Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phenix City Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Ray is an awesome principal. My son loves her dearly. When I first meet her we clicked like sisters. Any problem you have she will handle it in a nice and professional way. Hands down best school in town.

Phenix City Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
My kids are out of district and will continue to be for the 2016-2017. I love this school. Mrs. Raye and Mrs. Kimball are some wonderful ladies. They listen to your concerns and always allow you in the classroom with no hesitation. The kids love their teachers. The teachers are really great with my kids and great motivators.


Phenix City Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Raye is wonderful. I even look up to her. Keep up the good work.

Phenix City Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 13, 2016
- a community member
Thanking Mrs. Ray and Mrs. Kimmel for an outstanding job they have done with staff and children at Phenix City Elementary School. Thanking them for helping the students all know they can achieve any goal and be anything they want to be in life. I am proud to be in the PCES Hawks Community!

Phenix City Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2016
- a community member
This school is an outstanding place for children to learn. The new leadership for the last two years has tuned this school around. They Principal and Assistant Principal have put a light in these children's eyes. They believe in working hard and the numbers have incteased in A & B students. Incentives are not just for certain children, every child can achieve goals to benefit a chance at incentives. I am proud for my child to be A PCES Hawk!


Phenix City Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a community member
PCES has a wonderful Office Staff . The Principle and Asst. Principle are two of the most professional people I know. The Teachers are a joy to be around as well. The needs of the child seem to be the most important qualities in this school.

Phenix City Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a community member
The faculty is very friendly and always helpful. The school itself is warm and inviting. Students love the environment, and it is conducive to learning.

Phenix City Elementary School 4

Posted March 26, 2013
- a community member
Phenix City Rotary is pleased to support Central High School Community Problem Solvers in their Blossoming Education project site at Phenix City Elementary School. Our civic club and local high school students have joined together to redevelop a handicap accessible "peace" garden, refresh the play area and encourage the redevelopment of a nature trail adjacent to PCIS. Principal Jones and the faculty are engaged partners.


Phenix City Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2012
- a parent
Phenix City Elementary School has been a wonderful place for both of our children. Our oldest child attended 1-5 grade. He is now in 6th grade at PCIS. Our youngest completed kindergarten and first grade. The technology, emphasis on reading, emphasis on sight words, teachers, and curriculum make an excellent combination! Ipads, laptops, computers, etc. are used often. There are SmartBoards in every classroom. There are no portable "trailer" classrooms that many other districts have had to resort to. Class size is good and discipline is maintained fairly. The principal is very supportive of parents and teachers alike. He is fair to students and truly cares about their success. PCES also rewards success. Children receive T shirts and other incentives for meeting goals such as learning all 1000 Fry words, reaching Accelerated Reader milestones, behavior, and various math milestones. The curriculum for Reading is Story Town and the curriculum for math is Saxon Math. We would not move out of the PCES zone to attend any other school in the district, and this is something our family thinks about when trying to choose a new house to buy. PCES is clean, safe, and academically challenging.

Phenix City Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
THE INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE IS INACCURATE. The test scores listed are too low, the school information is out of date and, in many cases, just strange. According to the website, we offer Cantonese, and Mandarin as well as band, and orchestra. We do not. It lists 27 organized sports here but elementary schools in Phenix City do not offer organized sports. Many parents have toured the school and enrolled their students here. Some have said that the picture presented by Great Schools was not an accurate one. As the principal, I invite you to come and visit our school. You will receive a tour of the facility and may then decide for yourself. Our military families are often pleasantly surprised and have taken a great deal of pride in sending their children to this student-centered, technology-rich school. GreatSchools.com wants to sell you batteries or allergy medicine and has no incentive to provide you with accurate information. While some of the parent ratings are very flattering, they are usually based on one positive experience (or one negative one). Come for a visit. David Jones, Principal

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phenix City Elementary School
2307 South Railroad St, Phenix City, AL  36867
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (334) 732-1160
Last modified Phenix City Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top