Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakewood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 983 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2011

I love, Love, LOVE this school! I was worried when we moved to the area and realized how horrible the academic scores and what not of the GA, AL area were, so I further researched all schools and short of a private school, Lakewood was for us! My daughter went to kindergarten there with Mrs Wicker, what an amazing teacher, what a way to start out your school years! I could not of asked for anything better! They are changing it up a bit this coming school year for the better! Splitting the schools into 2! Can't wait!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

My twins attended first grade this year with Mrs. McSwain as their teacher. I was surprised to find they kept twins together, as the girls last school separated them. Mrs. M is a very strong and caring teacher, very strict - but she loves her children and it is reflected by the students actions. I have been to her classroom several times, the students are well behaved, use VERY GOOD manners, respond with "Yes, Ma'am" etc. The school itself is very good, they regularly have the school counselor interact with the children, daily gym, reading, math and science - and technology classes. They strongly encourage family involvement, and the field trips are educational as well as fun. They have a green house (to show how things grow), animals in the classroom (a parrot greets you at the main entrance), a great playground / sports area (inside and out) and a wonderful caring staff. They also are civic and community minded - local restaraunts sponsor "Lakewood" days, and the students can participate in community activies, such as pretty in pink (a non beauty pageant) and Special Olympics. The after school program (LEAP) is also great. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

I will be moving there this summer from Colorado. My fiancee's son went there last year and loved it. He did really well. My 8 yr old daughter has Cognitive and Developmental Delays and is a wonderful student. I would love any input from any parents and/or staff regarding the Special Education Department please. Thankyou so much, I appreciate it! Kathy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The teachers and staff are wonderful. they show intrest in my sons individual learning. and it is a great safe inviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My two (2) grandaughters attend Lakewood Elementary School and I have had the opportunity to be involved in their academic accomplishments as well as their extra-curricular activities and events. I always feel very comfortable and welcome when I am at the school. The administration and faculty are always friendly and helful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

I am a huge advocate of private schooling but have been shocked by the quality of education oat Lakewood. My wife had her son enrolled there when we married and I was stongly incined to move her son to a private school. However, after meeting with faculty and touring the school I was willing to give them a fair chance. I have been very pleased with the quality of education and dedication of the teachers. Class room size is large but not excessive. Technology is well deployed in the class room and they have a diverse curiculum. Finally, the best teachers are actively working to join the faculty and it shows. We don't know if we will keep in our son in the public system for middle school but he will complete elementary school at this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

The school is great for those that perform, but for those that are not the cream of the crop they ignore and hope will go away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

The teachers care and spend that extra time with them. Everyone seems to care and be looking out for the best interest of the children. Thank you Lakewood for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

This is a great school with great teachers. My daughter is learning so much more than she did in public schools. The staff of Lakewood truly care about the children there. I feel very confident that my kids have an advantage in life due to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I love this school. I have one child that has been there for 3 years and one starting Kindergarten this year. The teachers are great. They really keep you informed and truely care about our children. I believe without a doubt this is the best school in the Phenix City area! It makes you feel good to know your kids are in good hands and they are learning at the same time. Thank you Lakewood Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

This school is very alsome.. my daughter will be starting k this year and son starting 3rd ... he has been going here since k.. and let me tell you he loves it!!!!! and not only that but its the best school around i can say that!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My oldest daughter has attended Lakewood since the school opened 6 years ago. She is currently in 5th grade while my youngest is in the second grade. Since I am an elementary teacher, I have experienced other schools from a teacher's viewpoint. I have been extremely pleased with the education my children have received at Lakewood. While there is a strong focus on reading due to the school's status as an ARI school, teachers also teach math, science, and social studies on a daily basis. Teachers strive to improve instruction and meet the needs of all learners. Not only are the teachers concerned with the academic progress of all students, they are concerned with the welfare of the whole child. The leadership and faculty are continuously examining ways to improve an already fantastic school. My oldest child is already in mourning over leaving Lakewood when she enters 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

My son attends Lakewood and loves it! He is in the second grade now. He has had wonderful teachers and we see the results at home. Parent are highly encouraged by Mrs. Eller and the teachers to BE INVOLVED! If you are moving the the Phenix City Area, check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

My son hated the school he went to before Lakewood. Thanks to the teachers and most of all his teacher Mrs.Culpepper he can not wait to start back. She helped show my son that school can be a fun place to lean. I can not wait till this year to see more changes in my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

The school is a science magnet but its main focus is reading. They focus on where they are receiving there funding. The children rarely do science and is not taught math on a daily basis. These children are in 4th grade, do not get the experience of changing classes. We were there for 5 years and up until the last year had great, caring teacher who seemed concerned when the children are having problems or struggling. This past school year the focus was on reading and when approaching the teacher about the subject my child was struggling in I was filled with empty promises to help but they were never fulfilled. I believe my child needs to know the basics and they are so rushed threw here because they only teach the kids to take the SATs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My son has attended Lakewood Elementary for 2 years now.. We are approaching 2nd grade this year.. and I absolutely love it and so does he.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

I love this school, I would highly recommend anyone putting their child/children in Lakewood. I have a 4th grader and a 1st grader who really enjoy going to school and love their teachers. We are blessed to been able to have the Lakewood experience, because not only is it our school, but the whole faculty has become a part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2005

Lakewood Elementary has a standard that all schools should uphold. The students are taught manners, how to deal with the real world and application of all the basic knowledge taught in elmentary schools. We are fortunate to have found this school. Our son loves science and learning-this is the perfect place. They are constantly striving to improve the learning environment. The parents get involved. It is a pleasure to see students smiling about learning. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

I have two children at Lakewood and I love it! We have a new principal this year and a lot of things changed, but all of the changes were implemented to increase safety/security and to make the school better. We have a wonderful PTA this year and they are constantly working on projects that will benefit the school. We are only a 4 year old school but we are making great strides! Our Media Staff is the best and has the vision of the whole school in mind when purchasing books, equipment, AR quizzes, etc. I rate this school *****!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

My daughter attended school there part year for 2nd grade. It was the best school she has ever attended! We were very pleased. We are now moving back to Alabama and I will do everythiing in my power to get her back into that school. Everyone was very friendly there, it felt like a very small community with friendly neighbors. They had an awesome reward program for straight A students and readers. The school itself is secluded from the rest of the city which adds to is appeal because I like knowing that no one knows about it unless their children attend that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male93%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female92%
Male81%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty84%
Non-poverty88%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male92%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male97%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students87%
Female84%
Male90%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 58%
Black 23% 35%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3010 Silverlake Dr
Phenix City, AL 36867
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 732-1173

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lakewood Baptist Church
Phenix City, AL


Veritas Academy
Phenix City, AL


St. Patrick's School
Phenix City, AL


Glenwood School
Smiths Station, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT