Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Prattville Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 54 students

We are best known for Christian based academics.

 
 

Living in Prattville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

My child attended PCA for 1 year. He made all As that year. I was concerned though because he never came home with any books. Well when he took the SATs he scored horribly!! We moved him to another school and he was so behind from that year in PCA. It took him 2 years to catch up to his peers in the new school. His SATs are now well ahead of the national standards and he has the highest grades in the class. Also, PCA is way overpriced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Just do one thing if you're a new parent who's thinking of this as your child's future school: ask if they follow a Common Core Curriculum and are aligned or are receiving any funding. You should see a good dance- if not a good dance, you'll see a great use of a script or thesaurus. Also ask if they stifle free speech or discriminate. You'll see the same song and dance all over again.


Posted November 7, 2013

I would like to put in a parent opinion of PCA...especially in response to the two "one star" reviews in 2013. I am just an average parent with an average child. I am not related to any administration at PCA. I have had a child at PCA going on seven years now. Is PCA perfect...no. Is any school perfect...no. The administration from the President down to the janitor give their best to this school and their students. They are constantly trying to better the school with curriculum, technology, staff, and facilities. God is at the center of this school...the aspect I love most about this school. My child gets a good education and loves it at PCA! As parents, we are very happy, as well. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

I've read all the positive reviews and have to question the criteria used. We've found the school to be overcrowded and the teacher does not have the capacity to give the kids the proper attention. Our son is bored out of his mind. Also, he comes home with unfinished work, which reinforces my view that he is not getting the attention any student deserves. Another point is the overexageration of "incidents" between kids. They seem to feel any spat between the kids is a an incident that warrants a visit to the couselor or a call to the parents. Let them be kids, and if the situations warrants some discipline, then they should know how to apply it. But, instead they "tattle" to the parents and the requisite punishment is delayed, which in most cases would probably help fix the problem. I know this may sound like I'm defending my child, but we've met with a behavioral therapist just in case, and she specifically pointed out to us that PCA tended to overexagerated things and were not too good at handling discipline cases. So, take if for what it's worth. We came here from Virginia and have become very aware of the disparity of education systems in this country. Thank you for reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

Truly a blessing to our children and the community! PCA has made a very positive impact on both of my children. The staff, including the Principal, are all extremely engaged. The level of communication from our teachers is outstanding! There is not enough time or room to say all of the amazing and positive things about this institution. P.S. the tuition is extremely reasonable as well. Thinking about PCA? Call them and set up a time to visit. You will see, like we did, that this is a great environment for your children and for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

This is easily the very best school in the area. The Principal is knowledgeable of all the students and they all love him. Academics, sports, activities are all leading the way for kids of all grades. They teach Christ but don't ram it down your throat. Teachers are tops in all aspects. We have been there 3 years and would not go elsewhere. Their Ministry Partners program and Booster Club provide necessary elements to round out the education offered there. Relatively new but offering more variety each year. Building a program and challenging each student to do their best daily. A waiting list in all grades tells parents of the quality that is offered to those enrolled. No bus pickup but arrival and dismissal is tightly controled by staff with safety paramount for all students and staff accessing the campus. Priced competitively but you get so much for the money spent. Take a tour of the facilities and it is obvious how everyone feels about PCA. A growing campus with potential and opportunities for all. You will be amazed as we were of what goes on there with a real 'team' spirit among the staff. Don't miss out to see and add to the total effort put forth for everyone.


Posted July 21, 2011

We are a military family only in Prattville for a year. Our 3 children loved PCA. They were challenged academically. However, we were most thankful for the caring teachers and leaders who knew everyone's name and were able to lovingly assist them with any issues. We would definitely make the choice to go to PCA again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

My son has been attending PCA for 10 years and our daughter for 2 years. We love this school. The Principal is enthusiastic and friendly. The teachers and staff are fabulous. Keep up the good work PCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I graduated in 2009 from PCA, and I can easily say that PCA was the best school for me. Great teachers, great staff, and great leadership. The PCA family continues to grow, along with the athletics there which are improving by the day. I strongly recommend sending your child year, you will be happy you did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2009

PCA is a Christian school. This school takes any religion you are. A kid in my class was not a Christian ,but the opposite. He was not pressured to become a Christian. The teachers at Prattvillle Christian Academy cares about the students but it not that hard to do the work. As in other words it easy and not challenging. We all love the teachers and the staff there are very nice and cares alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2009

I love this school and everyone will. All the teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2009

My daughter loves this school and all the teachers and other staff are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

Our oldest child started in 7th grade and has now graduated PCA and moved on to college. Our youngest started PCA in the fourth grade and is now in 8th grade. Our family has never thought twice about our decision to move our children out of public school and into the private school setting of PCA. The teachers and staff are caring and considerate of each child's needs. The curriculum is top notch and I have always felt that families of all faiths are welcome no matter your religion or beliefs. The administration is always willing to listen to cares and concerns. It is just a wonderful Christian environment for children to thrive in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

This is our 2nd year at PCA. My oldest son is in 7th grade and loves it. We are in the process of moving our 3rd grader over as well. PCA provides a wonderful environment that encourages and supports high academic standards and opportunities, good sportsmanship in the many sports programs and development of life long friendships among its students. We are so happy to have found such a place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

This is the best private school north of Montgomery and south of Birmingham.Academics are rigorous in the lower school(my children are 2nd and 6th graders). For example, my 6th grader is reviewing order of operations in math as the year begins. Advanced public school students get to order of operations about middle way of 7th grade. Parents are very involved. The environment has relaxed both my children. High entrance standards, small class sizes and strict code of conduct make problem children and parents disappear. Bible classes are rigorous and basically teach scripture. Of course, the scripture offends some. So be it. So far, an outstanding investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

I went to school here in 9th grade, and I absolutely loved it. The teachers were very helpful to the students, even when two of them left in the middle of the year, but their replacements were great. The classes are very small, which I loved, because all of us were very tightly knit. I'm at a different school this year, but I miss it so much, I think I'll visit if I can.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 22, 2006

I have a child there in the middle school and Prattville Christian Academy has a good level of academic programs! They have very high standards for the kids that should help prepare them (the kids) for college. I feel the administration communicates with the parents well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2006

We love it. Our daughter just finished K-5, and can't wait to get back in school for first grade. Top notch staff and administration. They truly care about your child. Wouldn't have her anywhere else! We moved from Montgomery to make it happen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I have been so pleased with the school. Last year was our first year and it was wonderful! There is great communication between the school and parents. You know what is going on at the school with most grades. I am proud to have my child go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 58%
Black 5% 34%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Elmore County Schools
Autauga County Schools
Local Private and Home Schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Alabama
Auburn University
Auburn University Montgomery
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Greek
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AISA Blue Ribbon Award (2010)
  • AISA Blue Ribbon Award (2008)
  • AISA Blue Ribbon Award (2007)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Greek
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Greek
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ron Mitchell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (334) 285-1777

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Greek
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Greek
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents and the community are involved in pca through the partners for education (pfe) program. the pfe partners with the school to provide opportunities not possible through normal funding and curriculum.
More from this school
  • We have a wonderful web site at www.4pca.com There is a great deal of information there about the school.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Elmore County Schools
Autauga County Schools
Local Private and Home Schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Alabama
Auburn University
Auburn University Montgomery
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

322 Old Farm Lane North
Prattville, AL 36066
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 285-0077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT