Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clay-Chalkville High School

Public | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2004

I disagree with the reviews below. I am a student at cchs, and it is a great school. I dont understand all the comments about fighting, there is hardly ever a fight at school. everyone knows it is an auotomatic suspension, and if you fight in the cafeteria, you are put in alternative school. I also disagrre with the comments about drugs. sure there are drugs, but no more than any other school. The difference is that the principals at clay dont hide stuff. If you are caught with drugs, you go to alternative school and you are arrested. there is one assistant principal at school that knows more about the drugs there and in the community than anyone. Believe me, the people that use drugs steer way clear of him. the school is even going to start a drug testing program next year. I think cchs is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2004

I disagree. I am a student at CCHs and it is great. sure there are some drugs, like all schools. The administration does a great job of catching those who actually bring drugs to school. I know of a nearby school who hides it when they catch people. There is one assistant prin. who is like a demon when it comes to drugs, I could name him but I am not sure I am supposed to. my mom recently went to the meeting with the principal, and CCHs will be the first school in jefferson county to do drug testing. again, I think the school is great-much better than where I used to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2004

Like Rene, I plan to remove my child from this school. The drugs and violence are huge problems in the school that no one seems to be addressing. I only disagree with one thing that Rene said - I'm not so sure the teachers are even that effective. I hate to say that because maybe they're doing the best they can in such an environment. The B of E really needs to investigate the school leaders. Like the student who rated the school said, kids are afraid to be a 'snitch'. The school should not put kids in that kind of a position anyway. Put the adults out there to find out what's going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2004

I moved my child out of this school due to drugs and voilence..........the teachers were good, however the school needs to get a hold of the drug problem and fighting........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

I went to cchs for 2 years and loved it I knew everyone there.the problem with drugs is bad, but you have to admit that drugs are bad at every school not just clay. claY is not just drugs they have a great school system with the teachers and everything. I just loved it and I will be going back next year
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Clay-Chalkville use to be one of the best schools in Jefferson County but we are so over crowded and problems with drugs have gotten so bad that if we don't get rezoned soon our children are going to suffer and it will be too late. Every other child in this school has to be put in the middle of drugs and racism. I think there needs to be some class to teach our children how to get along and work together and the staff needs to be made to treat these children equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2003

Great school wonderful sports program. The arts could use a little help. Much help needed with traffic flow in the mornings and afternoons. Overall great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

CCHS is a wonderful school and I would recomed it to anyone. As a graduate, I feel as though I was offered the very best opportunities at Clay Chalkville.


Posted August 22, 2003

Wonderful school overall, but a little too crowded. Teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2003

Clay-Chalkville is one of the best schools in Alabama grade wise and in sports.


Posted May 2, 2003

CCHS is a good school. The staff is sweet.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

318 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

321 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

321 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

320 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

257 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

320 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

301 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education90%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty95%
Non-poverty99%

Language

All Students76%
Female81%
Male71%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Special education27%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Poverty61%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education50%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty91%

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male82%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Special education37%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty93%

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female57%
Male65%
Black46%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Special education14%
General population66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Poverty47%
Non-poverty70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education100%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Poverty100%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students96%
Female99%
Male92%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education74%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty97%

Math

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible99%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education89%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education79%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty98%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female91%
Male96%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education68%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 34%
White 46% 58%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Steve Laney
Fax number
  • (205) 680-8128

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6623 Roe Chandler Rd
Pinson, AL 35126
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 379-3050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Erwin High School
Birmingham, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT