Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oxford High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2008

This is our first year at Oxford and we moved here from Birmingham where we were not happy with the school. Oxford High School has made our two sons feel like they grew up here. They are already involved in many activities and have many new friends. The community has been a refreshing change of pace from the big city. I tell everyone I can about the great move we made to Oxford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I love the band program, but that is about all I love. Everything else is school but you can go ahead and get college credit while you are here and that is cool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

I am shocked at how limited this school system is! The only 'important' thing seems to be sports! Mr. Holladay is a difficult man to deal with when there is a complaint! I felt like I was being bullied when I had to deal with him! I think Oxford needs to look within itself as to what is really important for the majority of students who aren't jocks!!!!! I'm very disappointed in this system and wished I had purchased a home in Jacksonville or Anniston instead!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

After reading current reviews of Oxford High School, I was pleasantly pleased to find that most people recognize that Oxford High is growing, but the school board also is trying to meet the needs of students. For instance, the new 9th grade academy will be ready during the upcoming school year, and a new Oxford High will be built shortly afterwards. With funding cuts from the state, it is difficult to continue education needs of a growing school like Oxford High without the help that our city provides us. We should be thankful that some help is available. As a teacher, I believe we at Oxford do our best to meet student needs while managing large classes and meeting the demands of the AHSGE. Hopefully, parents will support us by ensuring that their students strive to be the best they can be in the classroom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2008

I graduated from oxford high school and the entire school system is first class ..The teachers care about the students even after they leave ..


Posted March 31, 2008

As a parent of one daughter in OHS and one more to come I am very proud of the school as compared to others in the state. The principal is a man of character who promotes discipline and values throughout the school and te teachers are focused on preparing the students well for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

As a parent of two sons who have went through OHS, I am very pleased with the academic opportunities there were given. This school has more to offer than any other public or private school within an 80 mile radius.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I am a parent that is proud to be from Oxford. Great Teachers that really care about students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

All of my children go to Oxford. I think Trey Holiday does an excellent job! He thinks and acts on the best interest of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

I am a former student. I have siblings still in school there. I was once proud to say I was a Oxford graduate but now I am ashamed. The new leadership holders in Oxford High School are taking their jobs to their heads. When they talk down to the students and parents it is not doing a bit of good. They should be role models, and teach students the correct way of acting. Not wanting to cause fear.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2005

Oxford is working hard to overcome the overcrowding issues and should be given some slack. The students are blessed and the new adminstration is tough but fair. The band program is blossoming and the kids are being given the best in academic preparation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

I agree that Oxford is overcrowded. The school system is going to suffer if they don't make some changes. I also agree that Jacksonville and would like to add White Plains are both better systems because of Oxford's overcrowded system. Money doesn't produce test scores and test scores are higher in Jacksonville and White Plains. Oxford is a good school but they do have some issues before them that need to be addressed. Statistics show that less students per class/per teacher = higher test scores. Again, money does not produce test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

As a graduate of oxford high school, i can attest to the fact that oxford has one of the best educational programs in the state! i graduated from jacksonville state university and had no problems which is due to the good education i received at oxford! oxford has more money to contribute to their education system than the county and jacksonville school system; therefore, can offer more to the academics of the school! go oxford!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 19, 2005

Oxford is overcrowded. If you are interested in the Calhoun Co. area, I would recommend Jacksonville School System, where the city cares about the city, school and the children. Oxford has a decent athletic program but because they are overcrowded, a lot of good talent goes to waste.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

I am actually a former student of the oxford city school system. I graduated in 1998. I could not have been blessed with a more rewarding high school experience. If it were not for the education that i received there, i would not be as successful today. I was involved in colorguard, choirs, and show choir. The music department is wonderful!! if it were not for it, i would not have received college music scholarships. Oxford truly is a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Oxford schools as a whole are some of the best. Parents that opt to be involved find the system to be very cooperative. The needs of all students (regular and special ed) are of the utmost importance to most teachers and the administration is very supportive. Overall our family has found Oxford Schools to have a very positive and constructive environment. We have had two children graduate from the Oxford School system and both went on to college with very little problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

257 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

258 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

258 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

258 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

19 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

256 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

236 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education68%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education21%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education37%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students83%
Female83%
Male84%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education26%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty88%

Social Studies

All Students77%
Female71%
Male83%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligible64%
Special education32%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty69%
Non-poverty85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education81%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education56%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty97%

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education56%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty98%

Reading

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education50%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education38%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty72%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 58%
Black 23% 34%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

915 Stewart St
Oxford, AL 36203
Website: Click here
Phone: (256) 241-3166

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Goals Alt School
Anniston, AL


The Donoho School
Anniston, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT