Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Patrick's School

Private | PK-8 | 115 students

Accelerated academics and continuously modeling Catholicism throughout the day.

 

Living in Phenix City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

Prayers for a new beginning in the life of Saint Patrick's school. Hopefully with a new building, will change come also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Parent's, beware. After reading the recent posts it is evident that chaos has run a muck. Professionalism is not high on the agenda. Whether it be parent, teacher or vice principal who gave the review. As a parent, you should not be judgemental of another parent and make such accusations. As a teacher, you should not disclose information in reference to other children to other parents. As a vice principal, the same applies. The child is the most important part of the equation. Doing what is best for your children is the key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I am writing this review as a parent and former student. Some of the best years of my life were spent at this school. I made lifelong friends, learned a lot of valuable life lessons, and received a wonderful education. That education afforded me the opportunity to take advanced classes in high school and attend college on a full scholarship. Speaking as a parent, my child absolutely loved this school. We have had some wonderful teachers and he also was surrounded by a lot of great, well-behaved kids, who I hope will be lifelong friends for him. Is any school perfect? No. However, I would challenge anyone reading the negative reviews to tour the school, observe classes and interview the staff yourself. I think you will be pleasantly surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

This school is entirely unorganized. The administration is very much like a political party - either you're in or you're out. There is no actual curriculum or syllabus and the environment is a joke. This school use to be very admirable and worked well by teaching discipline and respect when there were actual accredited teachers. Since the school has been reopened, this is no longer - none of them are accredited nor do they have degrees for what they are teaching. As a previous poster stated, this school has only made my children make a huge step back and will most likely have to repeat the grade that they attended while at this school. Teaching basics is necessary for future development, not focusing on what grade level the children are testing at when you're giving them all the answers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

My daughter started pre-K at St Patrick's this year. I am so glad we chose this school over others in the area. Her teacher, Mrs. Monique is amazing as are all of the staff!! My daughter is learning to read, spell, add, pray, appreciate, cooperate, etc. I am so proud of her every single day when she gets home and teaches her younger sister all that she learned that day in school. I truly believe St. Patrick's is the best school in the area!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2011

I currently have three children enrolled at St. Patrick's. All three have very different learning styles. The teachers at St. Pat's have created a curriculum and atmosphere in which each student can excel, regardless of learning style. They offer the patience, love and discipline required to educate the whole child. We are looking forward to the construction of the new campus. We expect St. Pat's to continue it's long tradition of educating tomorrow's leaders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I have had my children at Saint Patrick's since shortly after it reopened. I think the teachers are wonderful, caring professionals who realize the importance of challenging the students. My children are doing advanced work and excelling at it! I am the type of parent who has my priorities in line. The education of my children comes before fancy cars and expensive vacations. I am giving my children a boost academically by putting them in Saint Patrick's. It may be wrong, but I take secret pleasure in telling my friends whose children attend public school that those class projects their kids are doing in 8th grade, my child did in the 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I went to Saint Patrick's when I was a child. I still keep in touch with the friends I made there. I was so very prepared for high school. The Principal at my high school used to say he could always tell students who came from Saint Patrick's because they were well behaved and all went into the honors program.


Posted September 18, 2010

We love St Pats. Where else can you find a school where kids are welcomed every day with a smile?Where else can you find teachers that are willing to challange students on a dayly base? We, as parents, are very satisfied with the school, it is a family oriented school, we don't have to worry about bullying or anything on that note. Before judging you should come and see with your own two eyes. You'll love it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

I found St. Patricks to be disorganized and lacking in discipline. My daughter (2nd grade) was in a classroom that contained 18 1st and 2nd grade students and the teacher was overwhelmed on her best day and indifferent and untalented on her worst. The leadership at St. Patricks is wholly under qualified for running any kind of educational establishment. The basics were lacking; again, no discipline or order, and there was no evidence of a lesson plan of any kind. The only plus for St. Patricks is the Pre-K 4 teacher. She is experienced and challenges her students everyday, even in the atmosphere that pervades the rest of the school. She is the standard that the rest of the faculty should be trying to emulate. Our one year at St. Patricks was disappointing, frustrating, and a backward step for our 2nd grade daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

St. Patrick's is a great Catholic School. My son has a wonderful first grade teacher. She teaches to meet the individual needs of each student in her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

This is an amazing school, my daughter has come so far in her learning through the help of her teacher. St. Pats is very family oriented and the kids all know each other. Its Great! You should really check this school out. By the way it is really affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

A school to be in, a peacefull environment where the kids get the best of everything. Love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

My daughter attended St. Patrick's for a year and a half. She was having trouble in Middle School because she was extremely shy. The teachers went above and beyond to help my Daughter. My daughter went into St. Patrick's, a very timid child. My Daughter left St. Patrick's with a love for herself and Personality we had never seen in her before. This school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

St Patrick's has a great Faculty and wonderful student to teacher ratio. The school offers concentrates on discipline, child safety and a place that fosters learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

I moved to St.Pats this year and I believe it was a huge blessing from God. It's an awsome school. It's smaller than most schools in Phenix City which I think is great, because you get to do activities and projects that you wouldnt be able to do in a classs of 30. Being a 8th grader, and going to public school my whole life, I feel like St. pat's is one of the best schools I've been to. I'm not looking forward to leaving in May. -Morgan Brooke
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2008

This school has been a 'God Send' for my 9 year old! He has been a behaviour challenge due to high intelligence and the public school system has not served him well. St. Pat's has small, intensive classes that focus on not only academics but the whole person! They keep him focused, challenged and teach him to be responsible for his actions, his own work and himself. The teachers are consistent, highly educated and patient. St. Pats combines a push for academic excellence with the principals of being a good human being with patience, love and understanding. Well worth the money. My 1st grader is also doing well. His teacher is fabulous and he loves going to school. The only improvement it could make is in its lunches and physical education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I am very pleased with the quality of education offered at Saint Pats. My oldest child made a very smooth transition into high school and found that many of her high school classes were the same as the ones offered while she was in 6th, 7th and 8th grade at Saint Pats. I was also very happy with the fact that they offer free tutoring 4 days a week. I think the teachers are loving and kind and our children are thriving because of it. We had tried other school but were disappointed because there was too much emphasis on sports and not enough on academics. Saint Patrick's has its priorities in line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

My daughter has learning problems. She has been to five schools in seven years. This is the only school that has brought her almost up to her grade level.(It hasent even been a year!) she loves it. She has so many friends and she loves going to school. I wish that they had more activities in the afternoon but this is the only school that has taken the time to help her and to make her feel that she can do and be anything in life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I am a parent of two children attending St. Patrick's School in Phenix City, AL, and I am very satisfied with the education St. Patrick's provides. My son is a gifted student and his teachers are teaching him at his own level of achievment. He is learning higher math skills as well as college-level English and Writing skills. The staff listens to our concerns and is more than willing to work with both of our children to drive their success. I would not have my children at any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 58%
Hispanic 10% 5%
Black 9% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 9% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ginger Morris, Administrator
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA; SACS Advanced accreditation
Fax number
  • (334) 298-3352

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
115
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
115

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Donations

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pacelli High School
Columbus High School
Central High School / Smiths Station
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3910 Lakewood Drive
Phenix City, AL 36867
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 298-3408

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Veritas Academy
Phenix City, AL


Lakewood Baptist Church
Phenix City, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT