Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rudd Middle School

Public | 6-9 | 858 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

I don't like that this school is so run down. And so many new teachers every year. No parking to really speak of. Especially when administration holds events for all 3 grades on one evening. Seriously? Can't spread it out to make it a little easier not to mention safety? Also WHY do students walk around a parking lot (with traffic no less) for PE? This school can be a much better and safer learning environment if more parents speak up to the BOE and above. Stand up for our kids! Acidemcis needs more help too. Tired of seeing this school get such a low grade/rating year after year after year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

I have been looking at the GOOD comments and i really cant wait to come to the school. My friend and I cant wait?


Posted November 10, 2012

If a school can not make AYP two years in a row, maybe it is time for new leadership. Only the parents in the community can make that happen. Pressure from organized parents has worked wonders in many failing school systems. Stand up parents in Pinson. Take back your school. Demand results.


Posted February 10, 2012

I went to Pinson schools myself my entire life. Rudd is nothing like when I was there. This is a terrible school system who has not met AYP for two years in a row. If we could move we would, I am trying all I can to get my children into AYP passing schools as we speak. The staff here is just as terrible. There are very few teachers that take their job seriously. The others are just there. If you have the chance don't sent your child to any Pinson schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

Everybody please ignore that comment below "where the heck did they get mr.harris from...----" it was just a joke done by a mad kid who qot in trouble and was venting...!Thanks so much and have a nice day..!


Posted April 6, 2011

I just purchased a house in this area and I think it was a huge mistake. Not the area but the school. I have had a "run-in" with a teacher and my 7th grade son. My son is a straight A student and has never had a disciplinary problem with any school. I had to deal with Mr. Harris during this incident and something that should have been resolved with a conference turned into a shouting match. I hate I purchased a home in this area and I hate this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Assistant principals are a joke. If the Jefferson County School Board allows these two men to become head pricipals at another school, then they are making a huge mistake. The dealings that I have had with these two assistants have been very discouraging. Not only do they treat the students poorly, they show a complete lack of disrespect to parents. Their smug and disrespectful attitudes do not help in any way. In any meetings that you have with these two morons, you can tell that they really enjoy having power over the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I don't like this school and i definetly don't like the facilty and the way they treat students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

i love rudd middle school i go there im in mrs st john classroom 4 first period
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

Rudd Administrators work very hard to keep order in the school. Makes me feel very good about the safety of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

all the staff really care about the children and work hard to make our school a great place for learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love RUDD because it is a great school. The teachers are awesome, they are always willing to help out, the office staff are helpful and there is a great group of kids that go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

the principal at Rudd truely cares about these students and is always there to help in any way she can. She doesn't just say it, I've seen first hand that she is very invovled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Rudd Middle School has a principal that cares about each of the kids. She expects the same from each of her teachers and administration. Everyone works together to make sure our kids are receiving the education they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

Please let me begin by saying that I have been, and still am, very happy with the education my daughter is receiving at this school. The teachers and staff, for the most part, really seem to care and try their best to help the children achieve all they can. I love the Pre-AP classes that are offered. I have never had a problem with a teacher getting back to me via email within 1 business day, sometimes the same day. Mrs. Whitehurst is awesome, as is Mr. Harris. I am very glad that my child is attending this school. It is apparent the teachers I have encountered are in this profession because they want to make a difference in children's lives. I look forward to this year and next for my daughter here at Rudd Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

The staff does not treat the children with respect or kindness. The dress code and the locker rules are outrageous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I like rudd middle school especially the teachers and coaches. i am going to the 7th grade this year and the only thing i have to say is the school needs some updating. but u have to work hard to pass because the teachers dont play around but they still have the humurous side.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

Mr. Harris is the best thing that has happened to Rudd in a long time. My student is finally able to learn because Mr. Harris removes the students that misbehaves from the classroom. I wish Mr. Anders would have done the same last year. Students who misbehave should be sent home so the kids who come to the school to actually learn have the opportunity to do so. Detention is a joke. I have heard plenty of other students say 'I only got detention, it's no big deal'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

I am overall pleased with Rudd. The principal, Mrs. Whitehurst is great. My son has ADHD and she has been very helpful. I cannot say the same about Mr Harris. He is over the discipline for the 7th grade. He is a great disciplinarian but he talks to the kids like they are beneath him and he degrades them in front of other students. It is hard to talk to him about your child because he is so rude and arrogant. If he talks to adults that way, I can only imagine how he talks to the children. The special education program here is great! Mrs. Southerland and Mr. Ormond are wonderful!!! The teachers are great and so is the curriculum. Get rid of Mr. Harris and let Mr. Anders handle the discipline and it would be about just about perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I have two children attending Rudd and they both like it there. I like that they offer Pre-AP classes so kids can advance. I am pleased with the teachers. The PTA sends an email to all members every day with updates on the school activities and announcements. This is a public school in Jefferson County, Alabama. It doesn't have any money. It is racially integrated and has kids from all walks of life. This school requires more community involvement to keep it up due to lack of funding. It comes along with being a Jeff Co school. However the education experience seems to be good!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible68%
Special education38%
General population80%
English language learners9%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Poverty68%
Not poverty88%

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligible93%
Special education44%
General population96%
English language learners18%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty88%
Not poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female61%
Male50%
Black49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White61%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Special education18%
General population62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant55%
Poverty50%
Not poverty67%

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male81%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education40%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty84%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female72%
Male65%
Black54%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education28%
General population75%
English language learners23%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Poverty59%
Not poverty83%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male77%
Black73%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education31%
General population89%
English language learners23%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty72%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education30%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty77%
Not poverty89%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 58%
Black 36% 34%
Hispanic 12% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Susan Millican Whitehurst
Fax number
  • (205) 680-8124

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4526 Rudd School Rd
Pinson, AL 35126
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 379-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Covenant Academy
Birmingham, AL


Erwin High School
Birmingham, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT