Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgecrest Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2012

This is an excellent school! The teachers at this school seem to take a genuine interest in each and every child that they teach. I had my son's first grade teachers personal cell number and email address. I could send her a text anytime throughout the day and receive a response within ten minutes. I also had the school nurse's cell number because my son has to use his inhaler from time to time. He was out sick one day and the nurse and teacher both called to see how he was doing. I felt that the homework that my son was bringing home seemed to be a bit too much for a 1st grader to handle but he knew the work and was able to complete it with minimal help from me. All I had to do was check it when he was done. Needless to say he made straight A's the entire school year. The entire faculty at the school is excellent and they have the respect of the children and parents. If you're having doubts about sending your child to this school, go visit the school yourself and ask parents that actually have children that go to the school how it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

I agree Mrs. Doresky and Mrs. Sanes are outstanding. They are very understanding of students needs. All of the teachers at Ridgecrest are top notch teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

My son went to ridgecrest last year and he and I both loved it! It is a great school! We never had an issue of anyone being racist!! I wish we were still in that district so he could still go there instead of the school he is at now! I will be looking into returning him to Ridgecrest next year if I provide a ride to and from school for him!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Ridgecrest is wonderful school. My children love it there. I have found the teachers to really care about their students and keep open communication with parents. It's a great school with an open door policy. You can always drop by do check on your children. The teachers and principal encourage parent participation. What better way to stay informed about your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Both of my daughters attend Ridgecrest, they love it . So far every teacher they have had are wonderful, pre-k is wonderful, my 4 and 7year old loves thier teacher and classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

My child has attended ridgecrest for several years. They have had good and bad teachers. The special education department however is wonderful Mrs. Doressky and Mrs. Sanes really care about their students.They are always there to help me with any problems than I have with my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

This will be my child fourth year at Ridgecrest. I am thoroughly involved with my child school. I volunteer my time as a parent to be involved and to see what's going on. Ridgecrest has a great staff of teachers and the prinicipal is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

I am a student at Ridgecrest Elementary,and I have had good times and bad! But I have lerned a lot at this school.I have been here since k-4 ,and I still like it Mrs.Trice is the best and nicest principal I have had yet!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2003

Ridgecrest could use better teachers and especially a better P.E instructor, these kids are not little soldiers! Thier human beings with feelings! True, two parents here on the other comments might have had pleasent experiences with the Black white issue at Ridgecrest, but more parents and children have had bad experiencs than good. It is a shame when a child is made to feel being a certain color is something to be ashamed of or maybe your too fat, or have a zit on your face and the teachers don't even correct this problem amoung the students even when they hear it going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2003

My child has thoroughly enjoyed being at Ridgecrest. I do not understand some of the other comments made on this page. My child has had nothing but good teachers and the principal is a very professional and loving supporter of both students and faculty. My child is white and has never complained about being miss treated. Keep it up Ridgecrest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

The last 4 comments were about 'teacher communication' and 'being racist'. I have not found either a problem with my child. My child is white and this is her second year attending Ridgecrest. I had wonderful communication with my child's teachers and the principle. I make sure that there is open communication between the three of us...myself, my child, and her teacher. As for the teachers 'being racist' against the children I have not found that to be true. Seems now a days, everything is a 'racist issue'. I feel my child felt very comfortable and safe with her teacher and fellow students. I do, however, think that there is not enough parents involved with their childs school work. Parents and teachers need to work hand in hand to make a child grow. Starting at home is where the growing begins. I look forward to my child having another wonderful and successful year at Ridgecrest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

This school could use alot of improvement in the teacher student relationship, mainly communication between the two, the teachers do not listen to the students.


Posted June 16, 2003

They need better teachers whom are not prejudice against whites. Go visit this school sometime you would be ashamed of how the white children are treated.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female78%
Male71%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Poverty73%
Not poverty81%

Reading

All Students78%
Female85%
Male71%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Poverty79%
Not poverty69%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male84%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education50%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty85%
Not poverty84%

Reading

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education33%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Poverty84%
Not poverty79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female79%
Male70%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Special education21%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Poverty75%
Not poverty73%

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male75%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White71%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education36%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Poverty78%
Not poverty83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education43%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty81%
Not poverty83%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 80% 34%
White 10% 58%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Veatrice Ware Thomas
Fax number
  • (334) 298-1763

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1806 8th Placeso
Phenix City, AL 36869
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 298-3004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eagle's Mount Academy
Phenix City, AL



Mother Mary School
Phenix City, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT