Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prattville High School

Public | 8-12 | 2057 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

I don't think there is really a way of saying this other than being completely honest - this school is just like any other school that you'll come across. If you are looking for perfection, you will hate every public school. I graduate this May and spent all four years at Prattville and it is what you make it to be. If your kid mopes around and doesn't talk to anyone, THEY AREN'T GOING TO MAKE FRIENDS OR HAVE HELP FROM TEACHERS! don't expect your teenager to get everything handed to them on a silver platter when everything is now THEIR responsibility. I have had the most help and the most mercy with all of the teachers that I've had and the kids there act how any other teenager in the world would act. you can't expect golden toilet seats and nap time, high school is high school and if you aren't paying for it, then you get what you give. The principal and staff do their jobs very well, the dress code of no uniforms is a great privilege, and if you're going to live in the Montgomery/Prattville region, Prattville is your best option. Check out the public schools in Montgomery and then complain. ;-)


Posted November 16, 2013

My kids currently go to Prattville High and I can tell you it is probably one of the worst schools I have ever had to deal with. Mr. Dennis is probably the worse principal. It is about Football there, academics are a joke. It is very hard to get ahold of anyone at the school, including counselors, you basically have to go down there and then you will be lucky if the front office even knows where they are at the time. Very disorganized, very clickish, very backwoods. Teachers do not keep up with grading or where your child is in their class and tutoring availability is a joke. The students are allowed to harrass other students and guidelines for dress are comical. i am sure that the reviews of the families that love the school are pretty much only from the area of Prattville because they all grew up around there and "outsiders" are not welcomed. Move you kids out asap!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

The new principal, has greatly improved this school since he took over in Aug. 2011. This year 2012-2013 is even better. I have an AP student who has attended 8 schools over 12 years and she is thriving with caring teachers. We are a military family on our second assignment to Maxwell AFB. Our oldest graduated from LAMP when we lived on base and it was a fine school for her. PHS has given our other child a broader view of socioeconomic situations and academic levels. Our teen was accepted at LAMP since we thought we would move to Montgomery, but we decided the broader spectrum of sports, clubs, and students at PHS would be a better option and selected to live in Prattville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

PHS is one of the worst schools we have ever dealt with. Teachers do not communicate with parents unless you contact the Principle or Asst. Principle to get things handle. Teachers leave in the middle of the year and parents are not notified, they expect the students to tell their parent which leave parents with no contact information. Students have to redo work done in class because either teacher or teacher s aides have lost or not graded the work. Parents are expected to purchase Inow website in order to keep up with how their children are doing in school however teachers do not update them until months later if they do at all! I have contacted the counselor when we found out we were moving, left a message and NEVER received a return phone call. This school only cares about their sports team ...especially FOOTBALL so if you would like to be on a winning FOOTBALL team PHS is your school but if you want a school that cares about your children run the other way and find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

I'm appalled at how teachers and other staff members are ignoring the blatant bullying problem at this school. A girl I am very close to almost shot herself last night after having read several notes with hateful, hurtful, and otherwise deplorable comments on them. If this continues, I will most definitely be contacting administration. This is not okay and has to stop!


Posted December 4, 2011

My daughter graduated from Prattville in 2009 and my son is poised to graduate this May. Both my children have received educations that have prepared them for the next stage in their lives. My daughter is currently enrolled at UAB and my son plans to attend Stamford University. Prattville High is not undisciplined or substandard in any way. It goes back to parenting and not expecting the school to be your children's guardian. The adage "Garbage in/Garbage out" is true of any program. That said, Prattville offers AP and Honors courses for the students who expect to be challenged. If you don't like its focus on football, ask -- no, plead for a transfer out of this area of the country, because it is a huge part of our heritage in Alabama and across the southeast as well. Go Lions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

This school is great. My whole four years of going here were the best years of my life. I just recently graduated from Prattville and the school is not a zoo. Considering how many kids go there it is doing very well. All schools have things they aren't proud of, like fights. It doesn't just happen at Prattville. I was apart of the band and that was wonderful. We don't just care about football. Academics are more important that football. Just because we are good and take pride in it doesn't mean that is all we focused on. I would recomend this school to any teenager.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2011

To all the parents who dont actually go there, you obviously have no idea about it. There is control, especially with the arival of Mr. Dennis. From people not attending the school, it does look like its all about football, but trust me its not!!! I have teachers that are extremely hard, and I'm a straight a student. Band is great, the pep rallies are amazing and the classes are challenging. Please do not post about what you dont know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2011

Prattville high school is a big public school with a wide variety of kids and interests. In general, they do a good job in maintaining discipline. Academically the kids do well in the honors and AP classes and many come out with extremely high SAT and ACT scores. In the regular level classes there are quite a few that aren't there to learn. My big complaint with the school was that they require a class time for varsity athletics. When you combine that plus some of the health class requirements for freshman it doesn't leave a lot of academic classes for college bound kids. If you aren't going to be there through graduation I would raise a ruckus over the health classes. They will work with you on this if you complain high enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

This school leaves a lot to be desired. It is a zoo. Teachers don't seem to have control at all. It's way too hard to reach teachers and forget getting a call back. my child has done well here but to many troublemakers who have no desire to learn. do not send your child here! Military families look to Mary for better education!!!!!! Football is not life...education is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

This is the worst school in the state. The principal only cares about football and politics. He runs for the office of superintendent, but can't even run this school. He should be replaced immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

This school is disappointing at best. The faculty, from the principal to the guidance counsellors are difficult to reach and respond to parents only after being threatened with escalating to their superiors. This school is not about academics and if you read the reviews that say the school is good, you'll notice they were posted in 2007-2008. My son has attended PHS for three years and I have not been impressed by the curriculum or the faculty. I believe that the focus is on simply getting a paycheck and football (not necessarily in that order). Look for other alternatives. PHS is not the place for your children if you'd like a school that actually cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

Although there are a few wonderful teachers and some fun clubs to get involved in, overall this school is terrible! The school is better than the Montgomery public schools; however, it is a zoo, and many of the students act like animals. Many teachers do nothing about blatant tabacco use, and fights occur more than frequently. The administration is pathetic, and football is the focus. The four by four block schdule in addition to the overwhelming amount of lazy teachers makes it difficult to truly learn material. Military families avoid putting your teens in this school if at all possible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

This school is OK. The AP classes are a must to be challenged and to get away from toublemakers. The band is great for students to make friends. I feel there is not much leadership from the principal. Dress codes not enforced. Football players get away with way too much. The average student would be kicked out. I think this school is on its way down quickly if they don't move Mr. Agee from the Jr. High to the high school very quickly. It is all about the football, but they have seen the best days already. That said, my freshman all A's band student loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Terrible school. no academics all sports. Priniciple only cares about moving up politically. He wants to be superintendent and has run for the office, but can't control his own school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Not easy for transfer students to get into. The district makes it difficult to transfer credits. No parental involvement what so ever. And it's all about the football team. Sports is a class vs. an extracurricular, which is hilarious, just to advance the football team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

Prattville High School is a wonderful school to attend. To the parent that said the advanced diploma was going to be discontinued at this school, that is not true. I am on the advanced diploma and continue to be on it in the '09-'10 school year. The staff at this school are very caring an are very motivative to me and my peers. School spirt is excellent at Prattville High School. I am in the Pride of Prattville Marching Band and it is excellent! My freshman year was so much easier because I was in the band and I already knew so many people. If you are relocating to Prattville, be prepared to love this school and to join the band :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2009

Prattville High School is a horrible school to attend. Parents may think so but its not. There are too many people and too small of a school. Its apperence is large, but with so many people, its too small.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2009

To the parent below.. The advanced diploma is still being offered in 2009. You were obviously misinformed. Great academics, social life, athletics, and overall school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

Biggest complaint - very unmotivated teachers, they are not caring nor have challenged my daughters to excel; I had to send my freshman daughter to a geometry tutor just to be able to comprehend the material sucessfully...their jrotc program totally turned off my formerly motivated jrotc enrolled daughter from her former school and attended in her sophmore year there will now not pursue it further after her experience at PHS. More $$ and attention is spent on their football program than academics. My freshman daughter had to dress out for PE in a hallway of an athletic bldg. There are no locker rooms for the freshman girls enrolled in the mandatory PE class. Their 'advanced diploma' program is now gone (beginning 2009-2010). If I had to do it over again, I would have put my daughters in a private school. If relocating, prepare your children for a huge culture shock.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education56%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty88%
Not poverty98%

Language

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible89%
Special education18%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty65%
Not poverty89%

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male87%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education26%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty76%
Not poverty93%

Reading

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education21%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty68%
Not poverty95%

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female72%
Male80%
Black55%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligible74%
Special education18%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant76%
Poverty55%
Not poverty85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black95%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education53%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty95%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students0%
Female0%
Male92%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islander0%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education33%
General population0%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant0%
Poverty89%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education27%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant95%
Poverty91%
Not poverty97%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible97%
Special education33%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant97%
Poverty91%
Not poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education20%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty77%
Not poverty94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 58%
Black 26% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1315 Upper Kingston Rd
Prattville, AL 36067
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 365-8804

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Autauga Co Tech Center
Prattville, AL



Autauga Co Alt School
Prattville, AL




Autauga Academy
Prattville, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT