Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ladonia Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

Classroom's are not clean. Teachers have too many students in some of the classes, and they are not up to date with technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

MY daughter went to Ladonia and so do my grandchildren. No school is perfect but most of the teachers are great and the Principal and his staff are very professional.


Posted March 18, 2012

This is one of the worst schools in this area!! I pulled my child out of this school because she was being bullied and the teacher and principal were unwilling to help! She has been attending a different school in the county since last September where the administration and teachers are supportive and very competent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

All of my children attend this elementary school and they have all excelled. My oldest son has autism and he has the best special education opportunities out there. Ladonia was not our first choice but after horrible teachers and lack of special programs for my son we moved here and have not regretted it at all. The teachers are great and Mr. Hopper is a wonderful principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

This is the worst school I have ever stepped foot into. I would not recommend this school to anyone. The children do not receieve support nor motivation from the teachers. This school scored below state average that should say enough about the school. PLEASE don't let your child attend this school if you want your child to get a good education. I agree with alot of the other post this school should get shut down or all new staff brought in, anything would be an improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2009

I have 3 children in this school and I have been extremely happy with their experiences during the last 2 years. I have found Ladonia to have a wonderful faculty and office staff. The dedication from the teachers is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

My Kids love it.. but we're moving so this is their last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

I am a parent of two children who attend this school and I also work at this school. In my opinion it is the best elementary in this area. The teachers here are awsome. We have no bad teachers! From K- 3 you will not find any better teachers. We have some new teachers in 4-6 this year but the returning teachers are the best of the best. Everyone who works at this school puts the children first from the janitor to the lunchroom staff right on up to Mr Hopper. Ask the kids if they like the people in charge of them, they will tell you the truth. Look at the Teachers of the year.....where are they from? We are a star school when it comes to caring for our children and when children are loved and properly cared for, they are willing to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

I don't really have a problem with this school. My daughter is enjoying her first year. I can only speak about our experience with this school and she loves it. Her teacher is great, enthusiastic and pushes reading on her students which is great. My little girl is expecially happy with her teacher, class and overall experience thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

I have a 4th grade child in this school currently..I am pulling him out and enrolling him in a private school . It is my only other option.This school lacks everything ..Funding , teaching and everything in between. Please take note...Walk around your neighborhoods and ask questions. Most of your neighbors kids are attending other schools , for good reason! Beware your child will be cheated out of the education they deserve!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

I don't have a problem with this school. My daughter has been attending this school since August of 2005 and I have not had any problems with this school. The teacher that she has is a very energetic and bright teacher and she has an interest in her students future. I do feel that there could be more parent involvement; however there is a high percentage of parental involvment in her classroom. Parents have to reinforce what is being taught in the classroom. That will help the schools reviews. I will let my child attend this school until she goes to the 7th grade or I move and I don't see the latter of that happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

I have 3 children, one of which is in 8th grade and one in the 4th this year. I am very happy with my childrens education from Ladonia. The teachers have always taken the time to contact me regarding any needs for my children. My 4th grader has food allergies, and the teachers have paid close attention to what he is eating at all times. My kids have enjoyed school at Ladonia also. My oldest has come out of Ladonia with the knowledge to score a combined score of 900 on the college SAT during his 7th grade year. I believe that most of his capability was developed during the elementary years, and I owe most of that training to the staff and faculty at Ladonia. My husband and I have thought about relocating, but we have decided to wait for our 3rd son to finish at Ladonia. It's the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

Disagree with most of the negative comments. I have 3 children that have attend Ladonia in the last 3 and a half years. They all have had good quality teachers who care and work hard. The same is it be said about the principal and staff. Two of my children previously attend a DOD school and there test scores for the SAT's have stayed in the 90+. The largest difference I can see in the two schools are money related, appearance of school and extra curricular programs. Parent support also seems to be a problem. But from what I've seen the staff works hard to do the best with what they've got. None of my children have contracted lice or any other Contagious illness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I disagree with the negative comments about Ladonia School as my child had a valuable experience there. Ladonia School, like any school, has strengths and weaknesses. Ladonia's strength is in its teachers and its weakness is centered around (i) limited public funding, and (ii) lack of parental committment. Those parents involved in PTA efforts to meet the needs of the school and in supporting their children's teacher do, and will continue to, leave Ladonia feeling satisfied and confident about their child's education. My own experience was that the teachers are hard-working, fully committed to providing an above-average curriculum, and are experts at utilizing available resources to get the job done. Alernatively, those parents not involved in their children's progress continue to be the one's making the most irrational noise. Many thanks to the teachers and staff at Ladonia for a job well done in providing the basis for my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

I would have to agree with most of the earlier opinions of this school, my daughter has been attending there for roughly 6 months and in the past 3 months Anyway, to sum it all up, this school lacks effective and competent leadership, oversight, and acedemic standards and these problems have existed in this school for roughly 20 years (since I was a child) and I dont see it getting better anytime soon. Send your child to this school only as a last resort....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

This school definately leaves something to be desired--the desire that you and your child will be left with will be a good education. You won't recieve it here in this school. Between the lack of monetary, the lack of teacher appreciation for what they do, and lack of many other areas that are so important to children I would have to say that this is by far a school that would leave your child far behind anyone that was schooled elsewhere. I would check into this school before you enroll your child here...remember there are many more ways to educate your child then sending them to such a poorly run school with such poor education standards. I've dealt with this school first hand and I must say--I'm glad my children no longer will no longer be involved with such a poorly run school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

Attention parents & military new in the area, before moving into this area check this school out completely. This is the worse school you can possibly put your kids in. There is no funding ever available and the teachers lack teaching motivation. Lice & illnes out of control.People show up for paycheck but don't read to the children or work with them. Stay away, they should close this place down.....Look at the score below national level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2003

This is a nice school, good teachers, fair principal, but after 5th grade there are no Middle schools within 20 miles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Please check schools out before you move into the area. This school has a lot of problems that probably will not get solved in the near future, such as lack of money and good leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty89%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty91%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female76%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Poverty76%
Not poverty82%

Reading

All Students87%
Female91%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty84%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty92%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty91%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female61%
Male64%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White58%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Poverty81%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 58%
Black 12% 34%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Jason Hopper
Fax number
  • (334) 297-7563

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Woodland Dr
Phenix City, AL 36869
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 297-7313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lakewood Baptist Church
Phenix City, AL



Veritas Academy
Phenix City, AL


St. Patrick's School
Phenix City, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT