 892-2040

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

365 J St
Ohatchee, AL 36271
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 741-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT