Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Outstanding! As a military family now in our fourth school in six years we have some experience with elementary education. Sherwood Elementary exceeded even our most demanding expectations for teacher competence/care/involvement, overall administration, and general educational environment. All three of our children are excited to go to school in the morning which speaks volumes about the school. To say we'll be sorry to move away next year for our next duty assignment is an understatement.

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2011
- a parent
I love this school. The teachers are very patient, kind and caring. My kids have been going to this school since kindergarten and wouldnt have it any other way.


Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are professional and seem to really care about their studens. Very low teacher turnover at this school. The principal works well with his staff and parents. We have had a good experience so far.

Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
My husband (now 52 years of age) attended Sherwood; my children 27 & 24 attended Sherwood and now I have grandchildren at Sherwood. This is and always has been a fantastic school. I am proud of the staff and the students associated with this great school. On several occasions as a class chaperone or as a visitor for lunch, I have been made welcome and look forward to my next trip to your school. Mrs. Elleard's 1st grade class is a fantastic place to begin your education in our public school systems. She has such control of her students and they are able to view learning as the positive experience it is meant to be. At Christmas 2007, Mrs. Elleards 1st grade class made the cutest reindeer Christmas ornaments for our Christmas tree at the Southwest Branch of the public library. We will treasure them forever. Thank-You from our staff at the Southwest Library.


Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
So far, we love the school ! [Our son] loves it too. The teachers have been great since we recently moved from out of town and he has been accepted just as if he has been there since Kindergarten.

Sherwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
My son went to Sherwood right after leaving the Dept. of Defense schools. We then moved overseas, and we returned..right back to Sherwood. It is a family environment, and the best place for a transitioning military child. I would recommend Sherwood to anybody.

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted July 23, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2005
- a parent
Two of my daughters went to Sherwood for their Kindergarten and 3rd grade years. We moved back home after only a year of living in Phenix City. The biggest thing I missed about Phenix City, was the school! We are enrolled in a great school now (the same one I went to as a child), but I find myself consistantly telling everyone how Sherwood does things and believe it or not, our school has adopted several ideas I brought back with me from Sherwood. The teaching staff was great,the school was great, and never have I ever seen such parent involvement as at Sherwood. Their PTO is very involved with the school and I think that is a very big and important attribute to Sherwood's success. All I can say is: if you are looking into schools before you move to this area, DON'T WORRY! You've found the best! S.Moore

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sherwood Elementary School
906 Idle Hour Dr, Phenix City, AL  36867
(334) 298-7097
Last modified Sherwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sherwood Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top