Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oneonta High School

Public | 7-12 | 672 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

I think there is the issue of "who knows who" but that is everywhere. Overall I think we have very good teachers. I think that academically the school is above average. We are not from this area but chose this area to move over other areas in Blount county for the school only. Have not regretted the move. My child started kindergarten here and will graduate here. Very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

This is a great school. I have heard the rumors about "having the correct last name", etc...I completely disagree. I have one in high school at OHS and one that graduated in 2012 . They have a hispanic last name, we don't own businesses in the community, we aren't rich or "faking" anything...and they love this school! My daughter graduated with Honors and is doing very well in college. This school is excellent and the teachers are very involved and caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

If you have the correct last name, good at faking it, its the school for you! You have to be really good at it though, so think hard before sending your children there! Elementary Principal needs to be fired! And assistant high school principal needs to go also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

Great school, Great teachers, Great town. This is where my child will get her education!!! Go Redskins!!!


Posted December 6, 2010

I attended OHS from 2006-2009. Although this school is not as diverse as other schools I have attended, OHS can keep it own. Depending on the instructors a student has, the quality of education is among the best in the State. The better teachers at the School include: Mr. Moss, Mr. KIlgore, Coach Camp, Coach Wester, Mrs. Reynolds, Mr. Allen, Ms. Dodd, Mrs. Dawkins. I recommend this institution to any parent looking to benefit their child's education. P.S. OHS has some of the better sport teams among the state. The football team is regularly challenging for a state football title. When I attended, the tennis team went to the finals twice, and the baseball team twice reached the state finals.


Posted October 2, 2010

i love oneonta it is a good school i have awesome friends and awesome teachers who do teach us stuff i met my boyfrind the and i really fit in i would not chang any thing to leave and the football program is good


Posted March 10, 2010

i'm a student at oneonta, and i must say that i hate this school more than anything. everyone is rude and stuck up, we never learn anything, people care too much about good test scores when they don't teach us enough to make good scores, our sports programs are terrible, they don't give any teams any money besides football, every teacher i've had has been mean, the food is terrible, and the school is too small for all the students they accept to attend. i hate waking up to go to this school every morning, and i'm dying to get out of here. i come home crying and begging to move. overall, oneonta is a terrible school. i reccomend it to no one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2010

I enjoyed attending this school, but looking back, I notice that the quality of my education was quite poor. Principal Keith Bendor is a poor role model and puts forth very little initiative.


Posted October 2, 2009

Great school! Has great teachers and students and a great football program!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2004

Good teachers and good disablin good staff also.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female81%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Poverty61%
Not poverty91%

Reading

All Students94%
Female100%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty89%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female85%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty74%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty83%
Not poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Poverty64%
Not poverty85%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty78%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty83%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty85%
Not poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty76%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty97%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students0%
Female0%
Male0%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant0%
Poverty90%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty97%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty94%
Not poverty100%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty87%
Not poverty0%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 58%
Hispanic 18% 5%
Black 6% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Keith Bender
Fax number
  • (205) 625-5015

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27605 State Hwy 75
Oneonta, AL 35121
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 625-3801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Allgood Alt School
Oneonta, AL


Locust Fork High School
Locust Fork, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT