Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
89 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 127 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Daniel Pratt Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
We have been a part of the DPES family since my daughter was in 1st grade. No run in with principal n vp r nice front desk lady Sarah. first recommend Horton now Johnson i think 3rd defintly mrs stewrat n 5th byard n myers ms harp is good too other teachers well good luck

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Colvin, For taking the time to understand my sin as well as the patience to help him grow. She encouraged his love of reading.


Daniel Pratt Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a community member
I have had two grandchildren attend DPES and have met all their teachers and participated in many of their events. Both grandchildren have done outstanding and continue to lead in their peer groups. The teachers have all been outstanding in their training, preparation and presentation of subject material. The children enjoy going to school for the learning experience. I can't think of any other school I would rather have my grandchildren attend.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Once I got a call from our child's teacher. For the first (and last, thank goodness) time, he got in trouble twice in a day. The second time, another kid got in trouble for talking and our child was also talking but did not get in trouble. Our son then went to the teacher and admitted he should have gotten in trouble, too, which he rightfully did. A ticket was taken away or given, whatever the consequences were. Regardless, this practice we believe reflects what was expected from his teacher. Although not pleased for getting in trouble, we were impressed with his admittance and what was expected in the classroom.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Our kid is not bogged down from right after school till bedtime. Depending on the homework and his personal strengths / challenges, some assignments can take longer. Nothing has stood out as overwhelming. But enough after school assignments exist to reinforce concepts that may need it. I think teachers try to give plenty of practice at school for a student to understand a new idea or learn a story / words.


Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Seems to be a "can do" environment. Words and phrases exist in every hallway that encourage, inspire, challenge, set the tone for how to be a good student and a good friend. Teaches more than just how to succeed academically.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Again, diversity and differences are recognized as simply that. Not better or worse, but just different and wonderful. An opportunity to learn something different, allow each other to be their own person. Not be casted out. Bullying is not tolerated and examples of what that can look like is communicated.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Our son rotated through four classes for different subjects. Three of the four classes the teachers would regularly pair students together and have them help each other. The students were expected to take turns talking, help each other out even if they didn't like each other or naturally hang out together. They (all students at DPES) attend performances and celebrate occasions throughout the year that respect differences and celebrate diversity. Examples are given of what that can look like and how ugly it can be when a person thinks they are superior because they are different. Just listening to children at play when two may disagree, I've witnessed effective conflict management skills. Taking turns talking. Coming up with a plan that either satisfies all a little bit or an entirely new activity is chosen. I can bet it's not always this way, but pretty dang impressive. When military return from deployments and visit their child(ren), staff honors the circumstances and allows the class to understand the sacrifice made and the celebration of the armed forces member's return. Patriotic holidays are honored with musical performances, messages spoken over the intercom. It's way cool!


Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
In most cases Children are not allowed to talk. They are not allowed to ask questions. They are not allowed to Report a student for wrong doing because that is tattling.

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
They demand it from the kids yet display the opposite behavior. Kids learn the right words to say in order to make appear as though they have integrity and respect but behind clised doors they model the behaviors they see displayed by the staff and that is a lack of respect for one self and others.

Nearby schools

Daniel Pratt Elementary School
420 Harvest Loop, Prattville, AL  36066
(334) 361-6400
Last modified Daniel Pratt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top