Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-6
Public district
Prattville, AL
Students enrolled: 1,295
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Daniel Pratt Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
I have had two grandchildren attend DPES and have met all their teachers and participated in many of their events. Both grandchildren have done outstanding and continue to lead in their peer groups. The teachers have all been outstanding in their training, preparation and presentation of subject material. The children enjoy going to school for the learning experience. I can't think of any other school I would rather have my grandchildren attend.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Once I got a call from our child's teacher. For the first (and last, thank goodness) time, he got in trouble twice in a day. The second time, another kid got in trouble for talking and our child was also talking but did not get in trouble. Our son then went to the teacher and admitted he should have gotten in trouble, too, which he rightfully did. A ticket was taken away or given, whatever the consequences were. Regardless, this practice we believe reflects what was expected from his teacher. Although not pleased for getting in trouble, we were impressed with his admittance and what was expected in the classroom.


Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Our kid is not bogged down from right after school till bedtime. Depending on the homework and his personal strengths / challenges, some assignments can take longer. Nothing has stood out as overwhelming. But enough after school assignments exist to reinforce concepts that may need it. I think teachers try to give plenty of practice at school for a student to understand a new idea or learn a story / words.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Seems to be a "can do" environment. Words and phrases exist in every hallway that encourage, inspire, challenge, set the tone for how to be a good student and a good friend. Teaches more than just how to succeed academically.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Again, diversity and differences are recognized as simply that. Not better or worse, but just different and wonderful. An opportunity to learn something different, allow each other to be their own person. Not be casted out. Bullying is not tolerated and examples of what that can look like is communicated.


Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Our son rotated through four classes for different subjects. Three of the four classes the teachers would regularly pair students together and have them help each other. The students were expected to take turns talking, help each other out even if they didn't like each other or naturally hang out together. They (all students at DPES) attend performances and celebrate occasions throughout the year that respect differences and celebrate diversity. Examples are given of what that can look like and how ugly it can be when a person thinks they are superior because they are different. Just listening to children at play when two may disagree, I've witnessed effective conflict management skills. Taking turns talking. Coming up with a plan that either satisfies all a little bit or an entirely new activity is chosen. I can bet it's not always this way, but pretty dang impressive. When military return from deployments and visit their child(ren), staff honors the circumstances and allows the class to understand the sacrifice made and the celebration of the armed forces member's return. Patriotic holidays are honored with musical performances, messages spoken over the intercom. It's way cool!

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
In most cases Children are not allowed to talk. They are not allowed to ask questions. They are not allowed to Report a student for wrong doing because that is tattling.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
They demand it from the kids yet display the opposite behavior. Kids learn the right words to say in order to make appear as though they have integrity and respect but behind clised doors they model the behaviors they see displayed by the staff and that is a lack of respect for one self and others.


Daniel Pratt Elementary School 4

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
This is a school with some phenomenal teachers but the attendance policies are a bit ridiculous! The students are allowed three unexused tardies or three unexcused absences (there's a 3 day grace period to turn in an excused note) until they are given detention, even the first graders are included in this policy. This doesn't seem like much until you factor in that a parents written excuse doesn't necessarily excuse a tardy/an absence. This school requires notes from doctors appointments which is easy to do if you know about this policy before you get a letter a month later from the tardy officer.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
This is the worst school that my children have attended. The children get bullied by the teachers which have lead to other students bullying each other. They will punish students for their wrongdoings but not the teachers. My children come home everyday with horrible stories. The principals even threaten the students. My children are so afraid. Military families please stay away. The principal retired and they still have informed the parents and this happened about 3 weeks ago. They put children as small as 1st graders in school suspension for 3 days even if the punishment doesn't fit the crime. My children have gotten bullied but afraid to tell because they will get in trouble for tattling.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
420 Harvest Loop, Prattville, AL  36066
(334) 361-6400
Last modified Daniel Pratt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Daniel Pratt Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 126 reviews. Top