Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beauregard Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

Great school, great teachers, and great staff. This school is one of the only elementary schools that still has a music program! Many teachers have been there to see different generations come through which is special because if you went to school there its a great feeling to be able to know the teachers that you are sending your children to as well.


Posted July 30, 2014

Love this school. Amazing in so many ways. Teacher always go above anf beyond. As a volunteer I enjoy my time getting to know the teachers on a friendship level. Everyone always seems to be in a great mood and work well together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2014

I grew up in Opelika city limits. I can tell that Beauregard is far more advanced in elementary education. My children enjoy their teachers and all other staff. I believe that speaks highly of the school and Lee county school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

Great school! Nice caring teachers and amazing staff. This is my daughters 4th year there and I cannot say enough positives about our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

Wonderful teachers! Both my children learned so much here!! Excited about the new principle!! Last one was anything but fair!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

We love Beauregard Elementary!! The teachers are awesome! We always enjoy visiting our child during lunches, awards days, and choir programs because everyone is so welcoming. If only we could keep her there...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

This school is amazing, the teacher are great. They are very loving and caring, the Children have a great learning environment. The go the extra mile to teach!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

I'm a very proud parent of children who attend Beauregard elementary. The teachers create a loving and creative learning environment. We couldn't ask for a better learning environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

We love Beauregard Elementary School. It feels like a family environment when we come to visit our children. We especially enjoy the musicals that Mrs. Redden performs with the children. Wish our kids could stay forever. Looking forward to our new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

I have had kids in this school before and it is ashame a child cannot go to school without being single out by a teacher .They should know better . they are our future they need to be professional .help these kids ,dont hurt them by the way you act.


Posted May 15, 2012

Parents are kept at a distant.His teacher is great.But, the parents are not to come to field day unless they are one of the few allowed to volunteer.They can not walk with their child into the school after the 5th day.They eat lunch at 10:45am. However,they are not allowed a snack accept on Friday.(not even a bottle of water)This is not the rules for all Lee county schools .Because it is a title one school you can choose a different school in the same district.Parents are not a burden they are a blessing.Too bad this school doesn't see that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

I have a child in k and 3rd. You could not ask for a better principal and faculty. When you go in to check your children and they know you by name, it shows you they care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My daughter has attended K-3 and I can honestly say that all of her teachers are very interested and enthusiastic about her well being and learning. The teachers are more than happy to have parent involvement. The school and staff are extremely well organized. Mr. Miller, the principal, knows the name of every child in that school, and greets them every morning. He knows his parents and staff well, too. I could not be happier with BES. - I only wish fall festivals and more musicals for the children were held in the evenings. Way to go BES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

This is the best elementary school. I have one child attending and a second starting soon!! The teachers are great and very educated!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Beauregard Elementary is unbelievably wonderful school! I am proud to say that my children attend Beauregard Elementary! The principal, Mr. Miller, truly cares for his school, his teachers, his staff, and his students! He holds the belief that all children can and will learn! His staff work hard to provide for ALL children! The reading coach, Mrs. Kelley Smith, also goes above and beyond to help the children of Beauregard! My child, a second grader, is in Mrs. Daughtry's class. I am so pleased! She understands the children, the way they learn, and is enthusiastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This elementary school is wonderful. I have 3 children currently attending and have absolutely no complaints. To be such a large school, it is very well managed. The student-teacher ratio is perfect, the principal handles concerns himself and stays very involved with all aspects of the school. The teachers are more loved than any I have ever seen. Their previous students never forget them. This is probably due to the attention they recieve while in their class. I am in awe at how much the faculty loves working there and loves being around the children. The technology is great...all kids are given computer time and they definitely profit from this. Very, very wonderful school. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

we moved to the area half way through the year so my kindergartner was the new kid. The school and staff have been wonderful. Everyone seems to truly put kids first. Everyone is smiling and eager to interact with the students. I feel Mrs. Cimo is a top notch teacher. She has looked for his strengths and weakness and tailored his education. She is also in contact with me anytime there is concern or just news to share. He has truly blossomed under her teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

Beauregard Elemenarty has been one of the worst schools my children have attended . I have never been a complainer but this school is rediculious. The office staff is very rude. One Great thing is the teachers are great! Hope we can do some improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

My son has attended Beauregard For three out his fours years of public school and I am very impressed with Beauregard's direct instruction of the curriculum. His teacher this year, Ms. Keene, has done a wonder job with communicating and setting obtainable goals for the studnets to reach. This is a great place to learn. Thanks for the great childhood memories
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

My daughter is a somewhat new student to the school in October of 2006 and the whole staff has just been wonderful. She has made the adjustment well and just loves her class and the school. Has a great curriculum and Mrs. Carter & Mrs. Feley have been wonderful. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female84%
Male95%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty88%
Not poverty93%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty96%
Not poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education64%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty77%
Not poverty91%

Reading

All Students88%
Female92%
Male85%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible78%
Special education79%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty85%
Not poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 58%
Black 21% 34%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Kathie F Ledbetter
Fax number
  • (334) 745-2287

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Lee Rd 431
Opelika, AL 36804
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 745-2972

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ogletree School
Auburn, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT