Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Public
Rockford, AL
Students enrolled: 349

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central High School 4

Posted January 31, 2009
- a teacher
The people of this county need to know that the majority of the teachers at this school are going above and beyond in their efforts to educate your children. The majority of the students at our school are great kids who work hard and are respectful of their teachers and the rules of the school. Any problems we have at our school stem from students who do not care and parents who do not enforce the importance of education and respect for teachers and rules that provide for a positive educational experience. Our schools are not failing our kids, their parents are.

Central High School 3

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Central High School 0
no rating

Posted July 20, 2008
- a student
Central High needs to hire a few new faculty members. Some are racist and some are clueless at times

Central High School 4

Posted May 21, 2008
- a community member
I just want to say that Central is a good school. They do the best they can with the resources they have. It's just a down home country school, so if you're not local you will most likely not like it.

Central High School 2

Posted March 10, 2006
- a parent
I have a child that has recently enrolled in Central and I am not happy at all about the way the school is being run. The main thing is the uniforms. We have 4 or 5 school in this area that have the same colors, so that really makes it even harder to find what you need. I have seen certain students that can wear things that my child will get sent to the office about. I am all for the uniforms but the Principal and Teachers need to enforce the dress code to ALL students!


Central High School 2

Posted December 08, 2004
- a parent
I read the recent review on CHS I too agree with the writer. There are serious problems with this school, beginning with the principal and down to the teacher. All he is concerned about is his paycheck and retirement. I encourage any concerned parents to pay attention and listen to your children. Ask about the school and it's teachers. There are some good teachers at CHS but they are very few. The students are continually being deprived of a fair education. This school system is failing our children. Priorities are placed on sports and not education. Like the writer said before, this is not a school for any child seeking to advanced in his/her academics.

Central High School 1

Posted November 12, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Central High School 2

Posted November 12, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Central High School 1

Posted November 12, 2004
- a former student
'The educational opportunities at Central Elementary/Middle/High School of Coosa County are minimal at best. Most children are instructed below-grade level and teachers are not provided with necessary teaching tools. Discipline and structure are lax. Although there are some good teachers here, the over-all quality of instruction is poor. Children who leave to attend public education find themselves well below level and many are retained or put in remedial courses. Teacher morale is low because of really low pay and lack of any positive feedback from the administration. Priorities are not uniform and too much time is spent off task in some classrooms. For the at-risk child that needs nuturing, there are caretakers on this campus but the real need of smaller classrooms is not provided. Teachers cannot meet the real needs of the children because of this. This is not a school for any child seeking to advance his academics.'

Central High School 5

Posted February 13, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central High School
Hwy 231 North, Rockford, AL  35136
(256) 377-4384
Last modified Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top