Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beauregard High School

Public | 8-12 | 630 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

This school is a great school to be apart of and attend. I went through the entire system from Beauregard elementary to middle school and on to Beauregard high school. It's great that this high school has a Principal who stands for God and good morals. This school is ever growing and ever becoming better and is a great place to be.


Posted April 25, 2014

I personally enjoy the variety of classes offered at Beauregard, but the scheduling is usually difficult for the honors students. Many of the teachers are friendly and helpful, but a few of them are not very knowledgeable about communication with needy children. These areas aren't problematic; however, the school buildings are in desperate need. One of our hallways is so broken down that it leaks (through the light fixture!) every time it rains. If there is any school that needs a financial help, it is Beauregard High School. But the classes still have great qualities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

I grew up in beauregard schools all my life till the time i turned 17 when i dropped out. The students and teachers really try and work together to make the school a safe place to learn. I can't even remember a time where we didn't feel safe. I just wish i would have paid more attation to the faculty more than what i did. They did their best by me . They took their time to work with me when i didn't understand something, also was very patient with me when i acted out till they had no choice to tell me not to come back . If you are a student and reading this don't do like i did if u wanna know how i was just ask Mr. brown about Joshua morrison also thank you Mr. Brown .. I now attend Austin Peay State University in Clarksville Tennessee
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I am an alumnus of Beauregard High School, Class of 2007. Beauregard is an excellent school and prepared me wonderfully for college. I now attend Auburn University, where I am major in Secondary Education. The teachers and classes at Beauregard prepared me for college classes and have allowed me to maintain a 3.5 GPA here at Auburn. The teachers and staff genuinely care about each student and do all that they can to make their school safe and prepare them for life outside of Beauregard. Beauregard is truly and excellent school. Go Hornets!


Posted September 5, 2008

I am a parent that has lived in the Beauregard community for almost 20 years. My children have been in the schools for 10 years. It is a little different from the schools that I attended. I really hope the teachers of this fine school will continue to teach to the best of their gift and ability. Also, not forgetting that each child may learn differently. Teachers continue to be as creative in the teaching process as possible, remembering that we should all treat others in the way that we would want to be treated. I feel we all have something to offer in all of our children's positive learning experience. Keep Up the Great Work!!! Go Hornets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

I have just completed my Junior year at Beauregard High School. I have been in this community my whole life and couldn't ask for a better one. I love my school, faculty, and friends. I have received an excellent education that I believe will take me far. Much of the faculty are graduates of the school. I appreciate all the Mr. Brown and the faculty does for us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2006

I am currently a senior at Beauregard High School. I have loved the education I have recieved here, and believe it to be one of the best in the area. Although we may not have the best funding, or the most electives, we have a great faculty. We also have a sense of safeness and closeness which you don't experience at a bigger school. I know almost all my fellow students names. We are more than a 'country school', we are truly a great school that continues to improve. '07
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2005

I am a student of Beauregard High School. I have never been around so many teachers who work as hard or care as much as the ones who make up the staff of Beauregard High School. I get a good education and tie in today's society with what I have learned. I recieve a wonderful education and appreciate the work the staff does. The principal does a great job of running the school, and keeping a peaceful and appropriate learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2005

This is a great school,however I wish there were more electives that we had to choose from.We have a great staff and an awsome principal!- Go Hornets!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2005

Beauregard High School may lack certain things that larger schools can offer, such as more extracurricular activites and fancier football fields, but the staff and the education do not fall short. They have excellent teachers and staff, many of whom are available before and after school to help students with problems. Beauregard does not have as many saftey issues as the larger local schools. There aren't as many problems with bullies and gangs. Many of the students attend school from kindergarten to graduation together. They become more like family than just classmates. I would recommend Beauregard High to anyone who has children they want to see grow up in a loving, caring community.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 1, 2005

This school is definitely improving every year and could be better. But overall this school is nice. It could definitely have more extracurricular activities. But the chorus program really needs improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2005

I have lived in the Beauregard area all my life, and I have attended school here for thirteen years; this by far is the best school in the area. No, we may not have as much money as Opelika, Auburn, or Smith Station, but our students are hard-working people and our teachers go beyond their call of duty. The stay here not for the money(we all know they don't get paid enough), but they stay to further our education. Our facilities aren't in top shape, but our educational programs and teachers are above average. For those who say that our school is a 'Joke', I challenge you to find one person in our graduating class of 2005 who doesnt have an oppurtunity to go to college in the fall. You will probably not find one. We take great pride in our school, teachers, and our 'Country' education we receive.We're the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2005

As a graduate of BHS (2002)and current college student, I can say that I enjoyed my time there. It is a very good school, and the teachers encourage furthering one's education. The facilities are improving every year. However, if this site is correct, our SAT scores in mathematics are not as competitive as they should be. Reading is good, but should be better. Beauregard lacks a sense of unity, but does have a great deal of pride. Go Hornets!Show the naysayers, be the best.-Jeff Nolin Class of 2002
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 30, 2005

I am currently a Junior at Beauregard High School. Although many individuals may think differently about BHS, it is truly a wonderful place to learn and grow as a young adult. I would prefer no other place to attend school. **Go Lady Hornets Basketball!**
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2005

I attended Beauregard from 1989-2002 and I am thankful that I lived in the area where I couldn't have attended another school. As for the person who said the facilities are horrid, you must be blind or haven't seen the new additions to the baseball field, or the gym floor, and our front office is one of the nicest I have ever seen. The looks of the facilities are not important, it's whats inside(the faculty) and the education you receive while you are there. BHS is blessed with wonderful teachers and other faculty members that makes BHS a great school. Erica Chandler
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 26, 2004

I went to Beauregard from grades k-3 I thought the school was okay but i have been to 2 other schools since then i rank Bearegard 3rd, Smiths Station 2nd and Opeliak 1st...Opelika is the school i am currently attending and they are the best..Go Dawgs!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 1, 2004

This school is an absolute joke. The faculty are lacking and the facilities are horrid. If you want the best education for your children look at Auburn High or Opelika High. Those are head and shoulders above this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 10, 2004

I went to Beauregard for 13 years and loved every minute of it. There are wonderful faculty and staff there. (Richard Brown)(Mrs. Brown) (Kelleigh Meredith) Go Hornets!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2004

I have been going to Beauregard High School for two years now. I have found that this school is one of the best schools in our county. This school has a great principal (Richard Brown).
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant97%
Poverty94%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students78%
Female87%
Male69%
Black58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%
Poverty70%
Not poverty90%

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%
Poverty83%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible84%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%
Poverty81%
Not poverty94%

Social Studies

All Students73%
Female70%
Male76%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant73%
Poverty67%
Not poverty81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students92%
Female0%
Male89%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%
Poverty83%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant98%
Poverty98%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Poverty92%
Not poverty97%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female0%
Male85%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%
Poverty88%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 58%
Black 24% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7343 Al Hwy 51
Opelika, AL 36804
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 745-5916

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT