Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pelham High School

Public | 9-12 | 1665 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2010

I really enjoyed my time at PHS i never really encountered more then 1 bad teacher. She is still there i believe. All 4 years were good except the typical freshman crap. But overall it was fun and a great place to learn
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Not too bad. Like most schools the worst thing is tenure. There are somegreat teachers at Pelham and there are some that should be fired. Yes, I agree that too much emphasis is put on the football team and a cheerleading squad that rarely cheers. More recognition should be given to academic achievement as well as other sports and arts. But I guess that is the culture that we live in. I have had 2 children go through Pelham, one thrived the other had to transfer as it was just way too clickish. All in all a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

Phs has poor administration. Admin picks on unimportant things in students' day to harrass them. Teacher quality overall is very good. Athletic and arts programs well supported by community and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Im going to the 11th grade at pelham and i absolutely despise it my first year there was the worst that a freshman could ever go through they say pelham is the best school you can go to in alabama but i beg to differ i would rather go to alternative school the rest of my school year than to go to pelham. Its based on popularity and less things that's not important to a straight A studens such as football if i could rate this school on a scale from 1 to 10 i would rate it a 0
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

What is so bad about Pelham is that the teachers don't want anything to do with you really. This is my first year at PHS. Im in 10th grade. And this was the biggest mistake of my life. I should have never agreed to come to this school. I went from being a straight 'A' student in honors classes to I doubt i'm going to be passing this year. People are sort of friendly. It really depends who you are though. Football is the only thing that is on everyone's mind. I play tennis and we didn't even get our picture in the yearbook! It says nothing about a tennis team whatsoever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2008

I have not been very happy with Pelham High School. The administration does not really care what parents think and allows the staff to make decisions that should be made by the administration. As a military spouse I wished I would have checked out the City of Pelham more throughly before moving here. Living all over the country I have certainly seen much better High Schools. Pelham is mediocre at best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

This is the best school i've ever been to- and i've been to a lot of schools. The staff is extremely friendly! the first day as a freshman that school is huge but they helped me soo much and, even the older students helped me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

I go to Pelham High School. Its really fun. I use to HATE school, now I LOVE it! The teachers, students, principals, everyone there is great. I agree with the fact that they spend more time worrying about sports than grades. It's a fun and amazing experience that I will never forget!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2006

My daughter transferred here and it is perhaps the biggest mistake that we ever made. Pelham High School is more concerned about whether or not a shirt tail is tucked in rather than any academic achievement. My daughter transferred from a school where she had a 4.0 GPA. My daughter dresses and acts a little unorthodox, she is considered gothic. I was fine with that as long as she kept her grades up, and she did. When she moved to Pelham, she started to get a lot of detentions and her grades started to drop. I went to the school to find out what was going on, and it turns out that they had been pulling her from classes because of the clothes she wore. My daughter does not take gothic to the extreme. When they pulled her out of classes, they would not let her make up the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

As a current student at Pelham High, I must say it is the jewel of Shelby County. It has great faculty, academic body, athletic body, and artistic body. The SGA also does incredible work. You say the school revolves around sports, what school doesn't? Our school puts big emphasis on sports because we're state champions in baseball and dance team. Other sports do tremendous jobs in sectionals. Our academics are just as great. Scholar's Bowl placed well this year. We have numerous, numerous seniors who have full rides to college. Finally, you say the principal is lacking unless it's an autumn Friday night. Mr. Lavett is awesome. If ever a problem, I can go to him. Our school is great! It's the best. And like I said, it's the jewel of Shelby County,
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2005

If your child is into sports, expecially football, then this is your school. If not, forget it. My son is a freshman, and the drama teacher 'does not take freshmen.' For painting sets? Give me a break! the vp and his counselor have been good. Both of my daughters made it through. My oldest daughter was involved in music (show choir). She has a degree in voice now. My younger daughter just wanted out. She is a junior at uab now. My son wants to quit, and he is oly 14! the vp suggested 'trade school' for him. I'm cetain trade school is great, but not a decision to be made in the first 9 weeks of your freshman year in high school. Don't even try to talk to the principal. He is always unavailable, unless there is a football game!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

This place was ok. If you are looking for the best public schools in the Birmingham area I would say there are quite a few better than Pelham. If you have the money, Mountain Brook is the best school. Then I would say Vestavia, Hoover, Spain Park, and Hewitt-Trussville. Ofcourse, these are all of the higher income areas as well. If you cannot afford to live in those areas. Then I would recommend Pelham. Just be prepared for ugly businesses and flashing signs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 2, 2004

I have been disappointed by the over emphasis on football and sports. Academics is put on hold for athletics. There is a weak administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

I've had 3 children graduate from Pelham High School and I have to say what a great preparation for college. They all got scholarships and did very well and I feel like Pelham had a hand in their success. Like all schools, they had some teachers who didn't care, but for the most part their teachers were wonderful and helpful and very qualified in their subject area. They had many opportunities for extra curricular activities to be involved in and plenty of advanced classes to take advantage of. Pelham is a great 'small town' near a larger city with so much to offer. I'm so glad we chose to move here 17 years ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

I'm a student at Pelham High School. It is a great school. We have great leadership from all the teachers, class presidents and peers. There's always help for the taking, if you need help with something, just ask and the teachers and faculty are always willing to lend a hand or spend a little time with you after school to help with your work. Thanks for you time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

Everything always revolved around the sports program and the sports players, especially football and football players. The VP when I was there was a former football coach, and he let the players get away with ANYTHING. Overall, I suppose it isn't a bad school. Some decent teachers, some bad ones, but that's going to be at every school. It needs some redecorating and updating, but other than that, it's okay.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

308 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

348 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Special education64%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students89%
Female96%
Male83%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligible68%
Special education14%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty92%

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible79%
Special education29%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Special education36%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty97%

Social Studies

All Students83%
Female81%
Male86%
Black60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Special education14%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty65%
Non-poverty88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education100%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education50%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty98%

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education83%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education67%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education83%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 58%
Black 12% 35%
Hispanic 11% 4%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Panther Circle
Pelham, AL 35124
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cahaba School
Hoover, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT