Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Ohatchee, AL
Students enrolled: 561
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ohatchee Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
OES is a great school with a lot of great teachers. The kids here are very nice and respectful. Having been in three different schools in our 5 years of school this one is by far the best. One big issue I have is no open house this entire year and the PTA is like a secret society we never know when they meet.

Ohatchee Elementary School 3

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
THe great scores are for the former principal. There is a new principal and it has changed beware. They do not want parents involved we have been in school for a year and we have not seen one notice on the PTA or when they meet. There are destinctive click and they run the place.


Ohatchee Elementary School 1

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
Reading all the reviews about OES on this site is VERY misleading! But after taking a second look I now know why...they are OLD REVIEWS! The school is not at all like the claims made below. All but about 3 of the teachers are rude and don't even bother to say hello to you. I was so happy thinking my daughter starting school in this smaller country school would be lovely for her but instead it is a huge dissapointment for our family. The staff acts as if they are fearful of the principal and walk around like robots with no emotion. I am looking into home schooling until we can move to a better school district with teachers who wanted that degree instead of went for the one easiest to obtain! Shame on you all at OES

Ohatchee Elementary School 1

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
We recently moved to this school district and have had nothing but problems. From bullying to failing grades. Our kids 10 and 8 were a and b honor roll children before. Some teacher avoid you. The school is closed so you cant go in and observe your children in the classroom. We have a conference with the principle and a teacher today. If something dosent give I am seriously considering homeschooling.

Ohatchee Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
I absolutley love OES! I have a kindergartener and a fourth grader this year and they love everything there is about their school. I love the fact that Mrs. Winn not only knows each child by name but she has never shown favortism to any one child. All of the kids there are treated the same...great. I wouldnt want my kids going any where else...Traci Henderson


Ohatchee Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 05, 2007
- a parent
I love this school.There are great teachers here that truely care about our children learning all they can.

Ohatchee Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
where do i start...OES is hands down the best all around school. i have 4 children. 2 attending now, 1 that moved to high school this year & 1 that will start next year. Mrs.Winn & all the faculty & staff are dedicated to each child individually as if they were there own. they far exceed all expectations. i am truly in awe of the everyone involved at OES. my kids have the opportunity of their lives attending this school that is dedicated to academics, honesty, pride & self-worth. every child is valued as an individual & not just as a whole. no one falls through cracks & truly NO CHILD IS LEFT BEHIND! just because you graduate OES, they're not done with you. they will continue to help you grow to your full potential throughout the years. at OES...the sky is the limit!!!

Ohatchee Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is in K-5 this year. My opinion of the public school system, especially at Ohatchee, was not good before my daughter started. After being involved this year there is no where else I would send my children. Mrs. Winn and staff are of the highest quality. They insist on parent involvement which is great for our kids motivation. They also insist the kids do their best but have fun. Safety is another factor that seriously impressed me. They go out of their way to make your child safe in any situation. I love OES and look forward to the many years to come. Roll tribe roll!!! Sherrie Bryant


Ohatchee Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2006
- a parent
Ohatchee Elementary is the best!! I have two children enrolled at OES, one in K-5 and one in 5th grade. Both of my children have excelled in academics. I attribute this to Mrs. Winn and the staff of OES for all of their support, caring and devotion to their students. Mrs. Winn is the best principal because she strives to see that each student is a 'star polisher' and not only reaches goals as a child but also she encourages each student to plan for their future. 'Roll Tribe Roll' Wendy Roberts

Ohatchee Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2005
- a parent
I am a graduate of Ohatchee High School;therefore, there is nothing better. It doesn't seem to amaze me the dedication, patience, and love that Mrs. Winn and her staff show to their students. My daughter started the fifth grade this year and has attended Ohatchee since kindergarten. She never wants to miss one day of school and lives for summer vacation to end. This shows the attention and quality of education that she recieves at OES. The community thanks God for Mrs. Winn and her staff. Mrs. Winn goes above and beyond to make all parents apart of her school and thier children's education. There is not an activity planned that parents, grandparents, and other family members are not apart of, and this is due to the open door that Mrs. Winn and her staff provides to the community. I am proud to be apart of the OES family. Roll Tribe

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ohatchee Elementary School
365 J St, Ohatchee, AL  36271
(256) 741-4800
Last modified Ohatchee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ohatchee Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top