Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cf Vigor High School

Public | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2011

I am an alumni of C.F. Vigor High School and just a few years ago the school consisted of many different cultures. I am a college graduate and have family members that are Engineers as well as 4 cousins currently in enrolled at Alabama A& M University that are graduates from C.F. Vigor High School...Don't always put your trust in the School, but focus more on the educating that they are receiving and be sure ot reinforce good academics and social skills at home. I beleive in a good foundation which ultimately starts at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Vigor is a great school there are a lot of equal oppurtunities for all of the students they offer faulkner casses and that is a great oppurtunity for high school students they have wonderful teachers who are there to help I wouldn't recommend another school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

i think that vigor high school is great they help their studnets get prepared for college and they have great extra curricular activities a state winning football teams and the band is really growing music wise and also with members (thanks to the new band director) and the choir is magnificant (thanks mr.gardner...we hope u never leave)


Posted September 13, 2008

It could get better and we need to get more classes and more band members.... Some of the classes may be: dance, drama, home economics, and much more..
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

I think this school is the bast school for any child there isnt much fights and they have very good desplin.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2008

I'm currently a student at Vigor High School. Vigor has a reputation for being a bad or unsafe school and I just wanted to it's not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. But then again, as I write this, the school is in lockdown and my class is stuck in the computer lab. It could be better but from what I understand the campus has improved drastically and a cast of new teachers have been brought in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2007

I believe Vigor is actively pursuing all that is necessary for students to succeed! I'm so impressed with the principal and faculty. The new renovation added cutting edge facilities and technological equipment--some of which is unmatched by any other school in the county. I also believe that Mr. Smith and his faculty joining the AMSTI program sets the bar for other schools in the county and state! Students are encouraged to succeed at Vigor and are doing so each year. This school is certainly one to watch!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2007

I'm a Junior at this school, and I believe it could be better. I never learn anything while I'm there. My parents are thinking of transfering me to Leflore or Murphy. The so its hard to concentrate there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2006

I am a former student of Vigor and it hurts to hear what some of the people have said. I believe that without the experiences I gained there I would not be the person I am today. Of course things have changed but they will continue to change. It is up to the parents, the students and the administration to make sure the right changes are happening. I am currently a senior business finance major in college maintaining a 3.69 gpa with a Co-Op with the Corps of Engineers. My sister's both graduated from Vigor, one is a chemist the other a engineer. Now tell me that Vigor does not produce productive and not only well rounded adults, but sharp assets in any community.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 19, 2006

I am a graduate from C. F. Vigor high....I graduated in 02.....I will recommend this school to other students.....It is a place where you can experience new things
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2006

My husband and I are both graduates of C.F.Vigor high school (c/o 1995 and 1996) and we are also both college graduates with good careers. Vigor high school set the foundation that we needed to succeed in life. C.F. Vigor has a well known football tradition and many of the students show great pride in being either a student or alumni of the school. I must say that things have changed alot since 1996 and the campus is in terrible condition.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2005

I am currently a senior at Vigor and I would like to say that Vigor is a GREAT school. It would be better if we had more parents involved with their children. The parents now are not the least bit concerned about their children. and that's not good. My mother and father are always constantly coming to the school to see my teachers to see how I am doing in my school work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2005

Vigor has an excellent tradition, although things have changed recently. It is a shame what the school board has done in cutting our district to benefit Blount high. But Vigor remains a fine school with a proud tradition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

Vigor is the best school and the whole entire world I love this school! Much love To C.F. Vigor ---Morgan---
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2004

I feel that Vigor High School is a great school. The staff there really work with the parents and help them in anyway that they can. Keep up the good work Vigor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2004

As a former student and graduate of this school I cannot recommend it. The parents must take a greater interest in the education of their children for this school to improve. Until that happens Vigor will continue to be less than average. The students and their families will pay a terrible price over their lifetime.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 24, 2003

Iam a student at Vigor and I would NOT recommened this school to any one
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

159 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

203 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

160 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

196 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

99 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

198 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education85%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty84%

Language

All Students65%
Female65%
Male66%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education31%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Poverty67%
Non-poverty53%

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education77%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty89%

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male77%
Black81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education46%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty84%

Social Studies

All Students64%
Female59%
Male72%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education38%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty74%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black98%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible98%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education82%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty98%
Non-poverty97%

Language

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education33%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty82%
Non-poverty83%

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education61%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male88%
Black92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education50%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty90%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible79%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education39%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 34%
White 1% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Kenneth Earl Edwards
Fax number
  • (251) 221-3378

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

913 North Wilson Ave
Prichard, AL 36610
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 221-3045

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


TL Faulkner School
Prichard, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT