Advertisement
Advertisement

East Memorial Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 370 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Prattville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2009

My daughter graduated this year and we will miss the school greatly. The staff is wonderful and really cares for the children. We feel very blessed our daughter was able to go the EMAC. Bro. Jerry, the princpal/school administrator, whatever hat you put on him :) ....... he is just great with the kids! The Lord has blessed this school and we hope to see many more years of them serving the Lord and educating or youth in a good, healthy, Godly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

My son just graduated this year with a full academic scholarship to Auburn! How can you argue with that, we love this place! Go Wildcats and War Eagle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Both of my kids have attended EMCA since it opened. I can honestly say they are more knowledgeable about the bible than I am. EMCA has truly been a blessing to our family. It's been wonderful watching my kids grow and learn in such a christian environment. My husband and I would work part-time jobs to keep our children at EMCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

I've had 2 students to graduate from EMCA and they are doing great in college. Both received full tuition academic scholarships for college. They felt very prepared for college. I still have one student at EMCA and he is doing great. The staff is very professional and has a heart for the students. They go above and beyond to help their students be successful. The administration is committed to evaluting what is being done and willing to make the appropriate changes to be the best. They have an open door policy that allows parents to voice their concerns and/or their praise. It is the best school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

Our daughter attended EMCA this school year for the first time. She was hesitant to do so but after the first few weeks made the statment that she 'loves EMCA and would not go back to her prior public high school for any reason'. Mr. Watkins, Administrator, is wonderful! He is very personable with each family/student, compassionate, and above all wants EMCA to honor Christ. I feel our daughter is being well-educated and prepared for college in the near future. The extra-curricular opportunities are many and parents are encouraged to become involved in all areas of school life. Visit EMCA and you will experience the warm-hearted atmosphere that draws families to this great school! Best Chrishstian school in the tri-county area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

My daughter has been attending EMCA for three years. We have absolubetly loved it! She just graduated this past Thursday night. We have enjoyed the professionalism by staff and faculty. Along with this professionalism, there is alsom a high degree of a family atmosphere. It is very pleasant to have your child called by name by the principal. We will be a little saddened to not be an active part of the EMCA family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

I went to a private school where the attitude was 'if you don't like it, you can leave.' Prior to this year my child was in public school and the feeling I got most of the time was that parents were intruders and the teachers were burned out. It has not been like that at EMCA. Everyone has been nice and gone above and beyond to make us feel at home. The school does a great job of keeping partents informed, staying up to date with technology, and providing quality education while preparing the students for the real world. My child had some difficulty with two subjects; I spoke with the teachers and they were professional, kind, and handled my concerns quickly and thoroughly. The amount of homework is reasonable. The administration is great, office staff is great, teachers are great. We will be at EMCA until graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

A wonderful school. My son loves it and the teachers are very dedicated. A beka book too! Also, when you see the teachers' own kids going there and the principal's as well, that tells you something about this school. The principal , Jerry watkins, is an oustanding very personalable man that cares deeply about the vision of this school. As a parent, I trust my child is getting the best education possible and obtaining the knowledge of God not just by the teaching but by example and that goes along way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Excellent school, I would not change schools for anything. Even if it did mean paying less! Jerry Watkins is great, the teachers are great and if your child is not involved in something, it is because he/she does not want to be. The whole foundation is built on Christ which you will not find in public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

EMCA has been a wonderful experience for our daughter. She was dissatisfied with the public school environment and felt as though she did not fit in. She has attended EMCA for two years and loves it. She is receiving a quality education in a loving, Christ centered environment where she has much in common with other students. The staff has been a blessing to our family and has gone above and beyond to make sure children who attend school there are nurtured and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I love this school! We learn a lot and have fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2009

EMCA has over exceeded our expectations as parents. They have an excellent curriculmn that is equipped with loving and caring teachers. The scholastic achievement of the students is very impressive and the biblical teaching drives the students to focus more on Christ and it also plants a desire to learn and be focused more on his kingdom. EMCA has been a blessing in my family life and we glad that we found a school where our kids are receiving a quality education in a loving and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

EMCA has proven to be a wonderful place of learning. From the teachers and staff to the students one couldn't ask for a better school. When the juniors and seniors willingly help the elementary kids giving them a positive role model to look up to it gives you a sense of pride. The children are instilled with a sense of purpose and love from all the wonderful Christ following staff. Once again, a wonderful place for your child to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We are a military family that moved here a year ago from Albermarle County Virginia. We found the curriculum and academics to be on par with our son's school in VA. The staff and teachers are very caring and encourage the kids to do their best academically. Our son continues to read above grade level and the school uses the Accelerated Reader program to challenge the kids in this area. The principal and my son's teacher were very accessible and responded quickly to my notes and emails. As a first grader he had PE, Art, Music and Spanish during the week. EMCA has welcomed our family and our son into the school, and he was not treated any differently than any other child. We strongly recommend this school to families moving to the Montgomery area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

East Memorial Christian Academy is the best private Christian school in the area. I check all the schools in the area before I decided to send my children to EMCA. The faculty and staff are well trained and have the well-being of the children as their priority. The atmsostsphere at the school is Christ centered and the cirriculum is challanging. I now have 4 children at EMCA and am thrilled with the quality of education they are receiving. The school is also expanding it's athletic programs and is very competetive in the AISA. Overall EMCA is an outstanding school and a top choice inthe Prattville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We have been so blessed by the education our son has received thus far at EMCA. My son is reading books in K-4! He loves going to school each day and cried every night the last week of school because it was going to be over. I am constantly amazed at was he has learned not only academically - but about the Lord and building good character. An excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

EMCA has been a great blessing to our family. Our 4th grader and 2nd grader have been challenged academically and have grown spiritually. Our transition to EMCA was seamless much to the efforts of teachers and administration. EMCA will remain a favorite as our military journey continues. An excellent choice for your children and your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We are so happy at this school. It is a wonderful school and environment. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone. My daughter loves going to school each day. That is a wonderful feeling for any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Excellent school for bringing up your children within the Biblical Worldview. 4.8 minus 0.2 due to incomplete athletic venues only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

My son has attended EMCA for the last two years. We are a military family and find it hard to fit in to new schools but this has not been an issue at all. We love the school. Academically the school is topnotch. Class sizes are small in comparison to public schools, tuition is comparable to other private Christian schools. The staff is great and very easy to communicate with. All around I would never consider any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 56%
Black 8% 38%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jerry L. Watkins
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Fax number
  • (334) 358-9226

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents are the foundation of our school. we welcome parents to volunteer as their schedule permits. we host community blood-drives, can food drives, and other seasonal drives that allow us to give back to our community.
More from this school
  • We are a school that is committed to shaping hearts and minds for a lifetime of Christian service. Our Lord has called us to this ministry and we are conscious that every action we take should glorify God and help to build His Kingdom.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Auburn Universtiy at Montgomery/Auburn
Alabama
University of Mobile/University of South Alabama
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Old Ridge Road East
Prattville, AL 36066
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 358-4085

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Prattville High School
Prattville, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT