Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Smiths Station Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

I was a bit nervous about switching schools for my kiddo ;however, after discovering all the progress he has made and the look of enjoyment on my sons face, my anxious mind was put to ease. My son loves to read and SSES encourages reading and ways to increase reading skills. It's a very rewarding feeling as a parent when your child comes home loving to read and we can enjoy reading together more now as well. I'm very glad for the switch and we are looking forward to the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

I have two sons who both went through this school. At first I didn't know much about the school and how things are run there. Academics are the main focus at the school and it shows. My children were given lots of opportunities to shine and do their best. The school is very safe and you can be sure your children are taken care of. Every time I needed something, it was taken care of with a smile and done professionaly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2011

You do have other options, if you are as unhappy with this school as I was. Initially, transferred our child to a private school. Then, via other parents, we learned that we could use Lakewood Elementary. Wow~what a fantastic change!I have never heard one parent complain about Lakewood. The principal, Mrs. Nicey Eller~the best! The teachers~most, if not all, have Masters Degrees. They are a Science Magnet school. Did I mention at least 7 students followed us to this school~leaving SS for the same reason. I went to the local school board office (I believe it was called that), its off 13th st, PC. Ask for a transfer app. Fill the form out and in the reason section, just put "hardship". They dont want the long story. Leave the form with them. In a week or less you should recieve the approval in the mail. Spaces are limited, and they go fast....so I would put in for it asap. You will not regret. Lakewood is a rather new school, and has grown so rapidly they are building another school adjacent to this one~just for 2 grades :))
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

Bad, Bad, Bad!!!!! There is no music, art, or even recess at this school. All the principal cares about is how the school looks on paper. You aren't allowed to go to your child's classroom and the front office staff is rude! Even though my child has all A's and great conduct, my child was made to sit outside against a wall and watch as other children had fun, got popsicles and juice and was not allowed to talk because my child did not take enough "AR tests". The other day my child was flat out refused breakfast because they don't tell you that you owe money on the lunch account until it is past due. I was not contacted when this happened so my child had to go hungry. I tried to do research before choosing a school and I wish someone had posted a review like this on here before I bought a house and moved to this area. Unfortunately this is the school my child is zoned to go to next year when it will be a K-5 through 6th grade so we will be paying for a private school from here on out. If you care about your child's education move to Georgia or pay for private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

My sons enjoyed the school and were challenged in their classes. My sons both had different teachers in 2nd and 3rd grade and loved them all. I highly recommend the school and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

I have been very inpressed with SSES. My son looked forward to going to school each day. Mrs. Birge made learning for him fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

Students are somewhat mean to others and teachers rarly notice when the students are being picked on. Students there made it a living night mare for my daughter. Other wise, it was a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

We are a military family and my child attended SSES for 2 years and we were very sad to leave it. This is the best school my child has attended. The stamp issue...Your child receives stamps for completing homework, behaving in class, doing what they are told to do, being prepared for class, and being honest. To loose a stamp, you have to break one of those rules and before a stamp is taken away for not listening in class or misbehaving, your child is given a verbal warning! Your child should be doing all of this anyway, but then again it is all in how you raise your child. Teachers are wonderful...Mrs. Glisson and Mrs. Robinson!! Principal is wonderful and the front office staff is wonderful. You do have to show picture ID to check out child, but that is for the safety of your child!!! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

My child started S.S.E.S. in January of 2007. At first I was very impressed with the school. Then it seemed that they were more concerned with how many stickers my child lost then how his grades were. There were many times that my husband and I would send letters to the school and not get any response from the teacher. If I take the time out of my busy schedule to write the teacher a letter the least that she or he can do is respond. Before we moved to Smiths Station my husband and I heard a lot of good things about the school. We are hoping that when the new school year starts (2007-2008) that things will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

I don't have to much of a problem except when you are a working family and your child comes home with a lot of homework on top of a project.This school has more projects than any school i've known,and for working parents trying to help them with their homework,help the other kids,cook dinner,get showers,etc. All before bed is not possible.My answer is: slow the projects down to a couple a month?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

While I like the school and the education my child is getting there, I also have points that I dislike. I also feel that there should be more emphasis on grades and working rather than on getting 'stamps'. I understand children need discipline but when a child has to put all of their energy into making sure they don't lose their stamp over every little thing, they don't have much left to put towards concentrating on their work. I also would like it if there were more activities the children could get into...as of now, there are none that I know of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

My son currently attends sses. My main concern with sses and my experience with smith station so far is that more attention is given to stamps that childern earn or do not earn for behavior. My childs focuses alot and it appears that it causes him stress and the teachers also focus alot on stamps. But i have yet to see the daily focus and rewards for grades and academic performance. Also smith station fails to incorporate african american studies in there curriculm as if they have no african american students. Furthermore, the teachers need to realize that if a child is very active in their class then that child is probably bored and if they have not explored that option, they should. Compare grades and behavior. If grades are good and behavior is not the work may not be challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

I have never had a problem with SSES until I had to deal with the coaches. One of them has to be the rudest & least compassionate person I have ever encountered. Most of the coaches have very condescending attitudes. I am shocked at how they are allowed to conduct themselves around parents who 'question' them. I have heard a coach refer to a class of children as 'heathens.' Even though I doubt they know the true meaning of the word I do not appreciate them referring to my child as such. If I had an option my son would not spend his 3rd grade year at SSES simply because of the coaching staff. The teachers my kids have had have been great They make up for some of the lacking areas. Honest Feedback welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

I now have another grandchild that is attending your school. My granddaughter brianna ellison loves smiths station primary. She has the greatest teacher,Mrs.Coapus. she loves all her students and she spends all the time in the world with them. Brianna loves her principle too. She is always excitied every morning to get ready for school. I had another grandchild that attended your school, Antonio Ellison . He misses all of you so much. He has now moved on to the elementery school. I rate your school 100% on everything.Thank all of you for being there for my grandchildren.I feel so safe with you all. Robin melendez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

My daughter has been in the Lee County School District for 3 years and we love it. I have never had a problem with anything and she has learned so much. There is a low student teacher ratio and has been since she started here in kindergarten. Every principal we have had knows the children by their names and really takes care of thier schools. The students still have PE everyday, which I think is wonderful and a necessity. The two things that I wish that would be added are art and music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I have two boys who have attended Smiths Station Elementary. My children and I love this School. The teachers are nice and all the parents always step up to the plate and pitch in when needed, Their is always something going on from field trips, special activities and programs. It's a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

164 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

165 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female96%
Male92%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education50%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education75%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female72%
Male83%
Black53%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligible58%
Special education15%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education46%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black96%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education46%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty91%

Reading

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education54%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students75%
Female70%
Male81%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty70%
Non-poverty81%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 58%
Black 17% 34%
Hispanic 6% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

171 Lee Rd 728
Smiths Station, AL 36877
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 448-4422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Glenwood School
Smiths Station, AL


Lakewood Baptist Church
Phenix City, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT