Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Opelika High School

Public | 7-12 | 1268 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

Opelika is an incredible place for kids to learn and grow. The programs they offer the students are first class. Their Fine Arts, Athletics, and Career Tech programs add to the overall experience the kids get from great teachers in the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

My school is a great school to attend. Opelika has definitely prepared me for my college career. I am a graduate of the 2012 class. The arts and athletic programs at the school are truly remarkable. The teachers definitely care for the students and provide a great learning environment for all students. Anyone can excel at Opelika because the faculty and staff are very supportive. My graduating class received over 4.1 million in scholarships. We could not have done it without Opelika nurturing us during our time there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

Opelika HS is a great school. The faculty and staff do a remarkable job every day with students. They are very effective and caring about the students and programs there. It is one of the 'better' schools i the state and region.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

The school itself has many leaks and broken walls. Many of the teachers are very 'set in their ways' so non conventional students and parents have some issues. T lot of the teachers are very good at teaching and do everything in their power to help students. The school does have a great football program, as well as band, choir groups, and theater. All in all the school is a good school but it does have problems
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

Opelika High School is a great school, but there are some down sides. It has great theater, band, and football program, and great classes; however, the need for repair is great and 'proration' isn't exactly helping in that area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

I was raised in Opelika City Schools along with my 6 siblings. My four children were educated in Opelika City Schools. I also teach in OCS. There is no better place for those who value a good education. Opelika always goes far beyond what is required to give our kids a first class education. I am proud to say we strongly believe in Opelika City Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

I have lived in Opelika for six years now. Before coming to Opelika my children attended a school system that was not supported by the city government nor was it supported by the people of the city. 'Opelikians' stand firmly behind its schools. Financially, the city makes a large annual apporpriation. The city also supports the schools' by providing assistance from it many departments - ladder trucks from the fire department to help with the annual egg drop competition by the OHS physics classes, the police and fire investigators assist with the Forensic Science classes, the police teach DARE to all elementary students, etc. The school offers a variety of electives including visual and performing arts, career technical courses, and 3 foreign languages up through level 5. Academically, OHS offers Advanced Placement (AP) courses in each of the core areas. Honors level courses are also offered. Dual enrollment is available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

Opelika High School has a great variety of activities to allow students of all talents and abilities to participate. There are opportunities for high achievers to excel, and opportunities for those who need help to receive it. I am very pleased with the education my children are receiving at Opelika High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

Opelika is the greatest school that i have ever attended. i have gone to beaurgard and a private school and I would definatley choose Opelika over any of them. We have so many things to choose from that any person from any different background can be apart of! Its a wonderful school to be a part of!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2006

I attend opelika high school and i think its a great school.it has a lot of fun activites for the students to do. for example im in band. band is awesome. it gives you a chance to go places instead of sitting at home doing nothing.and this year we are going to washington dc.and opelika high is a great schoolto attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2006

Opelika High School is not a great school at all. There are some good extracurricular activities, but the only ones that get any real notification is the football team and bad. Our track team has won the state championship numerous times in the past years and they have not done anything to support it. Basically, all of the school's money goes to the football team. There are some good classes at OHS, but some of the teachers can be quite petulant. There are some great things at OHS, but the best things barely get noticed at all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2006

I attend Opelika High School and I am in the Band. I find this school a great school for extracurriculars, and the courses are challenging. The school is a great school for anyone and everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2005

I am a current student of Opelika High. I am in the Symphonic, Marching, and Jazz bands, all 3 are excellent programs. I also play for the Impressions and Ovations showchoirs which are wonderful as well. We have access to one of the best theaters in the region and I plan on using my tech experience there to provide me the knowledge for a job after high school. There's something for everyone here. -Lance Dennis
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2004

Good school for talented kids, great music program, highly regarded bands. However, the special ed program in this school and district-wide leaves much to be desired -- don't expect inclusion or strict compliance to IDEA, aides or other support that affects the budget. Children with moderate cognitive problems are essentially warehoused in a segregated and isolated room from age 10 to 21. In most ways, this really is a good school and a good district, but the unwillingness to improve their services for children with disabilities is upsetting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2004

I am a cuurent student at Opelika High School and my school is a very wonderful school. It offers many great oppurtunity's. There is something for everyone at Opelika.I am a dancer in the Spirit of the south band and I can't think of any other school I would want to attend. The band program is excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2004

Such a great school. Teachers are wonderful and very helpful. Many sports and clubs for the kids to get involved in. There is an equal opportunity for all that attend OHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2003

I just graduated from Opelika High in 2003. I just stared college, and I am delighted to see that my Opelika High education is paying off. I feel like I really received a great education at Opelika. Opelika offered challenging classes so that I could excell.


Posted June 18, 2003

My daughter loves the school. They offer great opportunites for talented children. She has a 4.5 GPA and that says alot!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students95%
Female93%
Male97%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education68%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Poverty92%
Not poverty99%

Language

All Students76%
Female83%
Male68%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special education18%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant76%
Poverty69%
Not poverty83%

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male91%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education45%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%
Poverty86%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students80%
Female82%
Male77%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education36%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%
Poverty72%
Not poverty88%

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female66%
Male75%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Special education32%
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant71%
Poverty59%
Not poverty83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education64%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant98%
Poverty96%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education29%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%
Poverty86%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education43%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Poverty94%
Not poverty98%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education29%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Poverty94%
Not poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education29%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant84%
Poverty76%
Not poverty0%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 34%
White 32% 58%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Lafayette Parkway
Opelika, AL 36801
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 745-9715

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT